AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Services
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/07/2006 06:01 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/07/2006 06:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TridenT_Boy3555
Senior Member

Posts: 2557
Joined: 12/26/2005

Okay in Windows 2000 SP4 there is no msconfig command in the run box... So sadly I can't kill off those services I just depise starting up when I turn on my computer.

I was wondering if any of these processes were somewhat "dangerous" and if they should be shut down. But I also don't know how to shut down some of these processes too. So I was wondering if you could help me figure out how to do that and tell me which are Absolutely needed.(As I need to kill all other processes which aren't) I was running firefox at the time in the AMD posting page.





Edit: After investigation of the msconfig.exe problem..I found out that you can download it for windows 2000 /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' /> So now I will disable all services except the ones I need for my laptop.

-------------------------

My signature is environmentally friendly. Is yours?
 01/07/2006 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

The prgram Winpatrol will let you do that too.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 01/07/2006 06:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TridenT_Boy3555
Senior Member

Posts: 2557
Joined: 12/26/2005

Hey did you guys notice any Bad services? I noticed there was a windows.exe, I think that is a worm!

-------------------------

My signature is environmentally friendly. Is yours?
 01/07/2006 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Rbot-RB Worm, I think. Google it.

 01/07/2006 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

"Spy-Bot Search & Destroy" will also let you see what processes are running on your sytem. You need activate from meny: Mode->Advanced: (Left field wil have more option to control from advanced): Tools>Process list.

You will also find "System start up" where you can disable start up program.

Make sure that you don't disable any necessary services (for Windows) or program as these can cause problems.

http://www.spybot.info/' ">http://www.spybot.info/


-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 01/07/2006 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

QUOTE(TridenT_Boy3555)Hey did you guys notice any Bad services? I noticed there was a windows.exe, I think that is a worm!http://www.liutilities.com/pro...ntas...ibrary/windows/' ">http://www.liutilities.com/pro...rocesslibrary/windows/

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 01/07/2006 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bp1019
Senior Member

Posts: 2434
Joined: 08/24/2005

Better get rid of that svhost and explorer.exe, they are bad. Okay, don't really disable those, I was just kidding.

-------------------------

-Proud owner of a DFI because chicks dig "Big" OCs
Repsgaminglounge
 01/08/2006 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jes
Senior Member

Posts: 1134
Joined: 10/22/2003

QUOTE(bp1019 @ Jan 7 2006, 04:52 PM)Better get rid of that svhost and explorer.exe, they are bad.  Okay, don't really disable those, I was just kidding.
[right][snapback]587517[/snapback][/right]


Well the service that immediately jumped out at me was Abel.exe, unless you know what that program is, based on this' ">http://www.sophos.com/virusinf...alyses/trojcain25.html description I'd put that machine into quarantine right now

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
http://www.shellprompt.net
Unix & Oracle Web Hosting Provider powered by AMD Opterons
 01/08/2006 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TridenT_Boy3555
Senior Member

Posts: 2557
Joined: 12/26/2005

Huh...I installed Cain and Abel, but I didn't want Abel.exe to run on myself /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> So I must be stealing my own passwords huh? /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /> Shucks....

Anyways, I destroyed the service.

-------------------------

My signature is environmentally friendly. Is yours?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information