AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Vista Beta 2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2006 08:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2006 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

The long awaited public beta of Vista is now available..

For people who aren't official Vista beta testers or have legal access to it through MSDN and want to play around with Vista. you can get it here.
Here

Its over 3GBs

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 06/07/2006 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

aww, i don't have a DVD burner.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 06/07/2006 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Over 4GB for the 64 bit edition. How fun

And a problem already. The 64 bit ISO for your own personal downloader is only 14 megabytes...I don't want to be stuck with the Akami junk....if only MSFT could fix this problem.
 06/07/2006 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

I use the 64-Bit. I will advise though, there is one bug in it. Some programs, when you install them, fial to make registry entries.

This is very common with the Adobe programs. I had to install the CS2 programs separately to get them to work right.
 06/07/2006 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

everyone is getting it now and the downloader is crawling went from 300k down to 10k... gonna finish it later although i got 10% before it dropped

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 06/07/2006 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

omg, do u need XP in order to have it? im dling both versions just incase im disipointed with one...

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Logan[TeamX]
Senior Member

Posts: 3185
Joined: 12/07/2003

I'm attempting to get the 64-bit version right now. Let's hope the resume feature of the FF downloader works...
 06/07/2006 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown ' date='Jun 7 2006, 07:04 PM' post='1363958896']
I'm attempting to get the 64-bit version right now. Let's hope the resume feature of the FF downloader works...



it works great for me, im dling both at the same time, curently 1% of 2 files

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004



M$ ACTUALLY released a PUBLIC beta version of Vista?!?!?!?!?!



I'll have to try it out...I tried a version of Vista a LONG time ago and it was horrible...but that's mainly because ti was a very early version. I'm curious to see how the OS is now.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 06/07/2006 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

download keeps failing, says: the server has prematurely ended the connection, when i hit retry it just keeps failing, have to close it and click the resume icon.

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 06/07/2006 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: felixforever
download keeps failing, says: the server has prematurely ended the connection, when i hit retry it just keeps failing, have to close it and click the resume icon.



mines stoped both at about 80mb..... but they look like full files in explorere

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 09:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

Yeah, I had the same problem.. the most i got was 120MB.. I install DAP Free and its downloading past 270MB. and still downloading.

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 06/07/2006 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Dan.M
Yeah, I had the same problem.. the most i got was 120MB.. I install DAP Free and its downloading past 270MB. and still downloading.



DAP Free? u mean FF dont like the dl?

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

ff freezes up
the ms downloader keeps disconecting and u have to close it totaly to resume

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 06/07/2006 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

OOOOMMMMGGGG i just got DAP FREE and OOOOMMMMGGG, i got a max of 150kps with FF on both at the same time, but now im going at a max of 500kps on both.... O.O

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

any restrictions?

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 06/07/2006 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: technic58


M$ ACTUALLY released a PUBLIC beta version of Vista?!?!?!?!?!



I'll have to try it out...I tried a version of Vista a LONG time ago and it was horrible...but that's mainly because ti was a very early version. I'm curious to see how the OS is now.



You didn't try a version of Vista, you tried an alpha build of Longhorn, big difference.

 06/07/2006 09:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

Downloading now at 600K


/me goes to best buy in the morning to finally buy a DVD burner.....lol

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/07/2006 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

tryd with dap, it gives a error and cancel's, after that it starts totaly over =/ this is a pain in the rear

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 06/07/2006 10:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

yeah......mine has now ended


-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » Vista Beta 2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information