AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Issue with secondary system
Topic Summary: Random restarts
Created On: 04/22/2009 12:31 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/22/2009 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Issue with secondary system,

Ok I was ultimately unable to install windows 7 on my secondary system so I installed win xp instead.
However I can't get SP3 installed, I have tried both windows update and I've downloaded the service pack itself and both times while trying to install it the computer restarts.

Here are the specs.

AMD 9950 watercooled at stock settings 2.6ghz
ECS 780 GM A ultra mobo
Transcend 4 GB pc6400 800mhz ram@5-5-5-16 timings
Antec truepower 430psu
Sapphire gfx 4650 1GB
I also have a Belkin wireless G network card installed

I currently have one HDD installed a WD Green Caviar 640GB and a Samsung DVD writer.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/22/2009 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Hi mate,have you tried taking a stick of ram out,what seems the problem with installing windows 7 ???

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/22/2009 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

I took out ram for the win7 install and the same issue kept happening, I will try removing ram when I have time on friday and I will see if that works.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/22/2009 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Is that DVD writer a sata drive ??

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/22/2009 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

No its an IDE drive

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/22/2009 01:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Were you doing a clean install of windows 7 ??

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/22/2009 01:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Originally posted by: moorhen2

Were you doing a clean install of windows 7 ??


Yes I was

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/22/2009 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

As soon as friday hits I am going to install some monitoring software to rule out any heat issues. Looking at my pics of the setups water block looks as though one of the retention clips may be on the wrong way and the block may not be totally secure and its getting too hot.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/22/2009 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Main Install issues have already been covered here....

Main ones bieng memory allocation during install, and SATA OPtical Drive being dropped by OS, causing it to fail, but if its doing it for the XP Service Pack afer getting XP itself installed then I'm not sure what it is to be honest...

May well be a heat issue, though if you managed to get XP installed OK, then I'm not sure about that.... its possible that multi-core/multi-threaded support that is integral to Vista/Win7 but added onto XP may be causing the additional cores to be utilised for the SP3 and Win7 installations causing excess heat as a by-product of the extra core use.... not sure if that's a likely scenario... thinking aloud here.....

Maybe if XP is only using a single core to complete the installation then the temps aren't increasing to great until the other cores are being utilised, whereas with Win7 and XP3 the added core utlisation in conjucntion with poor HSF contact is generating to much heat causing the system to shutdown....

It's a tricky one for sure... I hoe you manage to pin it down though..... let us know how you get on with it on Friday..!!

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/22/2009 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Thanks Kaz you are one smart cookie.

I think before I begin messing about with it too much I am going to slipstream SP3 into my xp install, format the drive and reinstall XP.
I can see all 4 cores being used and I don't know if its heat or a bad memory module. I am going to plop my massive desk fan beside it on friday while I work on it.

please check my topic "cabling done" for pics of the waterblock and tell me if you think it is on properly.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 04/22/2009 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Hmm can't really tell from those pics...looks liek its awkward to get a good pcitre as wel becuase of the plate that comes across...

I'm not familiar with the mounting mehcanism that the CoolIT uses to be honest... I think if you can get some measurements from within XP using CoreTemp etc... then we'll have a better idea of whether temps are an issue really...!!!

You'll knpow straight away if the block is getting poor contact..idle temp will be higher than average and load temps will increase a lot more quickly and be higher than anticaipated... if the waterblock is getting poor contact.

Hope it turns out to be something simple for you...

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/22/2009 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Ok that will be one of the first things but first maybe tonight to reburn xp with all the updates.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information