AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: -
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/31/2010 02:07 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/31/2010 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

-

Edited: 07/09/2010 at 01:47 PM by ed6698
 05/31/2010 03:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

-

Edited: 07/09/2010 at 01:47 PM by ed6698
 05/31/2010 03:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

It's getting cheaper now. Except for those darn compression fittings....expensive little suckers. I know what you mean...I always pay attention to detail as well, but you already know why I do it.

Goodnight everyone, sleep well....I'm going to go rack out.

-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 03:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ed6698
Overclocker

Posts: 927
Joined: 07/20/2005

-

Edited: 07/09/2010 at 01:48 PM by ed6698
 05/31/2010 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Well updated to version 8 of the combustor and it helped some.

But based on tests, it still don't use GPU 2 worth a dime.



-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

Well thats an awesome score for just one gpu. Perhaps you meant that it isnt scaling as it's supposed to? What is your gpu usage on gpu 2 when the program is running?

-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Well, this is disappointing/odd.

With my cpu at 3600 I get this.



Afterburner is running. The silly thing starts up when Kombuster starts even though I've stopped it and set fan control to manual in CCC. Still this is an extra low result. The taskbar is showing onscreen until I click on the kombuster screen. But, that didn't change the fps much.. 2-3 fps.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 05/31/2010 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: cq842000

Well thats an awesome score for just one gpu. Perhaps you meant that it isnt scaling as it's supposed to? What is your gpu usage on gpu 2 when the program is running?


Ya that is what I meant GPU 2 is only getting 22% usage.

Lopsided , odd . Most games use them quite even.

If I had even usage , I would have seen something like his 5970 HD results.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: Hardwood

Well, this is disappointing/odd.



With my cpu at 3600 I get this.







Afterburner is running. The silly thing starts up when Kombuster starts even though I've stopped it and set fan control to manual in CCC. Still this is an extra low result. The taskbar is showing onscreen until I click on the kombuster screen. But, that didn't change the fps much.. 2-3 fps.


boy something was way off base there lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Originally posted by: Hardwood



Well, this is disappointing/odd.







With my cpu at 3600 I get this.















Afterburner is running. The silly thing starts up when Kombuster starts even though I've stopped it and set fan control to manual in CCC. Still this is an extra low result. The taskbar is showing onscreen until I click on the kombuster screen. But, that didn't change the fps much.. 2-3 fps.




boy something was way off base there lol.



Yeah that isnt a typical result. I can only offer suggestions....Does CCC 10.5 not work for you? Make sure that any monitoring programs are paused or closed, ensure that catalyst AI is set to advanced, and that MSAA is set to application controlled via ccc, and make sure if you have anti-virus software, that it's paused or closed. Other than that, if you scroll up, I provided a link to the Afterburner 1.6 beta, which includes Kombustor 1.0.7.

-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

Originally posted by: cq842000



Well thats an awesome score for just one gpu. Perhaps you meant that it isnt scaling as it's supposed to? What is your gpu usage on gpu 2 when the program is running?




Ya that is what I meant GPU 2 is only getting 22% usage.



Lopsided , odd . Most games use them quite even.



If I had even usage , I would have seen something like his 5970 HD results.


Yeah, your score would probably surpass mine, especially with the fact that your cards can clock slightly higher than mine, and they arent limited by two GPUs using one PCIe slot. Case in point, is the Heaven benchmark. I actually score around 100 points less than you score.

-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Test looks to need work yet lol

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Disable Aero when you run the bench, it should help with score.
I'll run the bench later today, will be curious to see how my 285 stacks up to ed's new 480.
Would also like to see the scores compared to the 470.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 05/31/2010 05:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

This is with Aero disabled...



-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Not much difference, but FYI I use fusion. Not only was areo off so was everything else lol.

I am telling ya, that test likes your i7 a LOT lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

Hahaha, that must be it eh?

-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

ya man, test said hey look a i7 lets add 200 FPS to make it more FAIR in Intel eyes lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

Hahahaha, sounds kind of like PhysX and Vantage scores.....

-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation
 05/31/2010 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

physx and vantage I get thou.

CPU test #2 runs via PPU and not CPU

Your single 5970 HD should be what 1% to 3% behind dual 5870 HD but your spanking my azz by near 200 FPS ? lol

Only real huge difference is i7 vs phenom II.

i7 is made to be 80x faster then the 1090T lol

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 05/31/2010 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cq842000
Deprecated

Posts: 395
Joined: 05/24/2010

Sounds to me like less of the cpu being at fault and more a driver issue. Who here has dual-5970s or even a single 5970 and an AMD cpu? If it is my cpu, then I'm sure having my ram at 2ghz(7-9-7-24...1T) has to be helping in some way. Not sure why, but I can only pull stable at 1315mhz on the memory if I dont adjust the voltage....hmmm.

I think I'll adjust the cpu frequency and see if it has anything to do with it. The score went up, but not substantially, as I also upped the frequency of the memory on the gpu, as well as the Ram to 2055mhz, same timings though.



-------------------------
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 | Sapphire Radeon HD6990 + GTX460(PPU)| Antec TPQ 1200 + Antec TPQ 1000
1200mhz/1500mhz GPU-Z Validation

Edited: 05/31/2010 at 07:06 PM by cq842000
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information