AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: X6 1055T & 880GTS maybe bottlenecked?
Topic Summary: new 1055T CPU isn't kickin it like I thought it would
Created On: 10/08/2010 10:45 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/08/2010 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

Hello. I'm new to this forum and have appreciated all the info that I have been able to find on this site.

I just upgraded from a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ to the new X6 1055T. I have used 2 different graphics cards with both systems to try and see which is best when modelling in 3D. The Quadro FX 580 was my new purchase hoping to improve the performance over my GeForce 8800GTS. Didn't happen. I keep putting the 8800GTS back in.

I have run the 3Dmark Vantage on both setups and with both graphics cards to try and see how it performs.

I was dissapointed to see that the upgraded hexa-core setup performed just slightly better than the dual-core. See the attachments. Of course the CPU score was higher (didn't seem by much) but the graphics card was a bit lower. The dual-core had 4GB and the hexa-core has 16GB.

After shelling out some cash for the upgrade, I'm not sure that the 3D part really is showing worthy. Is it that I don't have settings right? Could I be bottlenecking with new processor and old card? Anyone have some ideas?

Thanks.






-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/08/2010 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

You upgrade your gpu if you want better 3d peformance
As you can see your old cpu wasnt holding back your gpu performance.
The 8800gts is getting on pretty old by todays standards and in another year will likely be the minimal gpu you can use in most games.
If you have any funds for a gpu look into one. A GTX460/ATI 5830 for ~$200 would net you twice the gpu performance.
ATI 5850/GTX470 would give you 3 times and a ATI 5870/480 4 times.

Also a variation in gpu score of 26 points is nothing of concern.
That can be due to a background service that ran while you ran the bench or just a difference in drivers.
You could run it again and likely get a better score but 26 points is nothing you would notice in a game.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel

Edited: 10/08/2010 at 11:29 PM by slaveondope
 10/08/2010 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

Thanks for the input slaveondope.

I definitely am looking into getting a new GPU. However, I am not impressed with the X6 1055T not scoring much higher in the 3Dmark Vantage test. Is it because the test is testing for 3D performance only? The performance tests for the 1055T looked good during my research prior to buying the new CPU.

Can anyone give me some advice on improving the performance?

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/08/2010 11:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

By the way, I mosty do 2D drafting and 3D modelling along with Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop, Illustrator, & InDesign). I'm don't play games on my computer. What would be a good video card around the $150 range?

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/09/2010 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Its a 3D test more so than a CPU test you have to keep that in mind.
I weighs heavily on you GPU performance.
The 1055t is a far better CPU than your previous. Higher clocks, better efficiency, and more cores to handle large amounts of multitasking/highly multi threaded applications.
You could have bought a $1000 Intel 980x and your 3D performance still would not have improved.

Outside of overclocking your 8800 best thing to do as I mentioned earlier is look into a new GPU.
What power supply to you have and budget?

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 10/09/2010 12:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Choose your poison!!



QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 10/09/2010 12:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Originally posted by: jimiz

By the way, I mosty do 2D drafting and 3D modelling along with Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop, Illustrator, & InDesign). I'm don't play games on my computer. What would be a good video card around the $150 range?


Do those Apps utilize your Nvidia cards?

EDIT:
If you don't game then you shouldnt be concerned with a 3D bench of that sorts.
However some 3D programming do use Nvidia's CUDA? I believe in rendering, I could be wrong.
It sounds more like you should have no need in upgrading you GPU.

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 10/09/2010 12:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

Well I did some research on the GTX 460 and looked it up on the benchmark chart. With the GTX 465 scoring just a hair higher and the 1GB version on sale and was less than the 1GB 460, I just ordered the GTX 465. With my fast system and the money I just invested, I don't want to waste it with an old GPU and I dug deeper than the $150 and got the 465 for $200 shipped.

I have an Ultra Xconnect 500W PSU. This should be sufficient, wouldn't you think?

I really appreciate the input. I was tinkering back and forth about my GPU's. I was really dissappointed in the Quadro FX580. I know it is a low-end workstation card but when my almost out-dated 8800GTS card leaves it in the dust, I'm not sure the extra cash for the Quadros is justified.

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/09/2010 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I don't think that PSU will cut it... It doesn't even have a 24-pin power connector. How are you running your board with that? And no 8-pin.... ugh!

With the age of that PSU, the 465, the 1055T and 4 DIMMs of DDR3 you are already over 500 W of required power... And that does
not include anything else (HDDs, Fans, etc etc etc)

Here is a good tool: eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 10/09/2010 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

Well that figures. I did run a PSU calculation and the needed power showed just over 400W. I must have done it wrong cause I thought the 500w would do the job.

Now....what would be a good PSU for this setup? I just spend more than I initially told myself on the GPU (but I'll be happy when it comes in). I want a good priced PSU that will be enough for this blazin system. Any advice?

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/09/2010 01:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I recommend this:

SeaSonic X650 Gold 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply... $139.99

Second Choice would be this:

CORSAIR HX Series CMPSU-650HX 650W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply... $119.99

But I would settle for this:

CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC...$89.99

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 10/09/2010 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

I went to Newegg and ran the PSU calculator. It recommends 699 watts. Wow!! This 500W will not work at all for all this. I see that a decent PSU will run around $100. What are the important things for me to look for in a PSU to work with my mobo, cpu, and GTX 465?

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/09/2010 01:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

This is what I got with my 1090T

2x GPU's:



4x GPU's:



Looks good to me!

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/09/2010 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

Thanks for all the info guys.

I went with the Antec TruePower TP750. The TruePower line has a good history and also a 5yr warranty. With the 15% off and $1.99 shipping, I got this coming to me for only $95.

I'm glad QB made me aware of the PSU problem. Now I will get the new GPU and PSU about the same time.

I will post some new 3Dmark Vantage scores when I get it all together.

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/09/2010 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

Canis I should but I wont

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 10/09/2010 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Oooo... Not sure I like the four 25A rails... seems like that might be cutting it close for a GTX 465. A single higher amperage rail would be what I look for.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 10/09/2010 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Overclocker

Posts: 565
Joined: 11/06/2005

This is a problem when PCI-E cables are not listed to which rail/s. If you have multiple 12V rails then usually they must be balanced.

-------------------------
Lad

I have had this name before the public announcement of L4D.
 10/09/2010 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: slaveondope

Canis I should but I wont


I could have ran it with PhysX enabled too hehehehe

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/09/2010 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimiz
Lurker

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/08/2010

Hmm any other things that I should be looking for in this PSU?

-------------------------
JIMIZ
CPU-AMD PHenom II X6 1055T
MB-Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
RAM-G.Skill RipJaws 16GB DDR3-1333
GC-EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
CASE-Apevia
PSU-Ultra Xconnect 500W
 10/09/2010 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

The truepower New 750w is an excellent PSU that you will not have any problems with

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modul...ews&op=Story4&reid=140

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information