AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: REALLY NEED HELP!!! HOT, HOT!!!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/21/2010 10:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/21/2010 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

Hi guys Im new here, and i need HELP!!! So, my problem is that i have a high temparatures (about from 79-85 °C in desktop and about 85-115°C in game or alot of programs that are active) And i really, really want to know how to get this temperature down, or is it normal on HD4850? I just play a game and BOOM, computer stops and goes off and i need to turn him on again. And how to stop this because its really annoying and i want to play games how i used to, for hours and hours. So how? HOW? My specs: Intel Core Duo E7300 2.66GHz (it doesnt have a big temparatures, only when i play games for almost whole day), 2GB Ram, Ati Radeon HD4850 HyperMemory 1GB VRam, Vista Home Premium. Tested it on games (happended first time on rFactor), GTA IV-EFLC, NFS Shift, Just Cause 2...
P.S.: i even cleaned my PC and still no results...
 04/21/2010 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MoToMaTiC
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/21/2010

How big is your case? How many fans, how big the fans? Reason: I've got a Gigabyte Aurora full tower, DFI Lanparty, AMD Opteron 185 dual core (running at 3019mhz). Lots of room and cool, with a lesser graphics card. I upgraded the lesser card with a BFI OC'd 9800 gt and bAM! it got hot quick. I added two fans to the side of my case, aiming to cool the northbridge and BFI card. It worked well. But My case is supposed to be ready for all the goodies and is BIG. So what you'll prolly need is a bigger case and better airflow through the case, northbridge gets hot on all PC's so there's a hot spot right next to the graphics card...see how this is going?
 04/21/2010 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MoToMaTiC
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/21/2010

Oh yes. you'll wanna run Vista in barebone mode for gaming, it's a resource hog. Make a profile that doesn't have any of that CRAP you don't need to play, log in under that profile and then bugger off all those services and hardware you won't need during playtime. Save the profile (restart) and play on.
 04/21/2010 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

well, my case is pretty big and the airflow is good and i have 3 fans (im not counting the PSU fan) the fans are medium sized and my PC is COMFOR Boxer II which is pretty good case (it looks cool) and i didnt have this problem (it started about at 2.4.2010 and im not sure what it started because i was normally playing rFactor and bam!, Pc turned off and when i turned it on it flashed BSOD and than it told me to fix computer or normally turn it on (without repairing
 04/21/2010 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

is the 4850 new?-did you just put it in?
is it a single or dual slot cooler on it?
what percent % do you have the fan set to?
what power supply do you have?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 04/21/2010 11:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

its year and half (almost) old and its a single cooler, i have set fans to 100% but no success, my PS is... (i dont know but how can i know what PS i have without opening PC? I use everest ultimate edition and im looking everywhere and still nothing...
 04/21/2010 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

cmon people help me! i need som answers i really need them! I just want to know how to get the temperature down so i can play games again, how i used to!
 04/21/2010 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Your card is 1 1/2 years old you say . I would take the card out and blow it out . There may be good amount of dust build up and needs a good cleaning . Buy the way for 1 1/2 years the card ran at decent temps ? If so what have you done recently different . Have you installed a new graphics driver ? If you did roll back to your last gpu driver . Give your card a good cleaning and while your at it blow out the rest of the inside of your case .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 04/21/2010 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

dude, i have a problem, I dont know where the card is I know it sounds stupid but i dont know why but on some pictures it black case and my GC doesnt have one or does it? It was going for hours of gameplay at GTA IV normally and at first april, i was playing a game and this happended, that PC turned off normally without warning. I was playing rFactor and i dont change drivers (only on graphic) about 2 months and then i install one. But can you tell me where can i find older ones?
 04/21/2010 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Go here to link I posted for your drivers . Once you go to the link and choose your operating system , Radeon and your card type then scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will see #5 Previous drivers , click on that and you see all the previous gpu drivers for your card .click here for gpu drivers then follow my directions to guide you to all the previous gpu drivers

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )


Edited: 04/21/2010 at 03:53 PM by pcnazz
 04/21/2010 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

sounds like you are overheating the card, or your power supply is dying.
look at the power supply and tell me the brand and watts.

you said you dont know where your card is?-it should be hooked to the monitor at the back of your case.

what does this mean-
-but on some pictures it black case and my GC doesnt have one or does it?


i think we have to start from the begining.

so you put the 4850 in your computer about 1 1/2 years ago and everything was running fine-correct? (did you check the temps when you first installed the card so we can compare the temps?)
on april first you were playing a game and the computer shut down?-did it crash-as in all the way to reboot or did the game stop running? did you get a blue screen?

does it only crash on 1 game or all of the games?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 04/21/2010 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

ok, huuuuuuuuuuh look I buyed this PC with the graphic card and sry i didnt check the temps when i have it almost brand new but only now...sorry Yeah it normally shut down, it didnt crash or something and it didnt reboot and yeah for like half second and it happended, I only got the blue screen first times but when i cleaned the PC, the PC stopped having flashing BS, and it crashes in everygame i play, but only not in ePSXe (ps1 emulator where i play RE1,2 and GT2) and Dolphin (Wii and GC emulator where i play Sonic Adventure 2: Battle) and thats all.

what does this mean-
-but on some pictures it black case and my GC doesnt have one or does it?

I meaned that i looked how my Graphic card looks and i saw a HD4850 with a black case (or what is it well whatever) and when i opened the PC when i cleaned him i looked everywhere on the PC and it didnt look like it like on the picture... so thats all, please reply really soon...
 04/21/2010 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

You've been asked what the power supply is. You have been told that the power supply could be dying.

Why don't you open the case and get some information on it.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 04/22/2010 07:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

ok, ok......sheesh. Well i dont know but when i go to CCC i stare at the tepms whole minute and at first its about 30 and then its 50,60,70 and 80...i dont get it why its getting so hot when i only turned on the PC for like 2 minutes and its already hot...
 04/22/2010 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Calm down and take a deep breath . Ok now , you have not reported back to us on anything that we have ask you to do . Also please put up a signature like you see everyone does listing all your computer components . Go back and read everything in this thread and report back with your finding based on everything that has been asked of you . Thank you AliRemix10 .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 04/22/2010 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

sorry...but i had a rough day so im really mad so sorry...and i dont know how to make signatures...and how can i know what stuff i have in PC, how? Everest? oh please...
 04/22/2010 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

when your power supply starts going bad it doesnt give enough power to the card, so the PSU struggles with more stain you put on it.
so just doing normal stuff-surfing the net data entry,etc...there isnt a problem.
but once you start gaming it put a lot of stress on the video card,wich uses more pwer that it cant get so it heats up and shuts down.
this might effect the fan speed also, not enough power to run the card and fan correctly.

so if you can open your case and give us the info on the PSU (look for the 12+ and see how many amps it is putting out) also the watss and manufactur



i bet it is the PSU


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 04/22/2010 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

so i looked in my Pc wrote it on my paper with cheats of EFLC and here it is: http://www.fsp-group.com.tw/en...id=1&fid=123&proid=659 maybe i didnt had to post but still what gives, eh? Oh, well
 04/22/2010 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

i dont know what model number, but it looks like there is enough 12 volts to power your card, depending on what else you have running, but that doesnt mean the PSU is going out, it has happend to me with a name brand one.

i still think it is your PSU-is there another one you can use to test it?
can you put this one in another system?

you can use everest for system specs-at the top-TOOLS/EVEREST CPUID, or better yet download this for your system specs-CPUZ
also on the same site HW MONITOR, for temps
the downloads are in the top left hand corner under the big CPUID.
you install the correct one for your OS.
download,install and run.

have uninstalled your video card drivers and reinstalled them?
if not try that.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 04/22/2010 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AliRemix10
Newbie

Posts: 49
Joined: 04/21/2010

well i installed a new drivers for gc so yeah i did it and sorry i dont have any other PSU only on my old PC but it goes horribly so i dont want to damage the PC more and i have a Everest Ultimate Edition so i dont need another one. oh and model number
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information