AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: FIRST AMD BUILD
Topic Summary: SPECS
Created On: 03/05/2011 10:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/05/2011 10:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RJLEXUS2011
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/12/2011

Hi all, just finished builiding my first system and it was fun. I do not have alot of experience but I wanted to try it and after reading countless forums I came up with this build.
AMD PHENOM II X4 955 BLACK
ASROCK EXTREME3 870
HIS RADEON HD 5770
NXZT M59(EXTREMELY LOUD FANS)NOT HAPPY
4GB GSKILL RIPJAWS
Everything went fine with the build except a few things.

#1--case fans way too loud, i am going to change them(any advise on quiet fans??)
#2--should I be running some kind of memory test and other tests?
#3--what should I set cpu voltage to be?
#4--should I change the cpu cooler? It now runs in the 40's at idle.
Thank you all for your responces. I really want to try oc'ing the 955 but i would like everything to be as stable as possible before I start that.
Once again, I really appreciate any help or advise from all.
 03/05/2011 01:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muziqaz
Deprecated

Posts: 326
Joined: 01/10/2011

#1:For case fans check them:
http://www.rage3d.com/reviews/...g/noctua_nf-s12b_flx/
http://www.google.co.uk/produc...yog0&ved=0CE0Q8gIwBg#
#2: if you want you can run memtest86 bootable CD(download ISO file from http://www.memtest86.com/ extract the zip file, burn iso as an image, pop in dvdrom, boot from it). One run should be enough to see if RAM is stable.
#3: It depends on what voltages it is running now on. If it is up to 1.35v then it is ok as it is. If higher, then it needs changing to lower than 1.35v)
#4: 40C is too high if you want to overclock the CPU. It is fine at stock clocks, but not for overclocking. I take it you are using cooler which came with the cpu. For overclocking you need aftermarket CPU cooler.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6@3.9ghz<>MSI 890FXA-GD70
8Gb OCZ 1600Mhz cas 7 RAM<>AMD Radeon HD6970
300Gb WD Velociraptor<>2.5Tb HDDs
CM Cosmos S<>Custom cheap watercooling
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit<>32'' 1080p TV
 03/05/2011 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muziqaz
Deprecated

Posts: 326
Joined: 01/10/2011

P.S. make sure it is your case fans that are loud, not a CPU cooler fan

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6@3.9ghz<>MSI 890FXA-GD70
8Gb OCZ 1600Mhz cas 7 RAM<>AMD Radeon HD6970
300Gb WD Velociraptor<>2.5Tb HDDs
CM Cosmos S<>Custom cheap watercooling
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit<>32'' 1080p TV
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information