AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: xfx 6800 xt
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/03/2010 06:24 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/03/2010 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lidz74
Fanboi

Posts: 63
Joined: 11/01/2009

i have downloaded the latest nvidia drivers and i am looking for information on running the card on maximum specs,can anyone help?? need to overclock and can i run physx??
 03/03/2010 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

no physx with that GPU sorry

Has to be a 8000-9000-200GTX-GT series.
more info here

That GPU was nvidia answer to the OLD X1900XTX from ATI lol.

Going on what 4 years + old now ?

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)

Edited: 03/03/2010 at 06:43 PM by PC-GURU -
 03/03/2010 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lidz74
Fanboi

Posts: 63
Joined: 11/01/2009

it's old lol but trying to get the best out of it untill i have the dollar to upgrade everything from motherboard to ram and beyond...lol currently playing cod4 and return to castle wolfenstein,gpu has no problems with these games..6800xt 512 version..thanks for the advise..respect!!!
 03/04/2010 03:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

no physx with that GPU sorry



Has to be a 8000-9000-200GTX-GT series.

more info here



That GPU was nvidia answer to the OLD X1900XTX from ATI lol.



Going on what 4 years + old now ?


My friend, it's even older than that. It was the answer to the X800 series.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 03/04/2010 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

but trying to get the best out of it
Try with Rivatuner and see how many pixel pipelines and vertex shaders it will allow you to unlock.

link1
link2

There were some XTs that would not unlock, but this may depend on GPU version.

link3

Try also GPU-Z to get info of your card.

-------------------------


Edited: 03/04/2010 at 11:32 AM by go_for
 03/26/2010 03:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lidz74
Fanboi

Posts: 63
Joined: 11/01/2009

i got rivatuner and gpu-z i have no idea how to use them i did go into the graphics card info screen and it has 8 pixel and 4 vertex, not sure how to use the program to overclock.also im on the pixel shader overclock screen and its on my current version of 1.3 can i overclock to version 2.0 and also with the vertex shader its on version 1.1 and want to overclock to version 2.0,do you think it would be safe to use the newer versions? thanks...
 03/26/2010 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

There are several rivatuner guides on the net, try search. GPU-Z should indicate which version your GPU core is, and likely provide some idea, together with the info in other links, what the possibilities are for overclock. Vertex & Pixel shader versions can not be 'unlocked'. But you might be able to unlock some pixel pipelines and vertex shaders. By that you will get better performance out of the card. This combined with a safe overclock of the GPU core and VGA RAM will show improvement in graphic benchmarks and games.

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information