AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: How do these settings look for an AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE OC?
Topic Summary: BIOS settings to get to 4.0GHz
Created On: 03/07/2011 07:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/07/2011 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

Okay, I solved the problem with my motherboard (finally, thankfully), and have made sure it is running stable. Anyways, now I'm ready to put my feet into the water of overclocking. I've done a lot of researching around this forum, other forums, Google, and YouTube. I do have a basic understanding of everything, and I wrote out some settings and wanted to see if these look about right.

I haven't applied these settings to my system, yet, I wanted to make sure I at least was on the right track:

Disable C1E
Disable Turbo Core
Disable Cool 'N Quiet

CPU ratio: 21.0
CPU/NB Freq: 3000
HT Link sped: 2600
CPU & NB Voltage mode: Manual
CPU Voltage 1.44062
CPU/NB Voltage 1.300

I did also read this article that I was given and saw a few mentions by PC GURU on page 12 and 13 of this article and noted a few things.

So, do these settings look about right? It was a bit tricky for me to see what some people were talking about when looking at the various BIOS adjustments, but I think I got it figured out.

Any help, feedback, suggestions would be great.

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
 03/08/2011 02:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muziqaz
Deprecated

Posts: 326
Joined: 01/10/2011

2600mhz of HT is not necessary. There are scenarious then it gives worse performance. Best would be to lock it at 2000mhz.
Also note that overclocking is a patience game. It is not advisable to set things on the values you think might be stable. Increasing clocks bit by bit and checking if it is stable. If it is, increase again and check.
Also, with 1.44v going to the cpu, make sure you have suficiant cooling.
Your given settings are possible max clocks.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6@3.9ghz<>MSI 890FXA-GD70
8Gb OCZ 1600Mhz cas 7 RAM<>AMD Radeon HD6970
300Gb WD Velociraptor<>2.5Tb HDDs
CM Cosmos S<>Custom cheap watercooling
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit<>32'' 1080p TV
 03/08/2011 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

I have a Corsair H50 water pump, a case with more than adequate ventilation, and the computer is kept in the basement where it's cool for the majority of the year. And, thanks, I'll do what one guide said and increase it bit by bit.

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
 03/08/2011 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Here are my 24/7 settings for 4.013GHz:

4.014GHz (250 CPU Bus)>>>Passed HyperPI (2)
CPU ratio: 16.0
DRAM Frequency: 2000MHz (2007MHz)
CPU/NB Frequency: 2750MHz (2759MHz)
HT Link Speed: 2000MHz (2007MHz)
CPU Voltage: 1.450000
CPU/NB Voltage: 1.275000
CPU VDDA Voltage: 2.525
DRAM Voltage: 1.6625
HT Voltage: 1.27500
NB Voltage: 1.38750
DRAM Timings: 7-9-7-24 (1T)
CPU LLC: Full Calibration
CPU/NB LLC: Full Calibration
PWM Phase Control: Full Phase
CPU Voltage OCP: Enable
CPU PWM Frequency: Auto
CPU/NB Voltage OCP: Enable
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2011 10:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

NC, I'm wanting to assume that those settings are stable, and no program crashes? I'm able to get my system to 3.7GHz but when I get to that "physics" test in 3DMark 11", it crashes. 3.6GHz and it passes fine. Altho, it is only 3DMark 11 that it does it. Everything else, it doesn't crash.

And, I'll look into my motherboard BIOS and see if any of those parameters are identical to yours. But, does it also matter what motherboard I'm running?

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
 03/09/2011 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Yes, the settings that I posted are 24/7, 100% stable....HyperPI 32M, BFBC2, video editing, 3DMark Vantage, and 3DMark 11.
The motherboard has a huge impact on CPU overclock stability, the Crosshair IV operates with extremely precise voltage control.
I would bet that you're getting Vdroop (CPU voltage drops) while under load, this is where CPU LLC and CPU VDDA Voltage need to be tweaked.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2011 11:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

NC, thank you for that help. I went back in and tweaked my BIOS close to your settings. I had no idea that the CPU Bus could also crank up the speed, but sure enough it did. The only difference I have in my BIOS is that I didn't see PWM Phase Control, CPU Voltage OCP, CPU VDDA Volt, or CPU PWM Frequency. And, where yours says CPU/NB Voltage OCP, the closest I found was CPU/NB LLC, which I just put to Enabled.

Also, I'm running 1600MHz RAM, so I just went with 1667MHz and kept the DRAM voltage to 1.6625 (I assume that was a smart move, as compared to having it at 1.6000).

And now, currently running a idle temp of 41*C, as compared to 31*C when having the multiplier to 18x (3.61 GHz). I'm now going to run Prime95 and SuperPi to see how it all works out. And, also that 3DMark 11.

Oh yeah, when I said that it crashed during the physics part with a 3.7Ghz, I meant the program crashed, not the computer.




------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT: Well, it didn't like those settings. The minute I hit "Start" on SuperPi with 32M, it BSOD'd. So, I went back into my BIOS and adjusted a few things:

CPU Multiplier: 17.0
CPU bus freq: 240
DRAM Freq: 1600 MHz
CPU/NB Freq: 2640 MHz
HT Link Speed: 1920 MHz
NB Volt: 1.25 (maximum allowed)

Now going to run SuperPi 32M again, see if it remains stable at these settings.


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT #2: Well, SuperPi 32M lasted longer, 3 loops completed, however as I saw the CPU temps reach 57*C, a bit after that it BSOD'd. I'm guessing it was getting closer to that heat wall and shut down, from what I've read about the CPU.

AMD @ 4.03 GHz
I went into my BIOS and now running these settings:
CPU vCore: 1.440625
CPU Bus Freq: 236
DRAM: 1573
DRAM voltage: 1.6v
HT Link Speed: 1888 MHz
CPU/NB Freq: 2832 MHz

BTW, does the PCI Bus Frequency need to be changed as well? It's defaulted at 100 but I haven't messed with it.

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

Edited: 03/09/2011 at 12:05 PM by 1LowS10
 03/09/2011 01:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

No, don't mess with the PCI-E bus frequency, leave it at default (100Mhz).

If you're hitting 57c after only 3 loops with HyperPI, you definitely have a major heat issue.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2011 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

Okay, after some more testing, OS freezing, BSODs, and hang-ups, I believe I got a stable 4.01 GHz. I only ran SuperPi 32m for 12 loops for the time being, but it showed stable. The max temp I'd hit would be like 56*C/57*C but I guess that's when the waterpump really kicked in because the temps would drop down to about 53*C/54*C.




This was managed with the bottom settings:
CPU ratio: 20.0
CPU Bus frequency: 200
PCIE Bus frequency: 100
DRAM frequency: 1600 MHz
CPU/NB frequency: 2800 MHz
HT Link speed: 2000 MHz
CPU Voltage 1.512 [1.471875] <--- Does this mean it's running at 1.5 volts, not what I put in? I read somewhere you shouldn't be running 1.5v.
CPU/NB Voltage: 1.275 [1.275000]
DRAM Voltage: 1.61250
HT Voltage 1.27500
NB Voltage: 1.25 <===Maximum allowed in BIOS

I tried other tests, like the BurnInTest (mostly focused on video and memory) and the 3DMark 11 test. However, once again I suffered a problem: 3DMark 11 couldn't complete. I was able to get past the first physics test (second to last test) but once it got to the very final combined physics test, it hanged. And, I had to use Task Manager to close it. Is this a voltage issue? Because I'm pretty sure my voltage is more than enough.




-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

Edited: 03/09/2011 at 01:43 PM by 1LowS10
 03/09/2011 01:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
muziqaz
Deprecated

Posts: 326
Joined: 01/10/2011

What I would advise is use NC's data as a reference and try tweaking one component at once. Now you have ram overclocked, CPU overclocked and base clock overclocked. That is 3 different variables which are possible to fail.
For example loosen your ram timings and leave the ram alone. Same with CPU NB clock. Concentrate on max stable cpu clock. When you sort out that then try clocking CPU NB and ram.
At the moment you have 3d mark crashing. Apps crash mostly because of the ram. If it was cpu, you would be getting OS crashes with bsod.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6@3.9ghz<>MSI 890FXA-GD70
8Gb OCZ 1600Mhz cas 7 RAM<>AMD Radeon HD6970
300Gb WD Velociraptor<>2.5Tb HDDs
CM Cosmos S<>Custom cheap watercooling
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit<>32'' 1080p TV
 03/09/2011 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

I have my RAM set to stock values, actually. It is DDR3-1600 RAM, and the manufacturer's timings are 8-8-8-24-34-2T @ 1.6v. And, I decided to run 3DMark Vantage and it BSOD'd on me towards the end with the physics portion. I just now changed my CPU Voltage to 1.440625. Gonna see if that fixes it. Possibly not.

And, I have tried adjusting the parameters one at a time, but the problem is that it is too confusing. Even with reading guides, it still doesn't help much as I can't tell if I should raise one and lower another, vice versa, or just touch one. I have tried that before, but has still lead to errors and still leaves me confused as to where I should really start.

EDIT: Still no luck whatsoever. I can pass Unigine Heaven, 3DMark Vantage and 3DMark 06, but with 3DMark 11, it hangs at the loading screen on the very last Physics test (Combined test).

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

Edited: 03/09/2011 at 03:08 PM by 1LowS10
 03/09/2011 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

LOL, I think I know what your problem is with 3DMark 11.
That last Combined Test will stay stuck with the loading bar at about 75%...UNTIL IT COMPLETELY LOADS.
I also thought that it crashed for me the first few times I ran 3DMark 11.

Just be patient, wait a few minutes until the Combined Test completely loads, this is normal.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2011 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

Really? Alright, I'm going to give it one more shot and be a bit more patient then.

And, you're right: it does hang at 75% and I figured it just froze, but I'll give it a whirl now.

EDIT: Hot d*mn, it passed. And, seemed to go through the loading screen quicker, too. Thanks for the info, NC.

Posted up the new score in the appropriate forum.

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

Edited: 03/09/2011 at 05:35 PM by 1LowS10
 03/09/2011 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Congrats!!!

Patience is a virtue, nice score btw.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2011 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

Patience is a virtue but waiting sucks.

Anyways, I let my system do a one-time pass of HyperPi 32M and went out briefly. Come back and it passed all 24 tests, no shutdown and max temp my system hit was 57*C and then the waterpump kicked it down to 54*C or so. I wonder if I should try a slightly higher overclock or wait until I get a mounting kit to put another fan onto my waterpump, to make it a push/pull design instead of just push.

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
 03/09/2011 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Wait until you get a push/pull fan configuration on the H50, it will definitely help to lower your CPU load temps.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 03/09/2011 08:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
1LowS10
Fanboi

Posts: 55
Joined: 02/14/2011

So, I rebooted to write down my BIOS settings and it automatically goes to "Launch Windows Repair or Start Windows Normally". Let it go normal, and when it got to the "Windows starting..." screen, I believe it briefly flashed a BSOD before it rebooted again. Come to a screen where the resolution is defaulted to a stock small size. Reboot, back to normal, run the P64 and it comes up with an error on the first test. I restart it and it passed 6 tests. Either it's just me, or overclocking can get some very weird side-effects. I'll look to run a better P64 mem test overnight to ensure there are no issues.



My current settings are:

CPU ratio: 20.0
CPU Bus frequency: 200
PCIE Bus frequency: 100
DRAM frequency: 1600 MHz (8-8-8-24-34-2T)
CPU/NB frequency: 2800 MHz
HT Link speed: 2000 MHz
CPU Voltage 1.476 [1.440625]
CPU/NB Voltage: 1.275 [1.275000]
DRAM Voltage: 1.61250
HT Voltage 1.27500
NB Voltage: 1.25 <===Maximum allowed in BIOS
CPU LLC: Enabled
CPU/NB LLC: Enabled
CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled
PCIE Spread: Disabled
Cool 'N Quiet: Disabled
C1E Support: Disabled
ASUS Core Unlocker: Disabled
CPU Core Activation: Auto

-------------------------
Corsair H50 waterpump
ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.01GHz
2x2GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24-34 1T 1.6v
1x 1TB Western Digital Black HDD
1x 80GB Western Digital Caviar SE HDD
ASUS NVIDIA GTX570 @ 900/1000/1800
750 Watt Antec TruePower TP-750 PSU
ASUS 24" wide screen
Neovo 19" TFT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate

Edited: 03/09/2011 at 08:31 PM by 1LowS10
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information