AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Power question.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/10/2007 07:17 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/10/2007 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k2aka111
Senior Member

Posts: 3321
Joined: 03/14/2006

The problem just hit me. Do you need a higher voltage with more cores. I feel retarded asking this, but you never learn if you don't ask.

-------------------------
Selling Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe & X2 4200+. PM me if interested
 03/10/2007 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

I would imagine so since each core take the same volts to run it would in fact be 2x that . would it not ?

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 03/10/2007 07:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

no......volts is presure. It woudl require same amount of force to make the electrons travel as required. However the CURRENT (amps) would imcrease. Hence more power used (watts = voltsxamps)
 03/10/2007 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Xtreeme no......volts is presure. It woudl require same amount of force to make the electrons travel as required. However the CURRENT (amps) would imcrease. Hence more power used (watts = voltsxamps)

Isn't that what I just said ?


-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 03/10/2007 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

Each core uses 1.3V or w/e it is now.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 03/10/2007 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k2aka111
Senior Member

Posts: 3321
Joined: 03/14/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: trickson
Isn't that what I just said ?



no.

-------------------------
Selling Asus M2N32-SLI deluxe & X2 4200+. PM me if interested
 03/10/2007 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
me=kon
Case Modder

Posts: 779
Joined: 07/19/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Elite_Athlon
Each core uses 1.3V or w/e it is now.


1.25v

-------------------------
<br>Technic86 "Now I'm gonna agree and wish it was old times again. You know...before the forums were down every other week, before the spambots and hackers came, before the fanboys began to show face(sorry), before the forums went from a Support Place to a battlefield, before short tempers flared and...ahhh so on and so forth. The forums just
 03/11/2007 01:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xtreeme
Senior Member

Posts: 2705
Joined: 05/04/2006

1.20v actually is what my 3800+ x2 uses.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information