AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: X6 1055T information.
Topic Summary: Not sure if this is a problem.
Created On: 07/17/2010 07:49 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/17/2010 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P . P . L .
B1FF

Posts: 138
Joined: 07/17/2010

Hi.

This is my first AMD rig, as you can see from my sig i run Boinc projects. What i have done is disable

C1e & C&Q to make all six cores run at 2.8 all the time. I'm running Ubuntu 10.04lts x64, i'm not O.C.ing

at least i didn't think so but to my surprise when i do cat /proc/cpuinfo it says it is running at 3.314mhz

on all 6 cores, i didn't think it was possible.

Yet when i look in the BIOS it shows 2.800mhz why the difference will that cause problems for the cpu

the temps are showing ~30c 100% load all cores with room temp of 17c so it's not hot at that speed.

Any insight would be good.

-------------------------



Edited: 07/17/2010 at 09:53 PM by P . P . L .
 07/17/2010 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Speedwayaudio
Overclocker

Posts: 919
Joined: 02/13/2009

I think that is the turbo boost thing in the 6 core cpu's Guru can tell you more about it than I can

-------------------------
FX 8150 X 8 4.5MHz
Asus Crosshair V
ATI Radeon HD 6950 X2
8 gb Corsair Dominator GT 9-9-9-24@ 1866mhz DDR3
Seagate 7200.10 HDD LG BluRay HD DVD
w/LightScrib
Crucial M4 128 SSD
55"Vizio LCD
Corsair HX 1000 psu
NZXT Phantom Black
Corsair H80 push/pull
Razer Death Adder VooDoo edition mouse and Keyboard.
 07/18/2010 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P . P . L .
B1FF

Posts: 138
Joined: 07/17/2010

Originally posted by: Speedwayaudio

I think that is the turbo boost thing in the 6 core cpu's Guru can tell you more about it than I can


Hi Speedwayaudio.

Yes i know about Turbo, but this is odd.

Sorry for the size of this, but i just wanted to show what is happening here all

6 cores running projects 100%.

From terminal as you can see all cores the same speed! NO O.C. on my part.


processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 10
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 3314.378
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 6
core id : 0
cpu cores : 6
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 6
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 5624.39
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9]

processor : 1
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 10
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 3314.378
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 6
core id : 1
cpu cores : 6
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 6
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 5624.94
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9]

processor : 2
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 10
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 3314.378
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 6
core id : 5
cpu cores : 6
apicid : 2
initial apicid : 5
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 6
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 5624.94
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9]

processor : 3
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 10
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 3314.378
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 6
core id : 3
cpu cores : 6
apicid : 3
initial apicid : 3
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 6
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 5624.94
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9]

processor : 4
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 10
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 3314.378
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 6
core id : 2
cpu cores : 6
apicid : 4
initial apicid : 2
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 6
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 5624.94
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9]

processor : 5
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 16
model : 10
model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor
stepping : 0
cpu MHz : 3314.378
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 6
core id : 4
cpu cores : 6
apicid : 5
initial apicid : 4
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 6
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
bogomips : 5624.95
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate [9]

-------------------------

 07/21/2010 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P . P . L .
B1FF

Posts: 138
Joined: 07/17/2010

I guess what i'm seeing is not unusual then.

The performance of the black without the cost or doing anything special.

I'm happy.

-------------------------

 07/21/2010 03:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

boost works on 3 cores at default and can be set as high as 5 cores via bios or AMD OD.

What you are seeing is a delay in sensor info and raw clock speeds being given.

Use AMD OD to monitor each core speed and it will paint a new picture fast.

P.S. In AMD OD you can clock up your boost and select it to something like 4 cores for a 100% safe and free boost.

I my self , for every day use. Run 3.6 Ghz base clock but 4.23 Ghz 4 cores boost clock.

So to answer your question, is it normal ? I would have to say 100% normal yes. Like I said AMD OD has a much faster read time for sensor info. You can also tweak out the sensor read time for core temp to read all 6 cores quickly on the fly to.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 07/22/2010 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
P . P . L .
B1FF

Posts: 138
Joined: 07/17/2010

Originally posted by: PC-GURU -

boost works on 3 cores at default and can be set as high as 5 cores via bios or AMD OD.



What you are seeing is a delay in sensor info and raw clock speeds being given.



Use AMD OD to monitor each core speed and it will paint a new picture fast.



P.S. In AMD OD you can clock up your boost and select it to something like 4 cores for a 100% safe and free boost.



I my self , for every day use. Run 3.6 Ghz base clock but 4.23 Ghz 4 cores boost clock.



So to answer your question, is it normal ? I would have to say 100% normal yes. Like I said AMD OD has a much faster read time for sensor info. You can also tweak out the sensor read time for core temp to read all 6 cores quickly on the fly to.


Hi.

There is no AMD OD for Linux is there? if there was i'm sure many would use it.

-------------------------

Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information