AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: purchased AMD X6 and 890GPA-UD3 today and very slow
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/14/2011 02:24 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/14/2011 02:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
waleed_89
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/14/2011

hello, i purchased today Mother board gigabyte Gigabyte 890GPA-UD3H
processor AMD X6 Cash 9 MB
Ram 4 gb one piece pass 1600
and work very slow, i installed windows 7 in two hour
when i see performance in the task manager in time install any program "CPU Usage" = 1% or 2% A maximum 4%
I think the motherboard does not benefit from the resources of a full processor.

what can i do???!

thanks in advance
with my regards
 02/14/2011 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

You need to check if all cores are active/enabled.
Perhaps need to update BIOS to latest version.
You should also go for a dual channel RAM config, e.g 2x2GB or 2x4GB.

-------------------------
 02/14/2011 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muziqaz
Deprecated

Posts: 326
Joined: 01/10/2011

It might be hard drive. If a user is using IDE hard drive with IDE dvd rom on the same cable then installation would take quite some time. And second stick of ram would help as well, sometimes single channel mode causes slowdowns. Is Windows 7 64bit?
And those % in task manager show that your processor is idle, doing nothing. if you start playing a game, you would see it jump to higher %s

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6@3.9ghz<>MSI 890FXA-GD70
8Gb OCZ 1600Mhz cas 7 RAM<>AMD Radeon HD6970
300Gb WD Velociraptor<>2.5Tb HDDs
CM Cosmos S<>Custom cheap watercooling
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit<>32'' 1080p TV
 02/14/2011 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

right, could be a drive vs cable config issue also, if IDE drives are present.

-------------------------
 02/15/2011 06:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
YiuKorochko
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 02/15/2011

Wow, that's the same board and processor I'm about to get.
I've got 4 HDDs though, just going to replace old mobo+processor+memory+GPU with new stuff.
Bios update...gotcha.

About the dual-channel RAM, I was going to get a single 4GB card but if it'll suffer performance compared to my current 4x1GB configuration, then hey I'll buy a second. My buy two more after than if paycheck comes early...

EDIT: Oh, it's not quite the same mobo:
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 Socket AM3 ATX - the model above, I believe...

-------------------------
Current System:
Intel i5 Quad Core @3.2GHz (w/ Corsair H50)
4x1GB OCZ Dual Channel DDR3 RAM @1066MHz
Gigabyte P55-something-or-other.
Palit/Nvidia GeForce 9500GT 1GB
OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600W PSU
2TB HDD
1.5TB HDD
500GB HDD
60GB SSD
Wireless Adapter B/G/N

Edited: 02/15/2011 at 07:04 PM by YiuKorochko
 02/16/2011 03:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
waleed_89
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/14/2011

Solved, i replace harddisk green with blue and install windows 7 in 10 Min
 02/16/2011 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Waspire
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/16/2011

ive found that some of these mother boards need 2 memory sticks to work decently
try the 2x4 8 gig set matched .

so add 1 more and make shure to test the memory soon as you put it in.

-------------------------
Just build it! the games will come!

Edited: 02/17/2011 at 12:19 AM by Waspire
 02/17/2011 04:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
waleed_89
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/14/2011

thanks, i will
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information