AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/19/2006 07:18 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/19/2006 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

iv been noticing lately that on all of my xp computers, there is a program that runs called svchost.exe all the time. im sure this is a windows file. but the problem is that on every bootup, it takes up almost all of the cpu usage of the computers. i dont notice this on my opteron because i guess it processes it with the other core so i dont notice but on all my single core systems, i have to wait for a few minutes after bootup before i can do anything. anyone else with this issue? and is there a way to fix it? clean install is not the fix. iv tried it before and its not just on one computer. its a few.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 09/19/2006 07:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Andy-M
Senior Member

Posts: 1110
Joined: 07/04/2005

i have the same issue.
I suspect it is things like windows, A/V saoftware and other programmes that are set to check for updates every time the computer connects to the internet, which would b every time I turn it on.
my PC is still usable when it happens, although a little slow.

-------------------------


HAPPY PHENOM USER ! ! !!!
 09/19/2006 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
billbartuska
Deprecated

Posts: 421
Joined: 08/16/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: dot_pixel651
...a program that runs called svchost.exe

..i have to wait for a few minutes after bootup before i can do anything.

...is there a way to fix it?


Description:
svchost.exe is a system process belonging to the Microsoft Windows Operating System which handles processes executed from DLLs. This program is important for the stable and secure running of your computer and should not be terminated.

That's all the stuff you have running in the background loading up.

Run less stuff. Start/Run/msconfig Startup tab...uncheck what you dont need to be loaded at startup, remembering that you can always start them up manually when you need them.


-------------------------
A8N32 SLI-D, FX57, DDR600
6800 Ultras(SLI), Raptors (RAID0)
 09/19/2006 09:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

Here's the entire MS article...
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=314056



-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO
 09/19/2006 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

I didnt have this problem on my desktop (when I had xp) but I have it on my laptop where it will take up a good 40mb of ram and 99 percent cpu usage and it basically freezes my computer...more or less I end that task, there are still about 5 more svchosts on the list but the one that say freezes my computer I end that.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 09/19/2006 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

this has been recent though. i understand what it does but this is getting to be a real issue. i have plenty enough ram in the systems. 512 to a gig of ram. that should be plenty enough. i highly think its windows update that is in the way because when i disable auto update after i do a clean install, it seems to run ok. i think it ties with windows update\automatic updates. is there anyother way to confirm thats the problem?

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 09/19/2006 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sgie87
Case Modder

Posts: 1141
Joined: 08/01/2004

Black vipers service guide was a good way to cut down on the unneed processes,hes site is gone now i think,but heres a copy of his guide.

id recommend everyone new to service tweaking to tune their system using the "safe" section,

http://www.dead-eye.net/WinXP%20Services.htm

i cut my processes down from 32 to 23 using it,they were just sitting there using up resources.

-------------------------
*IRC chatroom #freedom on irc.globalgamers.net server is a great place to hang out online.PM me for more info.*
 09/19/2006 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

It sounds to me like you already did... If you change something and the problem goes away, that's usually a pretty good indication that you've just squashed the source of the problem.

But, if you want to know exactly what's going on, you could bring up a command line and enter "tasklist /svc". That'll show you a list of running processes, and give a breakdown of any services that a given service host is using.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 09/20/2006 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

@mine: i did that command in cmd and i got the list. from here, what do i need to look for to see whats causing the long delays?

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 09/20/2006 12:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

great guide here by overmind
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=21351

ninjastyle used to be the man when it came to shutting down process's and sliming down windows XP, although i havent seen him around in a Long time.

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 09/20/2006 12:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

but if its really windows update\automatic udate that is causing it, i dont think i can do anything about it then. because it happens when i do a clean install on my computers and once it connects to the internet (install network card drivers) this happens. its not just on one computer, its on 2 or 3. different nics on both so i dont think its the nic drivers either. if its windows update, then my only solution is to disable it right? no software is loaded on them when i clean install. just windows and network card drivers. and its just recently happening. id say in the past month or so.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 09/20/2006 12:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: dot_pixel651
@mine: i did that command in cmd and i got the list. from here, what do i need to look for to see whats causing the long delays?

dot.



Use task manager to find the process ID(view->select columns, if it's not already displaying them) of the service host that's hogging all the resources. Once you've got that, use the tasklist output to figure out what services are using that service host. One or more of those services is/are the one(s) responsible for the resource drain.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 09/20/2006 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

thanks for the input guys. ill try to work with these computers and see what i can do. i will post back if i still have some problems and questions. thanks again.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 09/20/2006 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fizzbang
Senior Member

Posts: 1256
Joined: 03/05/2006

dot - Check out Process Explorer from SysInternals. It's a sort of supercharged task manager...gives a lot more info.

Process Explorer

-------------------------
939Dual-SATA2 v1.05, BIOS v2.31
Opteron 165 (CCBWE 0550UPMW) @2.7GHz, 1.35V
TWINX2048-3200C2PT 2.5-3-3-6 1T
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
ATI X1800GTO
 09/20/2006 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

thanks fizzband. ill download it and see how it works. hope it can help.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information