AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II 955 Motherboard Recommendations
Topic Summary: Would appreciate some advice on low cost motherboards compatible with Phenom II 955
Created On: 11/08/2009 11:59 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/08/2009 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
~Jack~
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/08/2009

Hi,

I try to upgrade my PC every 2-3 years with good 'bang for buck' components. In other words I'm not bothered with getting the absolute latest & greatest, just descent components at a decent price.

To that end I've identified the Phenom II 955 as an exceptionally good value CPU. I would appreciate recommendations on good value compatible motherboards and RAM. My vague requirements are as follows:

  • Overclocking - Do not plan to overclock
  • Integrated Graphics - Not required (will use a separate graphics card)
  • SLI / crossfire - Not required (only plan to use one graphics card)
  • Integrated audio - I would prefer integrated audio (no plans to buy a separate sound card)
  • CPU power connector - My current PSU has a 4 pin connector. I would prefer not to buy a new PSU if possible so 4 pin mobos would be preferable.
  • AM2+ / AM3 - OK, as I understand things AM3 is required for DDR3 RAM. Some things I've read suggest that DDR3 isn't really worth it. Is that true? Also, is it just me or have RAM prices gone up alot since the last time I looked (2-3 years ago)?

    Any advice would be really appreciated!
  •  11/08/2009 12:07 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    PC-GURU -
    Lurker

    Posts: 8018
    Joined: 11/11/2008

    Look in my sig, lists the board I use with tremendous success.

    Link

    Ran stable smooth seance the day I bought it.

    -------------------------
    AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
    Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
    4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
    2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
    2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
    Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
     11/10/2009 06:27 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    batuchka
    Case Modder

    Posts: 1175
    Joined: 01/19/2008

    With some crazy RAM prices in certain parts of the world if DDR2 and DDR3 are close always go with the latter for a fresh build unless u have lots of the former lying around idling hehe No frills AM3 would be the Gigabyte 770T-UD3P for me
    Info
    By the way the Integrated Memory Controller (IMC) onboard an AM3 socket chip can talk to both DDR2 and DDR3 but an AM2+ can only talk to DDR2

    -------------------------

    My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
    http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
     11/11/2009 04:55 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    SlayerX
    Elite

    Posts: 1818
    Joined: 06/21/2008

    The board I'm using in my main rig has been rock solid since the day I got it.
    It also only as a four pin cpu power connector so you can keep your old psu.

    -------------------------
    PII 1100T (Extinct)
    Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
    4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
    2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
    Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
    NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
     11/11/2009 05:13 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    JC
    Elite

    Posts: 1808
    Joined: 10/19/2009

    Might be overkill. But your needs or wants may change in the future and this board will do anything including walking the dog...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/...+crosshair+iii+formula

    What are your main uses.. Just email and word processing??
    Also if you havent purchased the 955 i would get the 965 "125w" just released

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=965+be

    -------------------------




    Edited: 11/11/2009 at 05:22 PM by JC
     11/11/2009 05:23 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    JPM
    Junior Member

    Posts: 2
    Joined: 11/11/2009

    I'm not an IT specialist and this is my brand new config I found very easy to assemble:
    Case Antec P183
    Power Corsair 750W
    Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
    CPU AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.2Ghz
    Ram 6Gb Crucial DDR3 1.333
    GPU ATI Radeon 4890
    HD x2 Western Digital Caviar black 750 Gb
    Optical drive Sony DVD recorder
    Windows 7 Pro 64 bits

    All this stuff works pretty well together
     11/11/2009 05:35 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    JC
    Elite

    Posts: 1808
    Joined: 10/19/2009

    Originally posted by: JPM

    I'm not an IT specialist and this is my brand new config I found very easy to assemble:

    Case Antec P183

    Power Corsair 750W

    Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula

    CPU AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.2Ghz

    Ram 6Gb Crucial DDR3 1.333

    GPU ATI Radeon 4890

    HD x2 Western Digital Caviar black 750 Gb

    Optical drive Sony DVD recorder

    Windows 7 Pro 64 bits



    All this stuff works pretty well together


    HAHA! We almost have the same rig!! Nice JPM, Lets see some pics....

    -------------------------


     12/17/2009 11:32 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    suniltyagi
    Newbie

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 12/17/2009

    Hey
    I have used AMD Phenom II X4 955 processor to power my PC I used the ASUS Motherboard M4A78-EM/1394.
    Later I found that the motherboard I used is not the recommended motherboard forAMD Phenom II X4 955 processor.
    I am using it for two days now and so far didn't get any error messages.

    Can any one please tell what bad effects can this possiblly have.
     12/17/2009 12:07 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    SlayerX
    Elite

    Posts: 1818
    Joined: 06/21/2008

    Originally posted by: suniltyagi

    Hey

    I have used AMD Phenom II X4 955 processor to power my PC I used the ASUS Motherboard M4A78-EM/1394.

    Later I found that the motherboard I used is not the recommended motherboard forAMD Phenom II X4 955 processor.

    I am using it for two days now and so far didn't get any error messages.



    Can any one please tell what bad effects can this possiblly have.



    You'll be fine.
    Your board dose support the 955 so I can't see you having any problems

    -------------------------
    PII 1100T (Extinct)
    Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
    4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
    2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
    Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
    NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
     12/18/2009 10:54 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    suniltyagi
    Newbie

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 12/17/2009

    Slayer
    Thanks a lot buddy
     12/29/2009 05:58 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Rindatank
    Newbie

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 12/29/2009

    Thanks u
     12/30/2009 03:04 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    Singinwolf
    Newbie

    Posts: 40
    Joined: 12/04/2009

    Jack,
    Just built the following 2 weeks ago and is running great. Not overclocking at all. I like you try to build a new system every so often and get the biggest bang for the buck.
    My built consists of the following:
    ASRock MB Model M3A785GXH/128M (The MB will use either a 4 or 8 pin CPU power connector from PSU.) www.asrock.com/mb /overview.asp?Model=M3A785GXH/128M
    PhenonII 955BE@3.2Ghz (Have had it as high as 3.5GHZ with not issues)
    Zalman 9900led CPU Cooler (Though the new coolers that are being shipped with the 955BE are a combo of Copper and Aluminium)
    4 GB Patriot Viper PC 1600 Memory
    WD 750GB & 2TB HDS
    Antec Basiq 550 PSU
    Using onboard GPU and Sound.
    Windows 7 Ultimate OS.
    The only thing I think I would change for the 30.00 difference would be the CPU. I would go with a Phenom II 965BE
    The build booted out of the box but the bios needed to be flashed. Came with ver. 1.10, latest 1.70.
    Everything was purchased through Newegg.
    Hope this helps you out.

    S
     12/30/2009 05:19 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    didadi
    Lurker

    Posts: 17
    Joined: 12/03/2009

    My rig is: 965BE (140W)+ GA-785GMT-UD2H from Gigabyte, its uATX board. Coupled with 4G OCZ RAM DDR3, 1TB Hitachi HDD
    this is my HTPC (+ some multipurpose PC). I run 64bit Ubuntu on it,and has been phenomenal. No OC'ing here. Get the 790XX boards
    if you can since that is next gen already ;-)
     04/25/2010 04:21 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    gpsalvo@sbcglobal.net
    Newbie

    Posts: 3
    Joined: 03/06/2010

    My Phenom II 965 is running at 3714 with no voltage changes and stock cooling. The Stability testing sfw in AMD OD takes the temp to 61 degrees C. It idles at 42 degrees. What is a good Max Core Temp for this CPU?
     04/25/2010 04:42 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    slaveondope
    Case Modder

    Posts: 1592
    Joined: 01/25/2010

    Originally posted by: gpsalvo@sbcglobal.net

    My Phenom II 965 is running at 3714 with no voltage changes and stock cooling. The Stability testing sfw in AMD OD takes the temp to 61 degrees C. It idles at 42 degrees. What is a good Max Core Temp for this CPU?


    The maxed temp at stock speeds is 62c.
    As you increase the clock speed the cpu will show instablility at even lower temps than 62c.
    Typically 4ghz becomes unstable over 50c

    -------------------------
    More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
     04/26/2010 02:05 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    SlayerX
    Elite

    Posts: 1818
    Joined: 06/21/2008

    The cooler you can get it the higher you can OC it

    -------------------------
    PII 1100T (Extinct)
    Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
    4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
    2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
    Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
    NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
     04/26/2010 02:09 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    PC-GURU -
    Lurker

    Posts: 8018
    Joined: 11/11/2008

    Originally posted by: slaveondope

    Originally posted by: gpsalvo@sbcglobal.net



    My Phenom II 965 is running at 3714 with no voltage changes and stock cooling. The Stability testing sfw in AMD OD takes the temp to 61 degrees C. It idles at 42 degrees. What is a good Max Core Temp for this CPU?




    The maxed temp at stock speeds is 62c.

    As you increase the clock speed the cpu will show instablility at even lower temps than 62c.

    Typically 4ghz becomes unstable over 50c


    yep, my experience is 47 c max load or lower is ideal for 4 Ghz + stability.

    -------------------------
    AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
    Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
    4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
    2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
    2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
    Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
     04/26/2010 10:57 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    gpsalvo@sbcglobal.net
    Newbie

    Posts: 3
    Joined: 03/06/2010

    I just ordered a Corsair H-50 so I can approach 4GHz. So far, no problems at 3.714, 62 degrees C with stock cooling and voltages. The AMD Stability test runs for hours.

    Giga-Bit GA-MA790GPT UD3H MoBo AM3
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600 running 8 8 8 24
    550W Corsair Power
    125W Phenom II 965 @ 3.714
    ENERMAX Chakra ECA3052-B with 3 fans(220mm,120mm,120mm)

    CPU voltage is showing 1.400. Will I need to go to 1.45 when I go to 4GHz? I will be back to report temps with the H-50.
    Statistics
    112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
    There are currently 0 users logged in.

    FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



    Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information