AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Which AM3 processors have "unlocking cores"?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/04/2010 12:11 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/04/2010 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
phaTx64
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2010

Anyone know which AM3 processors allow their cores to be unlocked via the mobo bios? I have an Asus M4N75TD, which has "core unlocker", thing is.. I'm not sure which processors can be unlocked. I've heard: Sempron 140, Athlon-II X2/X3, and Phenom-II X2 for socket AM3, I think there are a few AM2+ that can be unlocked too, but I'm just concerned about the AM3's.

Basically I wanted to know (before I tried it) if this Regor 250 Athlon-II X2 @ 3.0 ghz could have it's core's unlocked?

-------------------------
Asus M4N75TD 750a SLi
Athlon-II X2 250
6144 mb ddr3 1600
Geforce GTX 470 x 2 (SLi)
150g VelociRaptor x 2 (RAID)
Creative X-Fi Extreme Music
Corsair 750 watt (80+) 62A @ 12v
Samsung Sync Master 19" widescreen
Win Vista Home Premium x64 (SP2)
 04/04/2010 12:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Regor 250 x2 Athlon II is a true dual core right from the start. There is nothing to unlock.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/04/2010 10:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
phaTx64
Newbie

Posts: 6
Joined: 04/04/2010

Well, whip me, beat me, call me Edna! That figures..

I will tell ya one thing, this processor overclocks 10x better than my previous 6000+ X2 (AM2) processor. My 6000+ would start locking up @ 3.19 ghz, unless I changed the voltage, and even when I changed the voltage I could not get it past 3.31 ghz (stable that is).

This Regor 250 has equal core clock speeds and is about 15-20% faster, maybe because of the faster hypertransport, but still faster.. and it overclocks like a DREAM! I got it to 3.56 ghz without changing the voltage, 3.68 ghz by bumping the voltage up slightly, and that is STABLE speeds.

Now I'm looking @ the Rana 440 X3 (Athlon-II) @ 3.0 ghz, anyone know if any of the X3/X4 A-II's are unlockable? I read where someone unlocked a 435 X3, but could'nt on the 440 X3.

Is there a "list of AM3 processors" that are unlockable anywhere online? I've tried googling it, but all I get is stuff about the Phenom II's, and I know those are'nt the only ones...

-------------------------
Asus M4N75TD 750a SLi
Athlon-II X2 250
6144 mb ddr3 1600
Geforce GTX 470 x 2 (SLi)
150g VelociRaptor x 2 (RAID)
Creative X-Fi Extreme Music
Corsair 750 watt (80+) 62A @ 12v
Samsung Sync Master 19" widescreen
Win Vista Home Premium x64 (SP2)
 04/04/2010 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

I run my 250 regor in my other PC @ 3.6 Ghz full time.



Decent little over clockers.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/04/2010 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: phaTx64

Well, whip me, beat me, call me Edna! That figures..



I will tell ya one thing, this processor overclocks 10x better than my previous 6000+ X2 (AM2) processor. My 6000+ would start locking up @ 3.19 ghz, unless I changed the voltage, and even when I changed the voltage I could not get it past 3.31 ghz (stable that is).



This Regor 250 has equal core clock speeds and is about 15-20% faster, maybe because of the faster hypertransport, but still faster.. and it overclocks like a DREAM! I got it to 3.56 ghz without changing the voltage, 3.68 ghz by bumping the voltage up slightly, and that is STABLE speeds.



Now I'm looking @ the Rana 440 X3 (Athlon-II) @ 3.0 ghz, anyone know if any of the X3/X4 A-II's are unlockable? I read where someone unlocked a 435 X3, but could'nt on the 440 X3.



Is there a "list of AM3 processors" that are unlockable anywhere online? I've tried googling it, but all I get is stuff about the Phenom II's, and I know those are'nt the only ones...


All phenom II X2 and X3 have the ability to unlock locked cores. BUT locked cores are commonly locked for a reason, like failures.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 04/05/2010 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
@topos
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/05/2010

you could go for 4x0 tripple cores or dual phenoms.
Lastly you could try a cache unlock on 6x0's quad cores.
 04/06/2010 01:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -


... BUT locked cores are commonly locked for a reason, like failures.



Yeap, I know of 3 users here that have fried systems, a few at another forum, and two personal friends. Some are locked for a reason, they don't just lock them for the heck of it

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 05/14/2010 02:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gosseyn
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/14/2010

Sorry, double post.

Edited: 05/14/2010 at 03:00 AM by gosseyn
 05/14/2010 02:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gosseyn
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/14/2010

I was looking at pairing a Phenom II X2 555BE with a Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT-UD2H motherboard. The 3rd BIOS rev added "CPU Core Control option", so I should be able to unlock my other 2 cores w/o problems. It supports DDR3 up to 1800 (OC), four slots, and even has a floppy controller, even though it's a mATX. It also has dual BIOS chips.

Any thoughts on this set-up? I'm on a fixed income tight budget, and am trying to get the best bang for my buck.
 05/14/2010 03:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Why don't you just get a quad core cpu insted of trying to unlock those other core's. I mean thay're locked for a reason. AMD did't lock them just for laughs

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 05/15/2010 12:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gosseyn
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/14/2010

"I'm on a fixed income and an EXTREMELY tight budget". SAVING $15-20 ON A COMPONENT IS A BIG DEAL IN MY SITUATION, MUCH LES $50-60. NOW DO YOU UNDERSTAND? The reason I'm looking at MBs w/integrated GFX is to save the cost of a GFX card. I'm looking at a MB w/DDR3 because at this point 4GB (2GBx2) of DDR2 is about as much as DDR3, plus this MB has the 128MB DDR3 sideport mem to help the GFX drain on system RAM.

And, an unlocked Phenom II x 2 555 has more cache than an Athlon II x 4 630, and an unlocked multiplier. Which do YOU think is more bang for the buck. Most of the BIOS unlocking routines have adjustable ranges to account for individual differences in core timing and voltage.

Ive read many customer reviews which said their 555 BE unlocked automatically with ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS. I've NEVER seen a review that said a 555 BE FAILED TO UNLOCK!

I may be able to get all my hardware (I have HDDs already) together for about $240-260 (less if I cn find a killer RAM deal), and NewEgg has a 5-day special on system bldrs OEM Win7 HP 64 for $89.99+Free Shipping.

Edited: 05/15/2010 at 12:34 AM by gosseyn
 05/15/2010 06:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

You might get lucky and then again you might not. There IS a reason why those cores are locked no matter what you seem to think. It's possible that they will work without overclocking the cpu but that they can't handle any OC at all, or one of those cores might be so bad that unlocking might cause fatal errors continously.

Point Slayer is trying to make is that you can't know for sure, it doesn't matter how many reviews you read, it doesn't matter how many other of those cpu's unlock and work well. You might be one of the unfortunate ones that gets one that won't.

Trust me on this one, AMD won't take a fully working quad core and lock two cores just to sell it cheaper as a dual core. Those two cores aren't up to spec, that's why they are locked and there is no way to know in what way until you unlock them.

So, if you want to take the chance than do so but there's no reason to get angry at those in the forum that tries to help.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 05/15/2010 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

I doubt the main reason AMD locks cores has anything to do with cores actually being defective, AMD is fab constrained, with a single flexible design they were able to produce three lines of CPUs. Quad core sales are around a 10th of X2/X3 sales, and there is just no way their fab yields could be so bad that more then 50% of all X2/X3s sold are from bad X4s. Cores can be disabled for many reasons, they may disable one core just to hit a certain MHz/TDP target.


Go to the more popular forums and you'll see unlocking cores has a no-issue success rate of at least 50% (outside of overclocking), its a 50-50 chance you'll get one that unlocks and runs stable. If you really want a Quad core then just buy a Quad core!


I've been running an unlocked 550 C2 for over 8 months and its been perfectly stable without having to tweak anything, I didn't buy the CPU in hopes of unlocking it, sometimes you just get lucky, like when AMD was putting 650MHz cores in their Slot-A 500MHz cartridges, or when they sold the factory multiplier unlocked T-birds, I got lucky on both of those buys too.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 05/15/2010 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: Edgemeal

I doubt the main reason AMD locks cores has anything to do with cores actually being defective, AMD is fab constrained, with a single flexible design they were able to produce three lines of CPUs. Quad core sales are around a 10th of X2/X3 sales, and there is just no way their fab yields could be so bad that more then 50% of all X2/X3s sold are from bad X4s. Cores can be disabled for many reasons, they may disable one core just to hit a certain MHz/TDP target.





Go to the more popular forums and you'll see unlocking cores has a no-issue success rate of at least 50% (outside of overclocking), its a 50-50 chance you'll get one that unlocks and runs stable. If you really want a Quad core then just buy a Quad core!





I've been running an unlocked 550 C2 for over 8 months and its been perfectly stable without having to tweak anything, I didn't buy the CPU in hopes of unlocking it, sometimes you just get lucky, like when AMD was putting 650MHz cores in their Slot-A 500MHz cartridges, or when they sold the factory multiplier unlocked T-birds, I got lucky on both of those buys too. [IMG][/IMG]


Take it your not familiar with the practice of binning ?

Not saying ALL 2 core and 3 core are going to have defective cores. But some of them most certainty will.

Only stands to reason the duds must be sold to. They do not have a 100% efficiency with these things ya know. There will always be a fair share of bad apples.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/16/2010 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: gosseyn

"I'm on a fixed income and an EXTREMELY tight budget". SAVING $15-20 ON A COMPONENT IS A BIG DEAL IN MY SITUATION, MUCH LES $50-60. NOW DO YOU UNDERSTAND? The reason I'm looking at MBs w/integrated GFX is to save the cost of a GFX card. I'm looking at a MB w/DDR3 because at this point 4GB (2GBx2) of DDR2 is about as much as DDR3, plus this MB has the 128MB DDR3 sideport mem to help the GFX drain on system RAM.



And, an unlocked Phenom II x 2 555 has more cache than an Athlon II x 4 630, and an unlocked multiplier. Which do YOU think is more bang for the buck. Most of the BIOS unlocking routines have adjustable ranges to account for individual differences in core timing and voltage.



Ive read many customer reviews which said their 555 BE unlocked automatically with ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS. I've NEVER seen a review that said a 555 BE FAILED TO UNLOCK!



I may be able to get all my hardware (I have HDDs already) together for about $240-260 (less if I cn find a killer RAM deal), and NewEgg has a 5-day special on system bldrs OEM Win7 HP 64 for $89.99+Free Shipping.





Budy if your on a EXTREMLY tight bugdet why would you want to take a chance on frieing your system. Ya, you might get lucky and get a good chip but what if you don't? So if you want to roll the dice than be my guest.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 05/17/2010 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dh_orac
Newbie

Posts: 9
Joined: 03/27/2010

I have a finalised list of things that i`m going to replace most of my existing system with , and the new cpu was gonna be an X2 555. Unlocking the cores was a plus , but I want to OC it too , maybe just a tad to a round figure of say 3.5 at first or maybe 4.0. I`m a gamer , so dual core would prob be enough for me , but I still want it to run it stable if I decide to unlock the cores AND OC. Stability is my top priority. I haven`t ordered anything yet cos i`m having a prob with where to get things delivered to so it can be signed for , but you guys are making me realise a few things here and i`m tempted to just fork out a bit of extra cash and go for maybe an x4 955. It`s £40 more for me but at least i`d know it would be stable.

Dave

Edited: 05/17/2010 at 04:13 PM by dh_orac
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information