AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Vista Beta 2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2006 08:02 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2006 10:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixforever
Senior Member

Posts: 981
Joined: 12/01/2005

i just dont think there server can handle the volume of people trying to get this rite now, i will try again later

-------------------------
Opteron 165 CCBBE, DFI Lanparty UT RDX200 Ati, Sapphire X1900Gt

I dont know whats worse, the Fanboys, the Flamewars or the DRM paranoia
 06/07/2006 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

damit mine ended too....that sucks..well its not like i would have used it right here and now...

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dan.M
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3796
Joined: 10/23/2003

their server is most likely overloading..

similar situation with their activation server..


microsoft should have release public betas this size to the BT community. That would take the load off their servers for something else.. lol

-------------------------
Formerly Known as AzN_Pride
i7-2600|P8P67 Deluxe|HD6970&HD5770|16GB G.Skill RAM|640GB WD Caviar Black|Corsair AX750W|Silverstone Raven 3
 06/07/2006 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

so nice of them to share lol. DLing now.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 06/07/2006 10:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: sepheroth003
any restrictions?



i would like to know as well. is it one of those 180 day trials?

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 06/07/2006 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

It's only a second beta, not a release candidate. The question is, would you want to use it for more then 180 days?

-Adam
 06/07/2006 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

OH my GOD this will take me about 2 weeks to download !!!
39hours and it was going to climb up but I just will have to wait till it hits main streem !!

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 06/07/2006 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

well mine is still going now......@500k.......1 hour left.........too bad I dont have a DVD burner.

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 06/07/2006 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: r3sil3
well mine is still going now......@500k.......1 hour left.........too bad I dont have a DVD burner.



i wonder if there is a way to split that iso so you can fit it in a few disks without messing it up. maybe its not as easy as you can for a movie.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 06/07/2006 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

pfff, whatever. i goes so sluggish... it downlaods just fine for 5 seconds, and i get disconected... five minutes later, it resumes, but i get disconnected again. guess it'll take a long time for me to try it lol.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 06/07/2006 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

leaving the download on all night might be a good idea. who knows how much microsoft's bandwith is being used up from all these downloaders. lets hope they have something fast like fiber.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 06/07/2006 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

ya i resumed it right now and its goin for a bit..

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: dot_pixel651
leaving the download on all night might be a good idea. who knows how much microsoft's bandwith is being used up from all these downloaders. lets hope they have something fast like fiber.

dot.



Even if they did have fiber, they still wouldn't get fast download speeds...it's M$'s server that's making things slow, not the ISP.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 06/07/2006 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

I assume (bad sometimes) that the 64bit version will run 32bit software just fine?

Im thinking about trying it but if I do it will be a full reformatt.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 06/07/2006 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

well what's really messing up the bandwidth right now is all the people on dialup and the slower DSL and cable packages trying to download. Files this big should be restricted to 300K and faster internet connections.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 06/07/2006 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

well, now that im using DAP i just resume it when ever it disconnects 8)

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
 06/07/2006 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: sepheroth003 I assume (bad sometimes) that the 64bit version will run 32bit software just fine?


Yes and no. It has no problem with 32-bit software. But, there are are 32-bit programs that use 16-bit installers, which will not work. For me, that is a no-go, as I need certain applications, but generally speaking, most people won't have a big problem with that. It's drivers that tend to give the most headaches.

-Adam
 06/07/2006 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

gotcha...that works. Ill download it and give it a try.

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 06/07/2006 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Silk_the_Absent1
Yes and no. It has no problem with 32-bit software. But, there are are 32-bit programs that use 16-bit installers, which will not work. For me, that is a no-go, as I need certain applications, but generally speaking, most people won't have a big problem with that. It's drivers that tend to give the most headaches.

-Adam



What would be some examples of programs with 16-bit installers?


-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 06/07/2006 10:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ravanger
Senior Member

Posts: 1916
Joined: 01/11/2006

sp basically the 32 bit is the way to go then if ya want to use all the XP programs too?

also do i need XP already or do i just install vista on the new comp?

also how long is it? i mean can u use it as long as ya want?

-------------------------
<img src="http://img247.imageshack.us/im...7387/316515972mak2.jpg" border="0" alt="IPB Ima
AMD Processors » AMD Enthusiast Community » General Technology Chat » Vista Beta 2

<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information