AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: firefox crashing?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/27/2006 05:17 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/27/2006 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

version 2.0 keeps crashing on me, is it happening to u guys too?

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 10/27/2006 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Nope (in Vista)

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/27/2006 05:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

Yes, constantly, its really starting to annoy the heck outa me as well..

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 10/27/2006 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

nope mines fine

i think you should uninstall it clear all registry of it then reinstall.
 10/27/2006 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

zero problems here too...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 10/27/2006 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

i love firefox 2.0
 10/27/2006 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shazaam
Senior Member

Posts: 4201
Joined: 12/24/2005

np here FF2.0 is perty cool, couldn't use the theme I did in 1.5 though
 10/27/2006 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ahho
Senior Member

Posts: 220
Joined: 10/16/2005

firefox crashed once, but that is due to some flash program
 10/27/2006 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stix
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4617
Joined: 03/01/2004

Perfect for me in ubuntu and win xp FF2.0
 10/27/2006 06:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1337rice
Senior Member

Posts: 661
Joined: 08/26/2006

i think i have problems with my firefox...i might reinstall it just to make sure...for some reason, i can't post on chatboxes...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon X2 3800+ s.939 @2.0ghz **non-overclockable...no clue why...**
Foxconn Winfast NF4K8AC mobo
450W Okia PSU
512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel Buffalo + 512mb X 2 DDR 400 Dual Channel OCZ Premier
256mb/512mb BFG Geforce 7300GS
40GB IDE Western Digital + 250GB SATA W.D + 100GB SATA MAXTOR
Stock CPU Fan + *new*120mm SilverStone case fan on side + *n
 10/27/2006 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

I'm still on RC3 IIRC lol, i don't even know, it just works thats it

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/30/2006 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
EdG
Senior Member

Posts: 1592
Joined: 10/07/2003

The well known memory leak issue, which causes the Firefox browser to consume ever increasing amounts of RAM, eventually leading to sluggish performance and crashes, has been carried over into yet another generation. This is despite an enormous amount of public commentary and user requests for resolution prior to release of a new version of Firefox

9 Reasons Not to Upgrade to Firefox 2.0

Found the above link from...Is Firefox 2.0 a dud?
 10/30/2006 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

I'm this close || to going back to IE7

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/30/2006 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

Get Firefox 3.0 alpha. Probably the most stable Firefox i've used yet.

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozi.../fir...ly/latest-trunk
 10/30/2006 04:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Nah, Ive never been one for dealing with alpha releases, Beta or RC for me. Ill just go back to IE until Mozilla fixes a lot of stuff...did they even try on this release?

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/30/2006 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

wtf, 3.0 alpha already? i think mozilla is slacking off now, i think ill try to find the FFver1.5 and use that for now cause 2.0 isnt really doing good for me right now, btw how is IE7? is it prone to spy and virus crap? i might switch to that

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 10/30/2006 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: EdG
The well known memory leak issue, which causes the Firefox browser to consume ever increasing amounts of RAM, eventually leading to sluggish performance and crashes, has been carried over into yet another generation. This is despite an enormous amount of public commentary and user requests for resolution prior to release of a new version of Firefox

9 Reasons Not to Upgrade to Firefox 2.0

Found the above link from...Is Firefox 2.0 a dud?



last week, I was downloading a linux distro (Suse) and left FF 2.0 loaded over a period of 24 hours (though most of that time wasn't doing anything with it. it only used up 64MB RAM

It's given me zero problems at all.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
 10/30/2006 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

ya ive had it with this, i just BSODed cause of FF i think and just now it crashed again

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 10/30/2006 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Mozilla is going to have to fix FF2.0 asap, or release 3.0 soon, or otherwise I see them losing a lot of marketshare.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/30/2006 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
srg86
Senior Member

Posts: 3455
Joined: 05/06/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
Mozilla is going to have to fix FF2.0 asap, or release 3.0 soon, or otherwise I see them losing a lot of marketshare.



I'm kindof amazed that people are having troubles, on multiple machines it just works for me.


-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester) 2.2GHz, DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D, 1GB Corsair XMS DDR400 Dual Channel, 80GB WD Caviar SE SATA, 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax 9 SATA, NEC 4550A, Radeon X800GTO 128MB DDR, M-Audio Audiophile 2496, Tagan TG480-U01.

Commodore Amiga 1200, MC68060 50MHz CPU (FPU Built in), 2MB Chip RAM, 16MB Fast RAM, AGA Graphics Chipset, 20GB IBM Travelstar 40GN, Kickstart 3.1 ROM, Workbench 3.1
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information