AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Temps on asrockDS2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/22/2006 02:05 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/22/2006 02:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

Speedfan... Everest... mobo monitor... all of them say my cpu temp is 31-35 idle (depends on room temp) and 42-47 on full load....

Reboot..
Enter bios..
Tab over to hardware monitor...
My system.. Idling... with a temp in windows at 31.... reboot.. bios says 40c and does not drop.
Full load at 47c... says temp is 55c....


Asrock's technical support is useless....

any idea's?

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

Since your having so much trouble with the board. I'd say it IS the board that is giving you the false readings. Yes Speedfan Everest MBM are tied to the hardware but they are 'more accurate' then what your BIOS seems to be reading.

Time for a new board.

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
 05/22/2006 02:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

The ASRock BIOS is flawed even in temp readings

Honestly, Ive always used hard temp probes on a fan controller, thats what Ive always besed my temps off of, I never checked the DS2s temps in the past, man now I wish I had, i would have put that on my gripe list as well

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/22/2006 02:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
The ASRock BIOS is flawed even in temp readings

Honestly, Ive always used hard temp probes on a fan controller, thats what Ive always besed my temps off of, I never checked the DS2s temps in the past, man now I wish I had, i would have put that on my gripe list as well



I don't have anything to test the temps with.... :/

.... argh

Anyway, I guess I'll just oc my processor till it's dying day after I get the new heatsink in 16 hours...
Stupid mobo of doom...

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

What BIOS is this on again? I'd try an OCW Beta BIOS....Asrock official BIOS's SUCK.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 05/22/2006 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown ' date='May 21 2006, 10:53 PM' post='1363948979']
Stupid mobo of doom...





at least im definetly not alone on these forums about the feelings toward that board

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/22/2006 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: technic58
What BIOS is this on again? I'd try an OCW Beta BIOS....Asrock official BIOS's SUCK.



Tried all of the ocwbeta bios's now.... and i've tried every bios since 1.5 - 1.9....
they all give the same horrid temp readings.... even though my sofware gives something totaly different...
what weirds me out is that the sofware, should be reading the temps from the same sensors.. which should give me the same freaking values, but nooo, not this board...


quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster


at least im definetly not alone on these forums about the feelings toward that board



No.. you're not alone.... and I seriously dispise the tech support at ASrock... "not our board's problem your computer can't read tempatures right".. me: wait.. what?

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Sounds about right, me:"So why cant my CU go over 274 on your boards HTT clock?"
them: "becuase you dont have a golden CPU"

Sorry, I still crack up at their Golden CPU talk, i still think its so damned funny

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/22/2006 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
Sounds about right, me:"So why cant my CU go over 274 on your boards HTT clock?"
them: "becuase you dont have a golden CPU"

Sorry, I still crack up at their Golden CPU talk, i still think its so damned funny



They told me that I couldn't install sata drivers because a sata drive wasn't hooked up to the port.
So I called a friend, had him bring his sata drive he uses for video storage (he makes AMV's as a hobby) and we hooked it up, still didn't work. Called asrock's support, told them it was hooked up and still wouldn't go. They calimed the drive was dead. We hooked the drive back into my friends system, works fine. Got another friend to come over with ANOTHER sata drive.. that works.. hooked it up, still no go...
Asrock Tech support said that the brand isn't compatable... I told them one's a maxtor.. one's a WD.
they said "well then the model's must not be compatable". ... I then pointed out that the second friend is running the same mobo and mobo revision as I am. they said my mobo must be different and newer and thus doesn't accept that model drive. I told them a few choice words and decided to report them to the BBB.. even though that really doesn't do anything.

Worst... Company... Ever....

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

ASRocks solution to everything: "It couldnt possibly be OUR fault!"

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/22/2006 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
ASRocks solution to everything: "It couldnt possibly be OUR fault!"



Quoted for truth.

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information