AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 3Dmark 2001 & PCI E
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/05/2007 01:44 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/05/2007 01:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

I am just wondering if 3Dmark 2k1 works with PCI E cards?

I have some incredibly crappy scores, I know I have an incredibly crappy PCI E video card but we are talking 5450 /wacko.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":wacko:" border="0" alt="wacko.gif" />

So I am really hoping that 2k1 does not work with PCI E!!

My old system (AMD 2500+M OC'd to 2250mhz) with a 128mb nVidia FX500 was 8000+

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 02/05/2007 01:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CouGaR
Senior Member

Posts: 4168
Joined: 08/06/2005

It sure does.

-------------------------
 02/05/2007 01:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: CouGaR
It sure does.




Now I am seriously bummed


That is bizarre cause when I watch the test it looks better than it did with the old system, the 8 lights go smooth, all the graphics look better, right up until the score comes out!
I am not a gamer so no big loss at least.
I stuck a 7600 into my old board and gave it to my brother and now it is getting 14000, he is happy, and just loving it that my 939 sux so bad!!

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 02/05/2007 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: geezer
Now I am seriously bummed


That is bizarre cause when I watch the test it looks better than it did with the old system, the 8 lights go smooth, all the graphics look better, right up until the score comes out!
I am not a gamer so no big loss at least.
I stuck a 7600 into my old board and gave it to my brother and now it is getting 14000, he is happy, and just loving it that my 939 sux so bad!!



3D Mark 06 would be better.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 02/05/2007 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: mckennma
3D Mark 06 would be better.


Where I live the ONLY option for internet is dial up, so downloading 06 is not a possibility. I got 01 from a Maximum PC magazine CD. maybe someday they will include 06.

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
 02/05/2007 04:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

2001 is not a reliable benchmark today as it doesnt stress the new abilities of gfx cards, but only old ones (im not talking technically as im not engineer, this is just my opinion).. for example, my current system gets lower score in 2001se than my old axp with 5500.. but it nearly doubles the score in AM3/03/06..

-------------------------
 02/05/2007 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

Well you do have a 7100GS to be fair.

-------------------------
 02/05/2007 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: geezer
I am just wondering if 3Dmark 2k1 works with PCI E cards?

I have some incredibly crappy scores, I know I have an incredibly crappy PCI E video card but we are talking 5450 /wacko.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":wacko:" border="0" alt="wacko.gif" />

So I am really hoping that 2k1 does not work with PCI E!!

My old system (AMD 2500+M OC'd to 2250mhz) with a 128mb nVidia FX500 was 8000+



How does it play with your games? Lower performance? Is your PCIe slot x4,x8, or x16? What is your card? x8 is better than AGP 8x. If x4 slot, it could be the problem.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 02/05/2007 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lancer33
Member

Posts: 70
Joined: 10/26/2006

2001 is not a good measure. You need to run at least 2003. I get 29082 in 2001, 25192 in 2003, 11926 in 2005.

-------------------------
Rig #1
DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI DR Expert, AMD64 3500+ @ 3Ghz, 2 Gigs G.Skill PC4000, 4 300GB WD Sata Drives, PX7800 GT Extremes in SLI, SoundBlaster X-Fi Elite Pro, 2 DVD-r's, 2 Enermax Liberty 620w PSU's, BenQ FP222W LCD Monitor, SoundBlaster GigaWorks G500, Lian Li PC-A10.

Rig #2
AMD X2-6000+ @ 3.46Ghz(230x13), DFI LPUT NF590 SLI-M2R/G, G.Skill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (4-4-4-12), 4 WD 300GB SATA,
Asus EN8800GTX, X-Fi Elite, Zippy 850w
 02/05/2007 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

You said FX500? Is that an...FX5200? FX5500? FX5700? FX5900? Anything inbetween? If it was any of the lower ones you would think a 7100 would be better....course I have no clue what a 7100GS is so...

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 02/06/2007 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

The most relevant benchmark is the one that came with the same video card generation.
It is futile to run 8800s with 3dmk2001 or 5200 with 2003+.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 02/06/2007 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nagaty_h
Senior Member

Posts: 3154
Joined: 01/13/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Unknown The most relevant benchmark is the one that came with the same video card generation.
It is futile to run 8800s with 3dmk2001 or 5200 with 2003+.

thats nearly what i meant in my previous post..

-------------------------
 02/06/2007 01:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
geezer_wheelz
Elite

Posts: 1462
Joined: 09/23/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: technic58
You said FX500? Is that an...FX5200? FX5500? FX5700? FX5900? Anything inbetween? If it was any of the lower ones you would think a 7100 would be better....course I have no clue what a 7100GS is so...


No the fx 500 is a cad/rendering card, not a gaming card at all (google PNY qffx500)
What you sadi about the 7100 should be better is what I thought as well.

Maybe nagaty_h has a point (that is what I thought at the beginning of this post)

@mckenna - The games work and look way better ,I am using the pcie 16 slot, as for my card, xfx geforce 7100gs 512mb ddr2 TV DVI PCI E does not say much more than that on the box

-------------------------
Asus M4A79 Deluxe, Phenom II 940 BE, 20,770 3D06

Asus Moderator ~ My CPU Overheating Guide
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information