AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: **Help On Upgrading**
Topic Summary: Upgrading Computer
Created On: 05/24/2009 05:32 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by batuchka, on Tuesday, May 26, 2009 7:49 AM

Answer:
Well it depends on where u at really Where i'm at Biostars have excellent pricing and the AM3/DDR3 Biostar TA790GX A3+
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16813138141
is far cheaper than brand X motherboards so pricing at your location counts a lot even more so if you tight ^^ There are no issues going AM2+/DDR2 with that 720BE though if you have ultra low budget
 05/24/2009 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Patrikc8
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 05/24/2009

Hello There

I Have a computer which has
MOTHERBOARD : BIOSTAR MCP6p M2+
PROCESSOR :AMD Athlon x2 Processor 5200
GRAPHICS CARD: GIGABYTE 9400 GT
RAM :2 GB DDRII PC800 KINGSTON

I was thinking about upgrading the processor to a AMD Phenom II x3 720 but do you think it is worth it or should i get a new motherboard as well?? PLEASE ADD YOUR OWN OPINIONS.

Thankyou Patrikc8
 05/24/2009 06:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

The MCP6P M2+ is essentially an AM2 motherboard with HT 2.0 and PCIex16 1.0. If it were me i'd just hit an entry level AM2+ like a Biostar A760G if really tight for $$ Another interesting mobo is the Biostar TA790GX XE - known unlocker of P2X3s depending on the luck of the draw o cos ^^ Else if $$ not tight go straight into AM3/DDR3 platforms with that chip

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y

Edited: 05/24/2009 at 06:17 AM by batuchka
 05/24/2009 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
grndragon57
Senior Member

Posts: 610
Joined: 10/10/2007

I'd go with batuchka's advice the MCP6p does not support the Phenom or Phenom II processors.

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/...u_support.php?S_ID=315

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 4800 @ 3000mhz, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Biostar 520 A2, 2x1gb G.Skill DDR2 800, EVGA 8800 GT, Corsair VX450, Cooler Master Centurion 534,

Phenom II 720 @ 3700mhz, Zigmatek Dark Knight S1283V, EVGA 730a, 2x2gb G.Skill PI-Black DDR2 1066, EVGA GTX 260, Corsair VX550, CM 690 Case
 05/25/2009 08:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Patrikc8
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 05/24/2009

Thanks for the help guys but my processor does support some of the AMD phenom II chips

What motherboards do you recommend ehich have AM3/DDR3 platforms as i would like to check out the prices.
i am a bit tight with $$ so do YOU think the best option is to get the AMDphenom II x3 720 as its new or get a whole new motherboard aswell as a new chip.

once again thanks for you help.
PAtrikc8
 05/25/2009 08:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Patrikc8
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 05/24/2009

Also the motherboard i have is MCP6P M2+ not the MCP6P. meaning i can have the some of the latest Processors.

Website:http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/...b/content.php?S_ID=370
 05/25/2009 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

Answer Answer
Well it depends on where u at really Where i'm at Biostars have excellent pricing and the AM3/DDR3 Biostar TA790GX A3+
http://www.newegg.com/Product/...?Item=N82E16813138141
is far cheaper than brand X motherboards so pricing at your location counts a lot even more so if you tight ^^ There are no issues going AM2+/DDR2 with that 720BE though if you have ultra low budget

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
 05/26/2009 07:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Patrikc8
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Joined: 05/24/2009

Well im only 14 years old and dont really have alot of money so i think my processor can last till december. thanks for the help guys
 05/26/2009 10:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

You are welcomed. The 45 W TDP multicores are coming Q2 soon so that might interest you ^^



-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
 05/26/2009 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SH
Overclocker

Posts: 388
Joined: 08/13/2008

You can wait till the Athlon IIs are out, as batuchka stated. And, will you be gaming? If so, you'll benefit much more from a faster graphics card.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information