AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HD is yet again acting funny.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/20/2007 12:08 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/20/2007 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

yep, there we go again. it seems i got a "moody" hard drive. for some reason it now decided that taking 1+ min to start (not boot, START... meaning windows bars going through). if you want it in term of "bars crossing", i stopped counting at 25. when "starting", you can hear the hard drive accessing like mad, but goes nowhere.
additionally, some tests (HD Tune i think it was), there are places where speed ALWAYS drops in form of a spike. that thread is here. as you can see, the huge spike at around 20% always happens, in the exact same spot.
once it gets into windows, everything works perfectly, as if nothing ever happened.
tried checking for errors, defragmenting more than once, and nothing. the way things are looking like, in five minutes it will go back to normal....

what's up?

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/20/2007 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

Reinstall motherboard drivers, disable non used IDE+SATA channels in BIOS and in Windows. Is it also laggy in safe mode boot ?

-------------------------
 01/20/2007 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

didn't occur to me to reinstall the drivers again... but yes, unused channels are disabled. safe mode works fine, which i'm guessing you're right about the drivers.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/20/2007 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

does HD Tune report everything OK on the Health tab?

also did you do the error scan with HD Tune?
if not, give that a go, disable the quick scan option tho

edit: so its okay in safe mode.. i musta missed that.. so its probably not the hard drive after all..

have you changed any hardware recently? sometimes during startup, windows will keep on looking for hardware that is no longer there.
in safe mode, goto the device manager, show hidden hardware, and delete whatever hardware you don't have

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 01/20/2007 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: axy1985
yep, there we go again. it seems i got a "moody" hard drive. for some reason it now decided that taking 1+ min to start (not boot, START... meaning windows bars going through). if you want it in term of "bars crossing", i stopped counting at 25. when "starting", you can hear the hard drive accessing like mad, but goes nowhere.
additionally, some tests (HD Tune i think it was), there are places where speed ALWAYS drops in form of a spike. that thread is here. as you can see, the huge spike at around 20% always happens, in the exact same spot.
once it gets into windows, everything works perfectly, as if nothing ever happened.
tried checking for errors, defragmenting more than once, and nothing. the way things are looking like, in five minutes it will go back to normal....

what's up?




I would check your spacing for cooling. HD Tune is not a great test for normal usage. Is your hard drive connected directly to the power supply or with Y-cables. Hard drives should be on direct connections.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 01/20/2007 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

try running HDtach for us.

-------------------------
 01/20/2007 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

funny thing is that i have two drives in there. this hitachi one and my old samsung one. the samsung is connected with a Y cord, while the hitachi is directly connected .
and right you are zep... all SMART values are well within spec... so no issues there either. maybe it's just windows freaking out again...
i'll run the error thing in HD tune tho.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/20/2007 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005



got from the over thread zozio
 01/20/2007 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

mmm, bench results look very similar to mine...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/20/2007 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

because they are urs
 01/20/2007 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: axy1985
mmm, bench results look very similar to mine...



HD Tach gave me very strange results for my 8 drive SCSI U320 RAID 10 array. Try Sandra Pro.

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 01/20/2007 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: Smogsy
because they are urs



i thought they were Zozio's... dunno why...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/20/2007 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zozio
Senior Member

Posts: 2330
Joined: 07/13/2005

Well atleast your hard drive isn't gone. When I started having horrible start up performance (and general usage performance as well) I had this >_<.


-------------------------
 01/21/2007 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

yeah, of course.... back to normal now. dunno if it's crazy, but i really hate "randomness"...

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/21/2007 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mckennma
Senior Member

Posts: 2989
Joined: 06/01/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: axy1985
yeah, of course.... back to normal now. dunno if it's crazy, but i really hate "randomness"...



Have you ran Chkdsk on the drive?

-------------------------
Tyan Thunder K8WE
Dual AMD 280 Opterons
8GB NUMA enabled DDR333 2.5-3-3-7 RAM
PCI-X SCSI RAID
http://69.14.190.80
 01/21/2007 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

yes, i did run it numerous times. no errors reported.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/21/2007 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Random bugs are the best...

If you can reach it while the machine's running, you might want to see if the drive feels like it's getting a little too toasty. I had a problem like that here recently, and after lots of fuss and bother finally tracked it back to thermals getting a bit out of control.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 01/21/2007 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

i'll check it out. the drive usually stays between 36 and 41ºC, but once it did reach 51ºC which no HD has ever reached on me.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 01/21/2007 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alexfort93
Elite

Posts: 2150
Joined: 10/09/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: axy1985
i'll check it out. the drive usually stays between 36 and 41ºC, but once it did reach 51ºC which no HD has ever reached on me.



My HD usually runs around there /blink.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":blink:" border="0" alt="blink.gif" />

-------------------------
MSI 790GX-G65| Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz | Asetek 550LC | 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1333 | Asus 4870 | Seagate 640GB | WD 500GB | VX450 | Antec P180 | Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
 01/21/2007 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

well, i guess it's not that freaky then... right now the hitachi is sitting at 39ºC, and the samsung is 35ºC. the samsmung has always been cooler.
bu ti've been aware that 50ºC is not "lethal" for a drive.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information