AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sata driver issues...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2006 05:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2006 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

Starting to slowly hate this board....

I try to install the Sata I drivers and the Asrock provided (on cd and On website) drivers both say
"cannot find ULi M5289 chipset"

....
Now... that seems a bit odd to me...
can anyone with this board that has working sata pm me with a way to get drivers from them?
since asrock's technical support claims those drivers are 100% correct and they even stated that "you are not getting that error, it's not possible"

heh...

......

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/21/2006 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

I find it odd that some people (like yourself) need to install these drivers. Some people even need to install IDE and USB2 drivers. I've never had to install any of these drivers, at any time on my PC or my friends, or any of the 3 other PCs in my house. I don't know how you'd install SATA drivers if you are using an SATA drive, since you couldn't find the HDD to install the drivers for.

This is a wee bit of topic, but anyway.

To start on topic:
Are you sure you have the newest drivers for your chipset?

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
 05/21/2006 06:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Rico
I find it odd that some people (like yourself) need to install these drivers. Some people even need to install IDE and USB2 drivers. I've never had to install any of these drivers, at any time on my PC or my friends, or any of the 3 other PCs in my house. I don't know how you'd install SATA drivers if you are using an SATA drive, since you couldn't find the HDD to install the drivers for.

This is a wee bit of topic, but anyway.

To start on topic:
Are you sure you have the newest drivers for your chipset?




Not using a sata drive...
I've never needed to install an IDE driver.. just a USB driver.. for some reason XP didn't detect my mobo has USB... *shrug*
As far as I know.. wether or not I have a sata drive plugged in, the driver should be able to detect the sata chipset.... it bugs me to [content edited] that it says I simply don't even have the chipset...
that and tech support from asrock is really... dodgy.... they don't like questions...

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/21/2006 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Dont go there about ASRocks drivers, they wont update without a total format, they start claiming you have Windows64 instead, even though thier 32bit drivers on a 32bit OS, thier screwed up as well, RMA the thing, buy a new board, and EBay the old one, or keep it as a backup, tis what I did

Its the ONLY way to end the ASrock headaches, the only way

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/21/2006 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
Dont go there about ASRocks drivers, they wont update without a total format, they start claiming you have Windows64 instead, even though thier 32bit drivers on a 32bit OS, thier screwed up as well, RMA the thing, buy a new board, and EBay the old one, or keep it as a backup, tis what I did

Its the ONLY way to end the ASrock headaches, the only way




I hate you because you're right

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/21/2006 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Im expierienced =)

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/21/2006 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rico
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3439
Joined: 04/19/2004

And this is why we buy DFI, GigaByte, or ASUS boards. Mostly trouble free.

-------------------------
AMD X2 4200+ *** DFI NF4 Ultra-D (modded to SLi-D) *** eVGA 7950GT (with Zalman FC-ZV9)
January 16th was the day life changed... the day I bought WoW
 05/21/2006 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Rico
And this is why we buy DFI, GigaByte, or ASUS boards. Mostly trouble free.



Every ASUS board I have ever touched has NEVER worked...ever...
I was weary about getting this Asrock board as it's a subsidary of Asus but I figured why not, it's only 60 bucks.

Bleh...
I guess I'll be joining the DFI club next... Maybe get an SLI board... wonder if SLI would work with ATI cards?

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/21/2006 10:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

EPox, much better then gigabyte or asus imho, and on par with DFI for a lot less $$$

and no, ATi Cards wont work in SLi, you'd need a crossfire board to my understanding

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/21/2006 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

*shakes fist at SLI*

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown ' date='May 21 2006, 05:48 PM' post='1363948872']
Every ASUS board I have ever touched has NEVER worked...ever...
I was weary about getting this Asrock board as it's a subsidary of Asus but I figured why not, it's only 60 bucks.



I sympathise, though the board maker I can't stand is Gigabyte, every Gigabyte board I've ever had has died within 2 weeks of purchase.


-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 05/22/2006 01:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dalex
Member

Posts: 42
Joined: 02/02/2005

xp has no native drivers for sata II so when you install xp and it says if you want to install any drivers necessary for the xp install press F6 and then when prompted insert the floppy disc with the correct drivers on from the asrock site and then continue installation
bingo
jobs a good un
bobs your uncle
worked for me
dave

-------------------------

THEATRE OF DREAMS
 05/22/2006 02:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Thats only required for the SATA2 installation, SATA1 should install without that, at least it does on my nForce4 board

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/22/2006 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
myocardia
Senior Member

Posts: 824
Joined: 04/06/2006

Since you aren't using an SATA drive, you just need to turn off SATA in the BIOS. Then, Windows will stop asking you for the driver/s. If there doesn't have the ability to SATA off, just disable it in Device Manager (inside Windows).

-------------------------
Main box:
Opteron 170 @ 2.8 Ghz
DFI Ultra-D w/2x1GB PQI Turbo @233 Mhz & 3-3-3-7
Asus X1900XT-256MB--Creative Audigy2 ZS--Seagate 320GB 7200.10
NEC 3550a---PC P&C 610 watt psu
in an Antec SLK3700AMB case
 05/22/2006 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: myocardia
Since you aren't using an SATA drive, you just need to turn off SATA in the BIOS. Then, Windows will stop asking you for the driver/s. If there doesn't have the ability to SATA off, just disable it in Device Manager (inside Windows).



Windows doesn't ask for drivers. I was doing a pre-emptive install of drivers.. anticipating the situation where I get a sataI or sataII drive in the near future.

and sata is enabled in bios....

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 02:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Which version of the Uli integrated drivers are you using? Integrated is just the name I believe that Uli uses, I think the newest is 2.20. You may wish to try updating those first then maybe try the sata drivers.
 05/22/2006 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: bvchurch
Which version of the Uli integrated drivers are you using? Integrated is just the name I believe that Uli uses, I think the newest is 2.20. You may wish to try updating those first then maybe try the sata drivers.



Went to ULI's site, tried to download drivers..... File not found 404!

Been trying to do this for a week or so now.... yay


Nvidia you horrible people.... shutting down ULI's site and hosting their drivers on your own site just because you bought them out! I'll get you... and your little dog too.... /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" /> /ph34r.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="h34r:" border="0" alt="ph34r.gif" />

-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

I'm running a rev 1.05 board and factory BIOS P1.80, and Systool, MBprobe, SpeedFan, etc., all read within 1C of BIOS. They all get their data from the same place, right? I thought the temp, voltage, and fan speed info was only available from the Winbond chip. I sometimes see very slight differences between the different monitor apps, but I assumed those were rounding choices.

I don't recall having to install a SATA driver, and I haven't updated drivers, so I don't have a clue about the driver install issue. I do think installing drivers for components you don't even own is just asking for trouble.

You know, I have the same board and love it, but if I'd had the same problems with mine that you and the everlasting crustacean dude have had, I think I'd see how far it would fly Frisbee style, and start over with something else...anything else. This can't be good for your blood pressure.

I do hope you get it worked out, one way or the other.


-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO
 05/22/2006 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
[255]
Senior Member

Posts: 804
Joined: 03/31/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: fizzbang
You know, I have the same board and love it, but if I'd had the same problems with mine that you and the everlasting crustacean dude have had, I think I'd see how far it would fly Frisbee style, and start over with something else...anything else. This can't be good for your blood pressure.

I do hope you get it worked out, one way or the other.



Sata controller is dead. proved it to tech support but they won't give me an RMA number... Oh well.. Don't want one.. I'll just a DFI and take this board out eventualy and use it for target practice...



-------------------------
Opty 170 @ 2.5ghz
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gig gskill @ DDR456 - 2.5-3-3-6
Saphire ATI Radeon x850xt @ 560/580 -SOLD-... Had to make ends meet.
 05/22/2006 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: fizzbang
everlasting crustacean dude





yeah, I think it would make a great frisbee lol

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information