AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dumb compatability question
Topic Summary: video to mobo
Created On: 04/28/2009 05:54 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/28/2009 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Naden
Member

Posts: 37
Joined: 06/08/2008

I've been mulling over upgrading to a phenom II CPU and running 2 280GTX in SLI. Anyone got a good idea for a motherboard that can take full advantage of the hardware. exe: both video cards running in X16 not switching to X8 when you run two. BTW how much of a gain would you get from running in X16 over X8?
 04/28/2009 06:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Hi again,should have asked this in your original thread,but here goes,if you want to go PII,what one are you looking at,??,and as you have nvidia gpu;s i would look for an nvidia chipset based mobo,plenty to choose from,ie Asus,Dfi,Asrock,Msi,just make sure it has 2 x16 pcie slots.

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/28/2009 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

I'd scratch the two GTX 280s, as it forces you to use an nVidia chipset, which I havn't heard from a lot of very satisfied users.

Instead, get an AMD chip set, 790GX or 790FX, and get one GTX295

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/02/2009 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

Actually depending on the resolution of your LCD and games u running multi GPUs aren't necessary IMO

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
 05/02/2009 09:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

i bought the ASUS M3N HT Deluxe to run a 720 and sli 260/216s.
i dont have the second card yet but this is why i went with the 780a (x16 with sli) over the 750a (8x sli).
ASUS just came out with the 980a MB, but i decided to go with what was tried and tested.

i say get the M3N HT Deluxe if you want sli.
if not i concure with what Immortal Lobster said-AMD FX/GX MB with a single 295 or a 4890 or a 4870x2 (you can crossfire the ati cards later)


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 05/02/2009 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Naden
Member

Posts: 37
Joined: 06/08/2008

Yeah Part of the reason I started to use Nvidia cards was I had Two different ATI cards burnout on me, a 9800XT after 3 years of service, No OC was done. and a AGP solution 1 1/2 years ago burnt out after 3 months of use, I have yet for a Nvidia card to fail me. I however Like the AMD chips, the original 9600 shaked that foundation a bit though, eh crashes and degraded performance. I''m thinking sometime in the future when I redo my hardware again; Ill run a AMD configed with ATI cards. I dont have the money o change what I just did lol. The only thing thats an option would be a MOBO upgrade but it have to support SLI and the new phenom. However I have been Ocerclocking a bit and I'm finding the Performannce very acceptable.
 05/03/2009 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

Hmm this was what i think is most bang for buck multi GPU set up for 1920 x 1080 resolution


-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information