AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Street Fighter IV PC Benchmark
Topic Summary: A new benchmark for everyone! (Updated 03/07/09)
Created On: 06/17/2009 06:19 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/19/2009 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

OK here we go with some testing. For these runs I ran the CPU and the GPU at stock settings as not to distort the runs as much as possible. I still ran with the motherboard and other settings optimized like my RAM at 2-3-2-7 CR1, with no clock skewing.

This run was done with the default settings:
SCORE: 9925
AVERAGE: 59.72FPS
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 FX-60 Dual Core Processor
Memory: 2048MB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT
Display Setting: 1280x720 60Hz

This run was at max settings, except AA and v-sync turned off:
SCORE: 9019
AVERAGE: 79.36FPS
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 FX-60 Dual Core Processor
Memory: 2048MB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT
Display Setting: 1920x1200 60Hz

Right away we can see a huge boost in score, plus it doesn't realy look different with AA on or off, at least not at this high of resolution. Maybe if I took screen captures and compared we could spot the difference.

This next run was using the gamer settings but with the stock clocks:
SCORE: 4902
AVERAGE: 38.61FPS
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 FX-60 Dual Core Processor
Memory: 2048MB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT
Display Setting: 1920x1200 60Hz 8xAA

The last run I did was with my normal OC settings but v-sync turned off
SCORE: 4936
AVERAGE: 39.31FPS
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 FX-60 Dual Core Processor
Memory: 2048MB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT
Display Setting: 1920x1200 60Hz 8xAA

Obviously for me, and anyone with an ATI card lower than the 4000 series is going to take a hit with AA on. It seems to me, that this benchmark likes to run around the 60FPS area, in which case disabling v-sync will help out in a better score. Overclocking really didn't make much of a difference for me, but as it stands now, if you ran a benchmark with v-sync enabled, run it again with v-sync disabled and I'll post the updated score. I'll also change the benchmark rules to reflect this change to keep things fair, as much as we can

*theoldtimer, have you tried enabling/disabling the parallel rendering mode in the settings to see if this does anything for you? Maybe try disabling Crossfire in CCC and see what that does?

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/19/2009 04:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

I tried running mine with everything at max except AA off and my score jumped alot.

SCORE: 18787
AVERAGE: 227.75FPS
OS: Windows Vista(TM) Home Premium
CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 940 Processor
Memory: 4094MB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295
Display Setting: 1920x1200 60Hz
 06/19/2009 05:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

I'll do a run tomorrow with my RAM OC'd over 500MHz to add another gigabyte of bandwidth and see what happens. Some benchmarks like the bandwidth (if it's shader intensive) or they like the low latency (calculation intensive). As it is now, adjusting my CPU clock speed and HT link speed doesn't seem to do really anything, so maybe it is shader intensive and my GPU is starving for data.

That's one plus I have with this R600 and DDR 500 RAM. With the 512-bit ring-bus you can keep throwing the bandwitdh to it and it'll take it, as long as I crank up my PCI-E clock. Hopefully it'll make it through a run at 120MHz. I wish it was winter again, free cooling for everyone, lol.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/19/2009 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

PorscheRacer14, I haven't tried the parallel rendering mode settings yet. I'll back the clocks off a little and then try some different setting today in hopes of figuring this thing out. I only had time to work with the test a few minutes yesterday so I haven't given it a fair workout.

-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 06/19/2009 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

Maybe all the test needed was a reboot of the system before I ran the first test? Anyway here are the first two tests today. I didn't change anything much in the bench test settings. I'll connect the LCD to the 955 system and run some tests at a higher resolution in a bit. The CPU is running @3900MHz so I may clock it up later to see it that changes the score also.






-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 06/19/2009 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

low low res and no aa you cheater

matching your settings.







-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 06/19/2009 at 12:12 PM by PC-GURU -
 06/19/2009 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

I don't know about being a cheater? The 955 system is down in the shop and the monitor it's attached to maxes out at 1280X1024. I don't have a better monitor down there! Nice scores on your system though.

-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 06/19/2009 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: theoldtimer

I don't know about being a cheater? The 955 system is down in the shop and the monitor it's attached to maxes out at 1280X1024. I don't have a better monitor down there! Nice scores on your system though.


was kidding bro.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 06/19/2009 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

Here are my scores at those low settings.




 06/19/2009 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

yes yes we know your just showing off now lol.

LOVE them quad way SLI.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 06/19/2009 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

Sorry guy but 1680X1050 is the best my LCD can do, yeah I carried it down to the shop. So to compare to my system I guess you will need to run the test at 1680X1050 because I don't plan to buy a better monitor right away. I got to thinking during some of the test that this bench would appear to somewhat favor Nvidia GFX cards so I ran it on the Evga GTX 260's in order to compare apples to apples.
Cpu @3900MHz for all testing.

Windows 7 RC 32-bit tri-sli (3x260's)




Windows XP SP3 32-bit sli (2X260's)


-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 06/19/2009 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

here is mine oldtimer matching your settings.



Sorry I only use Win 7 these days lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 06/19/2009 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
magdary
Case Modder

Posts: 1228
Joined: 09/20/2007

Sorry to be a party pooper but shouldn't we be running this benchmark at preset settings to allow us to compare better.

Please feel free to tell me to p!ss off.
 06/19/2009 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Some pretty sick score there. I updated the benchmark metrics to help keep things more fair. I will now only include your score of your highest run (on whichever setup you have) that does the gamer settings with v-sync off and at your highest resolution you can run. Basically, we jsut want to see how hard we can push our machines at gamer settings. If you have any other ides or suggestions, let me know, but this should make it a bit tougher and more fair in the end. We could all run at a low resolution, but what's the point of seeing lots of inflated scores?

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/19/2009 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: magdary

Sorry to be a party pooper but shouldn't we be running this benchmark at preset settings to allow us to compare better.



Please feel free to tell me to p!ss off. [IMG][/IMG]


OK yall Lets put this to a TEST.

Maxing her OUT

[IMG]http://i44.tinypic.com/2qxb4nd.jpg[/IMG]
Direct link

[IMG]http://i44.tinypic.com/ftojeb.jpg[/IMG]
direct link

[IMG]http://i40.tinypic.com/2wgskr8.jpg[/IMG]
direct link

[IMG]http://i41.tinypic.com/2z8t69x.jpg[/IMG]
direct link

[IMG]http://i43.tinypic.com/28hpugl.jpg[/IMG]
direct link

So come on you top dogs apples to apples now, that's why I included all my settings.

also every day overclock settings please

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 06/19/2009 at 06:46 PM by PC-GURU -
 06/19/2009 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

The image links aren't working. I'm thinking that Cx16 is an nVIDIA thing because I don't have that option. I cranked up my RAM and it did feel a lot faster, but onyl managed to slightly bump my score up

SCORE: 4960
AVERAGE: 39.79FPS
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 FX-60 Dual Core Processor
Memory: 2048MB
Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT
Display Setting: 1920x1200 60Hz 8xAA

So...it looks like it's just straight GPU rendering power. I'll do a run later with my PCI-E cranked up and I'll OC my GPU and see what happens.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/20/2009 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

Here is a test using the exact same settings on the bench program as Guru.

 06/20/2009 01:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Impressive! On a side note, now it looks like I'm looking for a new video card. All because of a game. The Ghostbusters game lists the 8800GTS and 2900XT as minimum spec cards. Like OMG??!! My computer is now the minimum spec? R600 is minimum spec?!!! Just wrap your head around that....
That blows my mind away...

Oh well, I can save power but I dunno... I should hold off for DX11 since I do plan to put 7 on here. I may see what happens if I put my R600 in my parents tri-core system. Lot of messing around though for a game.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/20/2009 07:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

This is 16xAF and all default clocks





appears to be using all cpu and gpu cores, with a very steady fps.


-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 06/20/2009 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

PC-GURU, you and Ed are killing me, I guess you guys aren't going to take it easy on an old man, LOL! I'll try your setting sometime today PC-GURU after I get my work finished.
@PorscheRacer14, ok just to clarify, are we to use the two graphics in the first post as a template for our test setting then testing at the best resolution our own monitor will run?

-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only

Edited: 06/20/2009 at 10:00 PM by theoldtimer
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information