AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: RMA Story
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/11/2006 01:38 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/11/2006 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown
[TONY - 2006/08/11] Hi, yes, you can obtain a copy of our RMA terms and conditons at ftp://www.xfxsupport.com/public/other/EU_RMA_TC.pdf. Please can you print it out, complete the form and send it with the card to our address on the form. Please put the returns reference, 5**** clearly on the outside of the package. Thanks. Tony



So, here is the story: I have to send out my card with the printed out form. So, am I on my way to getting a new card?

1 - One night the card was working and the next morning I had artifactual lines down the screen even before OS started to load up. On occassions I could get into Windows but then things would start to mess up!

2 - He said test it on another computer but I have not quite got round to doing that. Surely the same thing is going to happen. I mean, the monitor works with my old 5600, so it has to be the 6800!?

3 - What do you think by this then; RMA valid?
 08/11/2006 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

i'm pretty sure they will RMA you the card. as you know, RMA procedures state that the card will be repaired/replaced depending on what technicians say. most of the time, it's more expensive to repair the thing than to replace it tho.
you had that thing with the HSF being removed right? i wouldn't worry too much. in plain language, it's more expensive to lose a customer than to just give in into their demands. i bet that you're RMA will go through.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 08/11/2006 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrHyde03
Code Monkey

Posts: 2276
Joined: 07/05/2005

no worries. artifacts are prety annoying, and i bet they agree. im sure youll get your replacement, though it may take a while

-------------------------
Desktop - Windows 7 x86 RTM
Laptop - Windows 7 x64 RTM
The good ol days
CSF www.compsupportforums.com
 08/11/2006 02:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Yeah, thanks guys. I could not care if it takes a long time tbh. So long as I know I am getting it!

edit: going to have a quick go of putting it in this system again.. ill update when i come back!
 08/11/2006 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Yup, still the same thing:

Put it in AGP slot, boot up computer and then ARTIFACTUAL lines down the screen! straight away

now, the only thing i am scared of is if it works in another computer BUT:

i am sure it IS the card because

1 - MOBO's AGP slot works fine because it works with my 5600
2 - it did used to work!
 08/22/2006 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

Okay its all good. They tested it and check this:

Diagnosis: "PASSED - visual check. FAILED - post(scrambled display from boot-up). load windows and drivers(no display on loading windows)."

Actions: "REPLACE"

So, I should have another AGP 6800gt on its way which is totally awesome.

I am going to have this computer maxed out to the limit when I get it back which implies a fresh reinstallation and lots of OCing.

754 FTW for a long time for me yet!
 08/22/2006 01:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

have they confirmed they are going to send you an AGP based 6800GT? those are no longer in production, so if they can't replace it with the same card, you might get lucky and get the next best thing that is under production.... a 7800GS!
you never know, right?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 08/22/2006 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

No that, AXY, would be text book stuff!
 08/22/2006 02:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Good luck, Ryan.
 08/22/2006 05:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

hehe, first time my real name has been used on the forums!

thankyou a lot ninja. fun having you around.

anyway, you on myspace.. i might sort you a comment
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information