AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Time for a new hard drive?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/30/2006 07:32 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/30/2006 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

Ok, so my Mom finally let me format the family's main pc (after about 3 years now) because as of late it has been going exceptionally slow (timed 5minutes boot up time and after logging in an additional 10 minutes and still unable to open an application [Firefox] before i stopped timing). I backed up approx 15gb of data which took 8 hours to transfer onto a seperate 40gb hard drive. After this I deleted all partitions on the 120gb hard drive and formatting the hard drive in NTFS format. Err... how long is this supposed to take? Its been going for 20 hours and is only at 94% !

Is it time for a new hard drive? (I hope not cause I don't know where I'll be able to find the money for a new one)

Suggestions?

Thanks in advanced,
Zozio.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Umm this may be a silly question, but is the cache enabled on the drive?

Well a 5GB PATA66 drive only took 30minutes to format,

As cheap as Harddrives are I'd say just get a new one

But first i'd verify that its the HDD that is slow, not the cable, or the mobo.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/30/2006 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Elite_Athlon
Umm this may be a silly question, but is the cache enabled on the drive?

Well a 5GB PATA66 drive only took 30minutes to format,

As cheap as Harddrives are I'd say just get a new one

But first i'd verify that its the HDD that is slow, not the cable, or the mobo.


Umm, I think that it is. I don't see why hp would disable it in their bios - that would just be illogical.

It takes my friend with a 80gb hdd an hour to do this.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Well i did a quick format, as i always do

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/30/2006 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Elite_Athlon
Well i did a quick format, as i always do


This is the full one, the same that my friend did.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 08:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

Full format shouldnt take nearly that long. What ar ethe other specs on the machine? My samsung 160gig sata (wopping $50 drive lol) with a full wipe takes like 2 hours. Quick format like 30 seconds.
 10/30/2006 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Xtreeme
Full format shouldnt take nearly that long. What ar ethe other specs on the machine? My samsung 160gig sata (wopping $50 drive lol) with a full wipe takes like 2 hours. Quick format like 30 seconds.


See sig: xp 2800+, 512mb.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 09:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

WOW thats taking far too long then something is up with that. Just how long it took to copy 15gig thats insaine. Im wondering if the drive isnt failing and throwing more errors then data! Once error rate goes high they are so slow its crazy. Run speed fan then on it and use the smart drive diag part. See what the drive fitness is (it will show) and how high the error rate is. How hot is gotten too.
 10/30/2006 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

What kinda hard drive is it?

Go to the MFR website and download their diagnostics, burn it to a CD, and run it. It will perform MFR tests to see if it is bad.

It shouldn't nearly take that long. I formatted a 200GB IDE drive today and it took about an hour.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 10/30/2006 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Xtreeme
WOW thats taking far too long then something is up with that. Just how long it took to copy 15gig thats insaine. Im wondering if the drive isnt failing and throwing more errors then data! Once error rate goes high they are so slow its crazy. Run speed fan then on it and use the smart drive diag part. See what the drive fitness is (it will show) and how high the error rate is. How hot is gotten too.


I'll try that in a few hours after this finishes /sleep.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid="-_-" border="0" alt="sleep.gif" /> which will be in a few hours. bvchurch also suggested, on irc, switching ide channels around so I'll try that also.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Yeah nothing should take 20 hours to do.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/30/2006 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: r3sil3
What kinda hard drive is it?

Go to the MFR website and download their diagnostics, burn it to a CD, and run it. It will perform MFR tests to see if it is bad.

It shouldn't nearly take that long. I formatted a 200GB IDE drive today and it took about an hour.


Samsung IIRC.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Zozio
Samsung IIRC.


http://www.samsung.com/support/index.asp

Do that to get a Disk tool, or if there isn't, IIRC the WD lifesaver (or w/ever its called) works on all drives.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/30/2006 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Elite_Athlon
http://www.samsung.com/support/index.asp

Do that to get a Disk tool, or if there isn't, IIRC the WD lifesaver (or w/ever its called) works on all drives.


Thanks.

I did a quick calculation and it seems that to transfer 15gb in 8 hours is an average approximate speed of 500kb/s or 0.5mb/s. A lot of people get better download speeds than this. This is BAD. Here's a list of what other hard drives get for read performance: http://www23.tomshardware.com/...html...33&chart=34. At 18mb/s, less than half of what the lowest score was, it should have taken me 14minutes.

-------------------------
 10/30/2006 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

well i was thinking perhaps it was either a virus or a bad backup device when you were talking about transfering the data over and it taking that long. i'd say the drive is bad. if you have one lying around (like a friend's or whatever) try plugging it into your mobo through the same cable and controller and see if it takes as long to format a known "good" drive.

edit: n

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 10/30/2006 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

worst case grab a new samsung for $50 160gig 8mb cache 7200rpm. But Id see if other is bad first of course. Samsung has disktools and can even do a full 0 level wipe. IT might help, also allocate bad sectors that might actually be the problem. Think of bad sectors like scratches on a cd. The data is there, it may read even, but it will be slow cause of the errors it has to correct on the fly.
 10/30/2006 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Butte
Senior Member

Posts: 226
Joined: 10/21/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Zozio
as of late it has been going exceptionally slow [. . .] backed up approx 15gb [. . .] 8 hours to transfer onto a seperate 40gb [. . .] deleted all partitions on the 120gb hard drive and formatting the hard drive in NTFS


(1) The hd apparently at least worked before reformatting, but was slow. It might well have accumulated some bad sectors or have been infected. The manufacturer's own error table is built into the drive to map around inevitable glitches so that for practical purposes it's well nigh perfect (it's made with greater capacity than appears on label or specs, partly for that reason). The format makes "blank" magnetic film on the platters readable by the os as specially arranged tracks (customary cylinders, heads, sectors, arranged to suit any particular os). The os can further work around any secondary glitches that may accumulate on the delicate surfaces. A modern high-capacity drive will usually have on the order of three platters inside it; the os sees the hd itself as one disc. Concentric cylinders, segmental sectors, and positional heads give the basic CHS (cylinder-head-sector) layout and capacity, subject to translations by dynamic drive overlays (ddo) which overcome various bios or os limitations (in perceiving hd sizes).

(2) When "patted" with zeroes, all platters go blank; even mbr, boot and partition sectors, everything, goodies and baddies, alike, wherever any virus might lurk (save sometimes one solitary special bit, which, if rewritten by virus can cause hd to appear dead and must be manually reset using a good disc editor before hd will properly work, again), goes poof. When reformatted (quick or full) without first "patting" hd, baddies don't go away; formatting does not change files, only changes file access (as it were, the telephones and addresses are still there but the telco and post office are wiped out and replaced with new ones that know nothing of the prior layout). When formatted (quick or full) after "patting" hd, the tracks and reference data are laid down that the os will understand (as it were, a new telco and post office are formed). That's all before an os is installed.

(3) A 120 gb hd should take on the order of (v. coarsely) 8 hrs to "pat" fully with zeroes (then reboot), and additional few sec (actually, <1 sec) to partition (then reboot), and another few to several min (varying with utility, in any event <60 min) for full-format (then reboot), before hd is ready for os. Note rebooting between steps.

(4) The manufacturer's own utilities should be used to "pat" and partition the hd (they'll also format). The major makers' utilties (Seagate, WD, Maxtor, whatever) will accommodate other makes provided that (but will also offer to accommodate those only when) one of their own drives is a primary or bootable master. There are reasons for that, including the irreplaceable error table built into the hd (destroy that, and hd is well nigh useless, at best unreliable), and the appropriateness of specific ddo layouts.

(5) The bios may offer "patting"; for several reasons the maker's own utilites are preferred. The bios will not offer formatting. If rebooting is not done between each of the critical steps, the prior steps won't "take". Failure to reboot can cause odd behaviors if utilities try to launch; they may even appear to be doing their jobs, till the clock suggests otherwise.

(6) If machine has been or may be neglected, consider some fixes and preventions. Ensure that everything inside the box is c-l-e-a-n. Run (after hd is set up, again) scandisk or chkdisk (as suits os vintage), and run defrag, and run antiviral and antispy software, at least weekly.
 11/02/2006 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

Here's a real treat for you guys:


-------------------------
 11/02/2006 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

lawl, i think it would be better not only for ur comp but also for ur sanity to get a new hdd, they are so cheap now that there is no excuse

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 11/02/2006 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Well, atleast it isn't using your cpu lol

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information