AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II x4 b50
Topic Summary: Questions about vcore and overclocking.
Created On: 09/09/2009 09:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/11/2009 01:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

The single-core unlock didn't work on any BIOS version using the 0% technique. I tried all sorts of combos like 0 2 0 0, 2 2 2 0, and 2 2 0 0 and everything in between. Pluses and minuses, regular firmware and hybrid, even trying -12 and +12 as someone suggested on another forum. No dice. Maybe Gigabyte will release something like ASUS's "Unleashed Mode". That's my only hope at this point, modifying the BIOS is way over my head and kinda scary.

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse
 09/11/2009 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Originally posted by: Moomanerism2

The single-core unlock didn't work on any BIOS version using the 0% technique. I tried all sorts of combos like 0 2 0 0, 2 2 2 0, and 2 2 0 0 and everything in between. Pluses and minuses, regular firmware and hybrid, even trying -12 and +12 as someone suggested on another forum. No dice. Maybe Gigabyte will release something like ASUS's "Unleashed Mode". That's my only hope at this point, modifying the BIOS is way over my head and kinda scary.


Sorry to hear your unlocking didn't work out.
I think Unleashed Mode is just a fancy name for the Firmware option other boards use.

I bought the same CPU/mobo/ram a friend bought from the same place but a week after he did and his won't unlock for anything, seems the luck is all in the CPU you get more then anything.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 09/11/2009 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

Originally posted by: Edgemeal
I think Unleashed Mode is just a fancy name for the Firmware option other boards use.



I bought the same CPU/mobo/ram a friend bought from the same place but a week after he did and his won't unlock for anything, seems the luck is all in the CPU you get more then anything.


Unleashed Mode allows ASUS motherboard users to force ACC to only work on 3 cores of a dual instead of trying to get all 4 to unlock. I'm sure it serves some other purpose than that too, but that's the only thing really interesting to me. From what I understand it's just a BIOS patch. If I can't get 4 cores to unlock, I probably won't have much luck with 3 but it's worth looking in to. I emailed Gigabyte asking them if they planned on matching their competitor as far as ASUS's Unleashed utility is concerned. I offered to try out some beta stuff if anything was ready. Who knows, maybe they aren't planning on it.


As far as the hardware goes, I've seen a handful of those boards on forums unlock CPU about as easy as the rest of them. Couldn't agree with you more about the CPU comment. It's the luck of the draw, not all of these "defective quads" can be revived, otherwise I'd kinda lose my faith in AMD and their binning process.

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse
 09/11/2009 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Originally posted by: Moomanerism2
Unleashed Mode allows ASUS motherboard users to force ACC to only work on 3 cores of a dual instead of trying to get all 4 to unlock. I'm sure it serves some other purpose than that too, but that's the only thing really interesting to me. From what I understand it's just a BIOS patch. If I can't get 4 cores to unlock, I probably won't have much luck with 3 but it's worth looking in to. I emailed Gigabyte asking them if they planned on matching their competitor as far as ASUS's Unleashed utility is concerned. I offered to try out some beta stuff if anything was ready. Who knows, maybe they aren't planning on it.

As far as the hardware goes, I've seen a handful of those boards on forums unlock CPU about as easy as the rest of them. Couldn't agree with you more about the CPU comment. It's the luck of the draw, not all of these "defective quads" can be revived, otherwise I'd kinda lose my faith in AMD and their binning process.



Oh OK, I didn't know they did that, I always liked Asus boards, had many over the years and they all worked great, for this AM3 build I just bought the cheapest AM3 board newegg had at the time, so far so good, never even planned on OCing the 550 past 3.2GHz and wasn't even going to try unlocking cores, but once it worked theres no going back, lol!

Well they certainly aren't all defective cores, if they were none of us would get past the windows desktop without a BSOD/crash/lockup, my guess is some quads only have disabled cores to fill demand for the X3 and X2 line, surely AMDs yeilds on quads can't be that bad, and quad cores sales are very small compared to X2 and X3 sales, last I read quad core sales were only 10% of all CPUs sold.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 09/11/2009 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Digideath
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Joined: 09/09/2009

Well they certainly aren't all defective cores, if they were none of us would get past the windows desktop without a BSOD/crash/lockup, my guess is some quads only have disabled cores to fill demand for the X3 and X2 line, surely AMDs yeilds on quads can't be that bad, and quad cores sales are very small compared to X2 and X3 sales, last I read quad core sales were only 10% of all CPUs sold.


I think your spot on about some of the x4's being intentionaly cut back. Had that theory running through my head as well. In fact, I beleived in that so much that I honestly was shocked when Moomanerism2 said he couldn't unlock his 2. I don't honestly beleive that the chip I'm using failed any quad core qc test. I have a seriously hard time accepting that I'm getting that from a reject. It's stable as heck on four cores and is just so overclockable. Surely a reject would've shown some signs of weakness by now...
 09/12/2009 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Originally posted by: Digideath


I think your spot on about some of the x4's being intentionaly cut back. Had that theory running through my head as well. In fact, I beleived in that so much that I honestly was shocked when Moomanerism2 said he couldn't unlock his 2. I don't honestly beleive that the chip I'm using failed any quad core qc test. I have a seriously hard time accepting that I'm getting that from a reject. It's stable as heck on four cores and is just so overclockable. Surely a reject would've shown some signs of weakness by now...


What stepping CPU do have?

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 09/12/2009 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Originally posted by: Moomanerism2

The single-core unlock didn't work on any BIOS version using the 0% technique....


The only other thing I can think of is, I've seen a few DDR2 board users say after dropping their DDR2 ram speed (from say 1066 to 800) the unlocked cores worked, something about the memory controller just can't handle the faster DDR2 ram speeds, forget which forum that was in.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 09/12/2009 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Moomanerism2
Stanley Hudson

Posts: 274
Joined: 09/17/2008

Originally posted by: Edgemeal
The only other thing I can think of is, I've seen a few DDR2 board users say after dropping their DDR2 ram speed (from say 1066 to 800) the unlocked cores worked, something about the memory controller just can't handle the faster DDR2 ram speeds, forget which forum that was in.


I read somewhere that one unlock was dependent on just a single RAM channel being used, DIMM_3. Sticks in any other slots would cause instability. I might try to shuffle things around but if I have the same case with mine, I'd just want to stick with 8GB of RAM instead of dropping to 2GB and having a working quad-core. I don't really need anymore power than I can already get out of this chip with an OC, but I'll always take a free upgrade

-------------------------
Supporting the Underdog
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
720 Phenom II X3 (Unlocked to X4) w Zalman 9700LED 3.76Ghz (17.5X215)
Corsiar 520w PS
HIS 4850 (700/1133) w Fatal1ty FC-ZV9
4 GB XMS2 6400 + 4 GB G.Skill 6400 4-4-4-15
2 Seagate 500GB 7200.11 + 150GB Raptor
Westinghouse LCM-22w3
Fatal1ty 1010 mouse

Edited: 09/12/2009 at 03:46 PM by Moomanerism2
 09/14/2009 10:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SonofUgly
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/14/2009

Alright i got a 550 on a Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P (Bios F2) and I'm trying to unlock the other 2 cores, but I don't quite know what to do and some of the stuff in this thread is a bit confusing. I changed the ACC mode to Hybrid, but its still dual core, does that mean that that's what my cpu going to be no matter what, or do I need to change some other settings.
Also how do I check my stepping/batches (referring to the list that batuchka posted)
Thanks.
 09/14/2009 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Originally posted by: SonofUgly

Alright i got a 550 on a Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P (Bios F2) and I'm trying to unlock the other 2 cores, but I don't quite know what to do and some of the stuff in this thread is a bit confusing. I changed the ACC mode to Hybrid, but its still dual core, does that mean that that's what my cpu going to be no matter what, or do I need to change some other settings.

Also how do I check my stepping/batches (referring to the list that batuchka posted)

Thanks.


The stepping is the last 8 numbers & letters printed on the 2nd line of the CPU, the first 2 numbers is the year (09), followed by the week of the year it was made, and then 4 letters, i.e. 0925BPMW.

From the AMD PHENOM II CORE UNLOCKING GUIDE........
1. Enter BIOS.
2. Set Automatic Clock Calibration (ACC) to AUTO.
CRUCIAL step for Asus and Gigabyte owners : Enable "Unleashing" or change "EC Firmware" mode to "Hybrid"
(save bios) & 3. Reboot.

After you save the bios it will take a few extra seconds for it to boot back up as it switches the firmware.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus

Edited: 09/14/2009 at 11:26 PM by Edgemeal
 09/15/2009 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SonofUgly
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/14/2009

Thanks
my cpu isn't stable and wont boot though
Edit: Might try to up the voltage tomorrow

Edited: 09/15/2009 at 12:52 AM by SonofUgly
 09/15/2009 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Good Luck!

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 11/28/2009 11:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wispa2005
Newbie

Posts: 10
Joined: 09/03/2005

AMD as asked the mobo suppliers to remove Core unlock from ACC in bios.
Hence Gigabyte making it end user option to remove on their beta

I got a P II B50 running it @ 3 cores as I dont use 4.
I gotta say is brilliant getting a tri/quad for less than £80.

Mobo was one of them listed on MSI's core unlock page. MSI785GTM-E45. Just ad to send it back as the Chipset was hitting 128oC
n shutting on me. With newest bios. and with just a 5200+ running it Heated the same.

I would reckomed this chip for anyone that is looking for a dual core but likes to play around .
Ive built a few B50 setups for myself and others and found the chips have atleast 3 ok cores, just the mobos bios either worked or dont.

So now i stick with them that state on their site a Bios revision that as unlock (allthough most older ones can still be got elsewhere, Biosta,asrock as removed theirs at the request of AMD but its about)




It was difrent with the new MSI bios aswell,.
Just flash new bios
Run bios - Cell menu - Unlock cores. Reboot
Run bios, Select cores, up volts 1.4 (x4)Stock (x3)

I havent given NVCC a go as I not sure of any models (except 980a)
and we ( I ) preffer to use AMD/ATI more so since the merger.
Full AMD/ATI setup (except the RAM)

-------------------------
Main Comp - Vista64 + XP .Phenom II B50x3 @ 3.300 24/7 MSI785GTM-E45.
2GB KhyperX 1066 Dual,
1TB Seagate 1x500GB Hitachi deskstar sata,
XFX 4850 HD/ 1GB @ 625-600
AOC 32" LCD

Comp 2 - Athlon 5200+ @ 2700, Asus M3N78-CM,
2GB Hyper X, 250GB seagate baracuda.
MSI 4650 1GB
Hanng 19" LCD

Edited: 11/28/2009 at 12:19 PM by wispa2005
 12/16/2009 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ShuSer
Newbie

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/16/2009

Digideath

got 3.7 but thats def the limit from the multiplyer

Hi, i have the same mobo and CPU. Have you reach multiplyer on tis board more then 18.5? If yes, how you do it?

Best bios for a few reasons is f3

Can you tell for what reasons? I trying new BIOS F6 aand it were much lower temps on cores, so I think that F6 prerer.

-------------------------
Gigabyte GA-M720-US3 (rev. 1.0)
Phenom II X2-550 @ 200x18.5 @ X4
Stock Cooler
1Gb PQI DDR2-800 + 2Gb Kingston DDR2-800
640Gb WD + 400Gb Samsung + 1xDVDRW LG
8600GT
XP SP 3 Pro 32-bit
 03/15/2010 05:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slapusilly
Newbie

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/15/2010

I was able to unlock all 4 of my cores and O.C. it pretty easily. Only thing I did was bump the Voltage up to 1.36 (lower actually caused my system to crash) and a multiplier of 17.5 for 3.5ghz. That's as far as I went as I am pretty freaking happy with the speed I have now.

My temp runs idle between 30 and 36c and around 38-40c with Prime95 running. I use an OCZ Vendetta 2 for the cooling job. (I gotta say I am impressed with this cooler for under $40 (I paid $24 for mine)!)

I have the Latest BIOS on my ASUS board and RAM is A-Data Gaming Series DDR2. 2-2GB sticks for a total of 4GB.

I am running everything else at stock core voltages (VDDB, HT, and Video Card). My memory is rated for 5-5-5-12 @ 2.0V so I bumped that up from the automatic 1.8V the system sets and manually adjusted my DRAM timings to achieve that. Still stock in the true sense though.

If you seem to think there is something I need to adjust as far as the performance of this computer, feel free to post here and let me know!

I love my Phenom II 550! Thank you AMD! This is why I have faithfully continued to be an AMD consumer for 12 years and running!






-------------------------
Processor: AMD Phenom II X2 550 B.E. (x4) @ 3515.44 MHz (200.88 * 17.5)
Cooling: OCZ Vendetta 2 (keeps it around 40C When gaming)
MB Model: Asus M4A785-M
Memory: A-Data G Series 4096 MB DDR2 Dual Channel 401.8 MHz 2.01V @ 5-5-5-12
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT EE 1024mb (1GB) O.C.'d to 635Mhz Core clock and 1588Mhz shader clock Using MSI Afterburner program.
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 03/18/2010 at 08:05 PM by slapusilly
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information