AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 1090T BE setup help needed!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/11/2011 03:01 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/13/2011 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Originally posted by: muziqaz

Yeah, seems you motherboard reads the memory SPD right. So leave it at that.

It is slow because of vista. that is one of the worst MS' operating systems ever. Windows 7 and Vista are like day and night.

And there is no setting in BIOS when set on default which would impact your system performance to the level where you feel the difference.


Vista is bad but its not the worst. Now ME was the worst OS ever. Bill should have been slap for that one.

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 02/13/2011 04:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Me worked good for myself... I used it until SP2 for XP was released before finally hopping onto XP! It was my older hardware that kept me using Me and not switching to XP. Everything ran better with Me. So I am one of those rare few that actually needed and liked Me...

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/13/2011 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

Well ME sure didn't like me and I was so happy when I went to XP. but then I did something stupid and upgraded to vista

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 02/13/2011 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Well I skipped Vista all together... and very glad I did!

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 02/13/2011 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

alot of people are using the corsair H50 in these formus including me and i say its worth it and i use the push and pull two fan system and iI can get up to 4.2ghz stable and low/good operating temps

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 02/13/2011 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
6corenoob
Newbie

Posts: 35
Joined: 02/11/2011

How does the radiator end of it mount in the case? On the case side panel or on brackets?

-------------------------
AMD 1090T BE
Corsair H50 Liquid cooling
Asus M4A78T-E board
Crucial DDR3 (2x2Gigs)
Antec 300 Case
Radeaon HD 4550 GPU
Corsair 850w PSU
SG Barracuda 1Tb SATA H
Windows 7 Pro (full edition from Microsoft for $64.95)
Gotta love student discounts!
 02/18/2011 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
6corenoob
Newbie

Posts: 35
Joined: 02/11/2011

Ok so back to my original issue: Overclocking and getting good stable performance.

I will list the settings I have from AMD Overdrive 3. I know most of you prefer Prime 95, but I don't have it, and probably wouldn't know how to run it. So this is what I have till ya'll clue me in and get me up to speed on the rest.

Core multiplier 18x (all 6)
HT multiplier 10x
HT ref clock 200
PCIe speed 100 MHz

Current CPU clock reading 3612MHz
HT reading 2006MHz

CPU volts 1.3625v
NB VID 1.125v
DDR 1.56v
NB 1.100v
HT 1.200v
SB 1.350v

So I have had the sytem at this setting for nearly 2 days now, and have downloaded and installed WOW, done all of my Win 7 updates, installed other programs, thrown as much as I could think to at this thing and temps never go over 45C. This includes the Overdrive 3 stability test that ran for several hours.

Idle temps range from 27C to 32C depending on how warm I have my office, or how many background operations I am running.

Anyone have any suggestions for taking it it a bit further while remaining stable? Where do I start? I took the advice of muziqaz on some of the BIOS settings and manually setting the CPU voltage. Now I am looking for that next step. I will dl CPU-Z and a screen shot tool so I can post those values directly.

Thanks ahead of time.

-------------------------
AMD 1090T BE
Corsair H50 Liquid cooling
Asus M4A78T-E board
Crucial DDR3 (2x2Gigs)
Antec 300 Case
Radeaon HD 4550 GPU
Corsair 850w PSU
SG Barracuda 1Tb SATA H
Windows 7 Pro (full edition from Microsoft for $64.95)
Gotta love student discounts!
 02/18/2011 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

you can start to added a little FSB a little at a time until its not stable
then start to add cpu volts
also this will raise your memory mhz so you might need to add some dram volts and cpu/nb volts cpu/nb volts is your memory controler no more than 1.29 max 1.25 is average with a high memory say 2000mhz and low timings and cpu high is 1.45 these are just a rough settings plat with it until you get a stable and good temps

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32

Edited: 02/18/2011 at 11:34 PM by kleetus
 02/18/2011 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
6corenoob
Newbie

Posts: 35
Joined: 02/11/2011

Ok, ya gotta be really specific with me, I'm new to the various options on the BIOS and the rest of the system. Ok "fsb" or front side bus I'm assuming. Is that the North Bridge? and bump it up being multiplier or voltage? Since you said 200, I'm guessing its a MHz setting, correct?

Anyway, I just took the CPU multiplier to 18.5x and its running fine and cool. Gonna stress test it again and see what happens.

-------------------------
AMD 1090T BE
Corsair H50 Liquid cooling
Asus M4A78T-E board
Crucial DDR3 (2x2Gigs)
Antec 300 Case
Radeaon HD 4550 GPU
Corsair 850w PSU
SG Barracuda 1Tb SATA H
Windows 7 Pro (full edition from Microsoft for $64.95)
Gotta love student discounts!
 02/18/2011 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

ok start of with like 210 north bridge and a little bumb in cpu volts and do some test

also there are a lot of guides in these forums do some search and you will see more info around here

I will give some general advise
I would look to get cpu around 3900mhz @1.45 volts with 220 X 18 or a blend of NB to multi
memory like 1600 - 1800 mhz just a Little bump in volts if needed
cpu/nb maxed out at 1.29 but 1.25 should be high for memory stability this is the memory controller

there are no set clocks volts only guide lines unlocked multipliers are nice and easy OC but i recommend a mix of FSB/NB to multipliers and add volts as needed a liitle at a time to help stability

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32

Edited: 02/19/2011 at 12:00 AM by kleetus
 02/19/2011 03:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
6corenoob
Newbie

Posts: 35
Joined: 02/11/2011

After some adjustments, here is where I stand on system configuration. Max temp I achieved during stress testing in AMD Overdrive was 47C. That was stress all 6 cores at once.
Core speed 3990 MHz
Core Multiplier 19
HT Multiplier 10x
HT ref clock 210
PCIe speed 100
CPU NB Multiplier 10x
CPU VID 1.3875
NB VID 1.2500
DDR 1.56v
NB volt 1.100
HT volt 1.200
SB volt 1.350

Everything is running stable and once in awhile the core speed jumps to just a hair over 4.GHz. I have turbo core turned of in the BIOS so it cant bump core voltage on its own. According to CPU-Z my NB frequency is 2100. I am adding a puller fan on my H50 cooler the first of the week as well as a filtered 180mm case fan to improve circulation.

I have been playing with the idea of taking a case and completely sealing it from unfiltered air of any kind and then adding carbon/charcoal filters in front of a series of case fans in order to have good airflow that is super clean.

Anyway, ideas on getting a bit more out of this system while remaining stable would be appreciated. Thanks for the hints so far, it has helped.

-------------------------
AMD 1090T BE
Corsair H50 Liquid cooling
Asus M4A78T-E board
Crucial DDR3 (2x2Gigs)
Antec 300 Case
Radeaon HD 4550 GPU
Corsair 850w PSU
SG Barracuda 1Tb SATA H
Windows 7 Pro (full edition from Microsoft for $64.95)
Gotta love student discounts!
 02/19/2011 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
6corenoob
Newbie

Posts: 35
Joined: 02/11/2011

Screen shots of AMD Overdrive and CPU-Z. Hope this helps.








-------------------------
AMD 1090T BE
Corsair H50 Liquid cooling
Asus M4A78T-E board
Crucial DDR3 (2x2Gigs)
Antec 300 Case
Radeaon HD 4550 GPU
Corsair 850w PSU
SG Barracuda 1Tb SATA H
Windows 7 Pro (full edition from Microsoft for $64.95)
Gotta love student discounts!
 02/20/2011 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

you could either add to your fsb or a multi with adding to your fsb you will increase the memory frequence and the NB and HTT the HT increase can lower or hurt performance this is an example of one oc but it wasnt the best

bus speed 250
Phenom 11 x 6 1090t @ 4264mhz 1.464 volts
G-Skill FL 2x2gb @ 1.687 7-9-7-24-1t 2000 mhz
cpu/nb volts 1.259
nb 3000mhz volts auto
htt 3000 mhz volts auto

I would look to get your memory around 1800 mhz
HT 2100 mhz
NB 2800mhz

and you can download some benchmark test to see if your OC is best performance
like
PASSMARK
3D MARK

and here is a good link in this forum for all 1090T OC,TEMPS and more
1090T OC guide and info

and post back here and let me now what level you get to next and show me your memory speed and we can try to play with timings

dont be surprise if 4.1 is your max cpu i have got to 4.3 but it wasnt 24 hour stable
but it was fun to run the wprime at that speed

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32

Edited: 02/20/2011 at 04:39 PM by kleetus
 02/20/2011 06:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
6corenoob
Newbie

Posts: 35
Joined: 02/11/2011

Ok, here is the latest. 4.1GHz and memory timings on auto just because I don't know what I'm doing with them yet. Idle temp is 44C in a warm room. I am going to address the heat issue with a couple case mods and some custom ducting from a fresh air source outside the case so its not drawing preheated air from within.

44C at idle seems a bit high to me. Question is whether or not it will be stable at this setting.

I just a ran a 5 minute stability test with Overdrive and it didn't hang so I will run a more thorough test later. Max temp was 56C for about a minute then it cam back down to 44C according to Asus AI Suite.





-------------------------
AMD 1090T BE
Corsair H50 Liquid cooling
Asus M4A78T-E board
Crucial DDR3 (2x2Gigs)
Antec 300 Case
Radeaon HD 4550 GPU
Corsair 850w PSU
SG Barracuda 1Tb SATA H
Windows 7 Pro (full edition from Microsoft for $64.95)
Gotta love student discounts!

Edited: 02/20/2011 at 06:55 PM by 6corenoob
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information