AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 2nd system issues
Topic Summary: Can't get an OS to install
Created On: 05/06/2009 09:39 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/06/2009 09:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Having major issues with this second system.

I have tried installing the following:

XP sp2 installed got all drivers working couldn't update to SP3.

Wiped it tried installing xpsp3 black edition gave me a blue screen.

Tried win7 RC and same thing gave me blue screen and a random reboot.

I have tried 3 different hard drives I have used memtest to test 2 of my 4GB of ram and they passed.

The only step I can think of to do next is to take out the 9950 and install everything with another AM2 processor. Then once I'm all set up flash the boards BIOS with the updated version then try it with the 9950.

I'm at a loss here.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/06/2009 09:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

I am going to reproduce the BSOD tomorrow night so I can get a handle on it.
and I cn post the exact message in here.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/06/2009 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Grubbworm
Fanboi

Posts: 54
Joined: 03/16/2009

I have a problem when I install XP SP3 on my wife's computer. It is an AMD cpu running XP Media Center Edition. After install, on reboot, I get BSOD. After I uninstall SP3 everything works fine. So, I just diable the SP3 update in Windows Updates.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940
GIGABYTE GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Zalman CNPS9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA-300 Hard Drive
OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WB
 05/08/2009 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

I tried switching the sata cable and port and I have it restart after win7 gets to 40 percent of expanding. I need to use my ultimate boot cd to format the drive yet again.
I am wonder if it might be the main board and cpu not playing nicely

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/08/2009 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

I tried switching the sata cable and port and I have it restart after win7 gets to 40 percent of expanding. I need to use my ultimate boot cd to format the drive yet again.
I am wonder if it might be the main board and cpu not playing nicely

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/08/2009 11:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Arsenic
Deprecated

Posts: 257
Joined: 04/19/2009

Did you change something? Ram for example? I had the problem once that the SPD was set to stupid values. I did clear CMOS after installing the RAM, the SPD was set to auto and it tried to run my ram @200MHz with 2.0-2-2-5 when it should be 3.0-3-3-8.
Installing XP SP3 later will always make some problems. I integrated a SP3 in my installation-disc, costs less time to install and won't make as much trouble.

-------------------------
Phenom II 940 @3.40GHz 1,35V|Xigmatek HDT-SD964|Foxconn A79A-S|4GB Kingston HyperX 1066 CL5 2.0V|Sapphire HD4830 512MB|Sharkoon Avenger|LC6600GP2 600W
http://www.sysprofile.de/id99196
 05/08/2009 01:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

I have tried a CD with sp3 installed it wouldn't install and I reset the cmos regardless and haven't changed the ram.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/08/2009 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

How many sticks of ram are you running? 2x2 or 4x1?

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 05/09/2009 01:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

2x1 gb

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/09/2009 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
imbored
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/09/2009

Y not just make and SP3 installation right away and lets see what will happend
 05/09/2009 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Originally posted by: imbored

Y not just make and SP3 installation right away and lets see what will happend


I've already tried that and when installing xp with sp3 or win 7 it bluescreens or reboots when it gets to the expanding files stage.
I haven't tried vista but I only have one copy.

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/10/2009 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Hi zod,just a thought,have you got any 6400 ram to try, have read xp does'nt play nicely with 8500 sometimes,might work,anythings worth a try,lol!!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 05/11/2009 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

It is 6400 ram not 8500

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
 05/12/2009 10:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zodgrod009
Overclocker

Posts: 679
Joined: 01/01/2009

Here is probably the only solution to my issue

http://www.asus.com/product.as...QSmyaQaXVEP&templete=2

-------------------------
AMD 940 PH2 BE @ 3.7 Ghz ArcticFreezer 64 pro
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Patriot 4GB pc8500 DDR2 1066@5-5-5-15
Antec Quattro 850 Watt PSU
Asus 5770 1GB DDR5 850/1200
Sound blaster Audigy. w/2.1 surround Logitech speakers
Antec 900 case w/4 120mm fans 1 200mm fan
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information