AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD Forums Over Clocking Technical Support
Topic Summary: Ask all your over clocking questions here
Created On: 11/09/2009 08:45 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2009 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

AB-SO-FRECKING-LUTELY!!!!




-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
B-Shot
Case Modder

Posts: 1212
Joined: 05/18/2009

I guess I'll ask the first question, how do you overclock?
 11/09/2009 07:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280

HOLY CRAP!!!!! The Egg did me the same solid!!! I got me a 125W PII 965BE on the way to me right now!!!!!! They are issuing me an RMA Refund on my PII 955BE, I pay ??% restocking fee ($28) and they are refunding me the rest of it. Purchased the new CPU out-right!!!!!



I don't care what anyone says about the Egg going public....they are GRADE-A in my book now!!!!!!



Back-flips anyone!?!?!?!?!? I would do it myself, but I'm getting too old for that crap and since the wife is on bed rest with twins on the way, I can't afford breaking my neck!!! LOL



Sorry to join the conversation at half-time but what are you guys talking about... is there something i need to know about the 955 and the 965 in regards to newegg

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: B-Shot

I guess I'll ask the first question, how do you overclock?


lol B-Shot, I guess we got a little off topic.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/09/2009 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

hey NemesisChild, what and why is newegg doing for you...

isnt the 965 just a OC'ed 955

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Oops....sorry guys! But you would be the exact same way if you lucked out like NemesisChild and I did today!!!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: jcocanour

hey NemesisChild, what and why is newegg doing for you...



isnt the 965 just a OC'ed 955


The need for speed!
BuckShot and I bought a 955 from the Egg within their 30 day exchange period.
Their policy is exchange only (for the same item), no refunds on CPU's.
We convinced them to exchange our 955's for a 965, since it is of higher value.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/09/2009 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Originally posted by: NemesisChild

Originally posted by: jcocanour



hey NemesisChild, what and why is newegg doing for you...







isnt the 965 just a OC'ed 955




The need for speed!

BuckShot and I bought a 955 from the Egg within their 30 day exchange period.

Their policy is exchange only (for the same item), no refunds on CPU's.

We convinced them to exchange our 955's for a 965, since it is of higher value.


1.And you did this because of the price drop beacuse of the new 965 8m cache
thats out

2. isnt the 965 just an oc'ed 955

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Yeah JC....the 965 BE is a 3.4GHz Proc, and is sold as a separate product. Techinically speaking it they both are cut from the same die, so you are right in a matter of speaking.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280

Yeah JC....the 965 BE is a 3.4GHz Proc, and is sold as a separate product. Techinically speaking it they both are cut from the same die, so you are right in a matter of speaking.


so if its the same why did you echange and pay more instead of just oc'ing.. you guys arent running at 3.4 anyway..

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

We both got the 955BE because it was the max speed at the 125W level. Neither of us wanted to get the previous 965BE because it was 140W, which means more heat. Neither of us knew when we got our 955BE that the 965BE 125W was so close to release otherwise we most likely would have held out for those 30-days.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: jcocanour

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280



Yeah JC....the 965 BE is a 3.4GHz Proc, and is sold as a separate product. Techinically speaking it they both are cut from the same die, so you are right in a matter of speaking.




so if its the same why did you echange and pay more instead of just oc'ing.. you guys arent running at 3.4 anyway..


Correct....BUT....the entire Phenom II line up is cut from the same die. They test each chip to see if it has any bad cores....if it does then they either turn it into a x2 or an x3.....of the ones that remian, well, these become the x4's. They then test these procs for perfection, speed and temp ratings....at this time the best of the best become the TWKR procs, which are not for sale....yet (this proc has been seen on Ebay and sold for $1,200)...From the best on down they turn them into 965BE....on down to the lowest clocked x4's.

The 965BE, hopefully *knocks-on-wood*, will be able to OC higher than a 955BE and still maintain the same temp ratings.

I run my 955BE at 3.87GHz....with the 965BE I am hoping to get as close to 4GHz as possible, stable, without the extra heat the the 955BE would dissapate at the same clock.

Think of it like they were diamonds...cut, clarity, brilliance...etc... determines the quality of the product and the consumer demand for better.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280

We both got the 955BE because it was the max speed at the 125W level. Neither of us wanted to get the previous 965BE because it was 140W, which means more heat. Neither of us knew when we got our 955BE that the 965BE 125W was so close to release otherwise we most likely would have held out for those 30-days.


I must appolagize.. I looked on newegg and saw the first 965 that they have listed which is the 140w and didnt botheer to look down and see that they have a 125w....

But still, is this just a 955 that they have set at a higher clock or is it actually a better cpu

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Originally posted by: jcocanour

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280



We both got the 955BE because it was the max speed at the 125W level. Neither of us wanted to get the previous 965BE because it was 140W, which means more heat. Neither of us knew when we got our 955BE that the 965BE 125W was so close to release otherwise we most likely would have held out for those 30-days.




I must appolagize.. I looked on newegg and saw the first 965 that they have listed which is the 140w and didnt botheer to look down and see that they have a 125w....



But still, is this just a 955 that they have set at a higher clock or is it actually a better cpu



Disregard... just read you last reply... so should i call them and do the same... sounds like i should.. right

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: jcocanour

I must appolagize.. I looked on newegg and saw the first 965 that they have listed which is the 140w and didnt botheer to look down and see that they have a 125w....



But still, is this just a 955 that they have set at a higher clock or is it actually a better cpu


Read above your last post...I elaborate further.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: jcocanour

Disregard... just read you last reply... so should i call them and do the same... sounds like i should.. right


LOL...you can definately try it...there are no promises though....BUT...the worst they can say is no and you haven't lost anything.

Also, depending on how determined you are, you may want to keep trying if they keep turning you away. Requesting to speak to a manager doesn't hurt either.

Be warned, don't get too hositle with them...you don't want to come off as an irrate individual or they may "flag" your account and you will be forever known as a hot head and treated accordingly. Also, they don't have to do this so don't go off on them if they just won't budge....the return policy is written clearly and you must choose to agree to that policy before they let you buy a proc from them....again the worst thing that can happen is they say no.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

Your right. and i guess there is no reason not to try.. I'm off tomorrw anyway.. thanks for the help and advice..
Oh by the way buck, my brother wants me to build him a new rig over cheistmas break and looking at your rig has inspired me to mo the crap out of the case befor i install everything.. you did a VERY VERY good job on it.. it looks like a custom body shop worked on it! Props buddy

-------------------------


 11/09/2009 08:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: jcocanour
Oh by the way buck, my brother wants me to build him a new rig over cheistmas break and looking at your rig has inspired me to mo the crap out of the case befor i install everything.. you did a VERY VERY good job on it.. it looks like a custom body shop worked on it! Props buddy


LOL...thanks brother....start a new thread on this if you want to chat more about it.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 11/09/2009 08:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JC
Elite

Posts: 1808
Joined: 10/19/2009

oh, ya, right, sorry a little off task.. so um.. b-shot.. i think overclocking is making stuff go faster.. or making them more better... haha. jk

-------------------------


 11/10/2009 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Originally posted by: jcocanour

Originally posted by: BuckShot3280



We both got the 955BE because it was the max speed at the 125W level. Neither of us wanted to get the previous 965BE because it was 140W, which means more heat. Neither of us knew when we got our 955BE that the 965BE 125W was so close to release otherwise we most likely would have held out for those 30-days.




I must appolagize.. I looked on newegg and saw the first 965 that they have listed which is the 140w and didnt botheer to look down and see that they have a 125w....



But still, is this just a 955 that they have set at a higher clock or is it actually a better cpu


The process is called bining . Yes you should return your 955 for the new 965 125w cpu if you fall into the 30 day cpu return policy . I would !!!

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information