AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Doubt about upgrade.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/09/2010 03:54 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/15/2010 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

The Corsair is more expensive, but I wouldn't say it's overpriced.

The OCZ should do the job ok though.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 12/15/2010 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bogey
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5643
Joined: 03/25/2005

I should imagine the OCZ would do the job OK. Not sure how many +12V rails it has. I couldn't understand the 400-500w connectors and 600w connectors in the spec in that link you posted.

The Corsair is certainly more expensive, but I wouldn't say it's overpriced. You get what you pay for.

-------------------------
MSI K7N2 Delta2 LSR|35w XP-M2400 11x214 1.62V|2x512MB OCZ EL 2 2 2 11 2.9V|9600XT|Seasonic 350w
Abit AN7|XP-M2800 10.5x227 1.62V|2x512MB Mushkin XP4000 2 3 2 11 3.2V|9600XT|Seasonic 550w
Asus A7V600|XP-M2600 6-11x202 1.6V|2x512 Crucial PC3200 2.5 3 3 9 2.7V|PCI 32MB gfx|Corsair 450w
 12/15/2010 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

side note. There are two versions of the 2.9GHz X2 5600+, Brisbane core. One with TDP 89Watt the other @ 65Watt TDP. If you happen to get the 65Watt model, the load on PSU might be a bit less in general. See link below. @ OP, when you receive the X2 5600+ note number on the heat spreader and compare with the list below.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/...-Athlon%2064%20X2.html

-------------------------
 12/15/2010 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PhilB
Newbie

Posts: 32
Joined: 04/26/2010

Coolermaster does make some good psu's at a reasonable price. I trust their product to use one on my computer 3k quid workstation. They have quite a few to choose from I think they also have ones in the 500w range that are fanless.

I have to agree with the earlier post about saving up for a total upgrade. For your uses, you don't need a lot of processing power. I recommend any Athlon II dual or tri core you think is in your price range, two 2gb stick of ram, a motherboard with onboard video and sound, new hard drive and your pretty much set. I would estimate the price around 250 quid and another 40-50 on a 500-600w psu. You wont need that much wattage, but they run best at 50% load and gives room for later upgrades.

The AM3 socket will probably be around for a few more years and will be good for later CPU upgrades if you wanted. It would allow you to upgrade to 8gb RAM later as programmers get lazier and lazier about memory use or a speed boost by turning off the swap space (you will have to read up on what that means and the risks involved).

-------------------------
Phil
----------
System Specs:

2x Opteron 6128
Asus KGPE-16
8x Kingston 4Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 w/ ECC, Registered, Parity
OCZ Vertex2 50gb (OS)
2x WD Blue 500Gb (Data storage)
PowerColor 5770
3x Viewsonic 19" widescreen at 1680x1050
Coolermaster ATCS-840 case
Coolermaster UCP 1100W
Installed OS: Win2008
VirtualBox OSs: Ubuntu/Fedora/Win2k/WinXp/Dos/Vista (set up to use second keyboard and mouse)
 12/16/2010 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
4ndr01d
Lurker

Posts: 9
Joined: 12/09/2010

Sorry, I didn't see the second topic page.

Well, the processor I bought is 65w and I just got a question about it.
This is the link to the one I bought: Athlon 64 x2 5600+ Dual Core 2.93GHz

Is there any warranty ?

About the Corsair power supply, I didn't mention that's a bad one, I didn't even say anything about the company in general. As I researched about it, I got that's one of the best companies for PSUs and also memory ram. I'm not looking for that kind of thing right now as I'm running short of money, that's out of budget. For now, I'll get the OCZ as it had good reviews anywhere I researched.

Thanks a lot for all comments and sorry about the delay for replying.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information