AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Zone Alarm
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/25/2006 04:45 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/25/2006 04:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dobson
Overclocker

Posts: 510
Joined: 01/22/2005

I updated 1 of my w2k rigs today to version 6.5.722.000 and now Zone Alarm won't install and I can't delete it. Can't even install an older version. Any ideas as to what's wrong here?

-------------------------
131,008...333,165...1,101,272...1,423,897
 06/25/2006 04:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

Remove it from Add/remove in control panel. Then run a free utility like CCleaner to remove the old stuff left behind. Reboot and run zone alarm setup. Should fix it.

http://www.ccleaner.com/

Just unceck the IE stuff if you have say passwords and stuff for sites saved. Cause if not it will clean your IE cache and cookies out. It has a backup you run at first-do that and youll be safe.
 06/25/2006 04:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

im having some slight problems with zone alarm as well. lately with their latest releases, it seems like its been getting crappy. i mean the software is great IMO but startup and shutdown times have increased due to it and i dont know why but i think its because of the latest versions. anyone else have zone alarm and realized that your system boot times have increased?

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 06/25/2006 07:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dobson
Overclocker

Posts: 510
Joined: 01/22/2005

I have deleted it in the add/remove software program, ran c-cleaner, rebooted, went through the search files program looking for zone alarm, zone labs, safe, minilog, true vector and another reboot. I ran regcleaner, went through windows explorer and deleted as many files about zone alarm as I could find. Reboot. All in all I did the search thing 8 times. Each time I could delete more files that I couldn't before. Long story short=4 1/2 hours later do I dare install an older version of zone alarm?

-------------------------
131,008...333,165...1,101,272...1,423,897
 06/25/2006 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

heh I dont know at this point. Might want to look at some of the other free firewalls for now.
 06/25/2006 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dobson
Overclocker

Posts: 510
Joined: 01/22/2005

I decided that I would reinstall version 5.5.062.011. All is working well now.

-------------------------
131,008...333,165...1,101,272...1,423,897
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information