Topic Title: $10K Dell
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/22/2006 05:04 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/23/2006 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dillwyn

quote:

Originally posted by: MrWicked1968
does having 10 or 15 servers in a rack make the air that much hotter? I've never been in a server room that didn't have it's own climate control system. I'm no IT pro, but it doesn't matter if you're using Intel, AMD or SunSparc servers, if they're not kept cool, you have problems.

If the server room is not cooled properly, sure, it'll get hot very quick.
Imagine your HVAC system for the room is good for what you have, but you start to upgrade/add servers... next thing you know, your HVAC can't handle the heat during that hotspell in August, and your servers start shutting down... What if one of those servers is for MRP, and your manufacturing stops for a few hours while some IT guy tries to find a fan to cool off the server room... who knows how much money was lost?

OK, HVAC is good - what if the whole rack shuts down because of an overloaded PDU? Sure that kind of thing should be noticed when you first setup the server on the rack, but what if servers speed up to meet demand, fans kick in to cool?

I only mention heat because I was once that IT schmuck running around looking for a fan once!

Dan
 03/23/2006 10:55 AM

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

what you've just described has nothing to do with the processors in the servers. rather it deals more with either a poorly designed server farm or an ineffective IT manager.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP