AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: little confused on how dual core etc works
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/20/2011 03:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/20/2011 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
StaticPhilly
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/20/2011

hello all,

ok im a little un-clear on how this works,
basiclly im looking at getting a new cpu, it will be used for lite gaming and genral use
what would be better:
an X2 @ 3.3mhz
or an X4 @ 2.3mhz

what im not sure of is,
if i get a X4 @ 2.3 does this mean it totals to 9.2? if so then this in my mind would work faster then two at 3.3 totaling to 6.6?

can anyone clear this up for me.

cheers,
Phil

Edited: 03/20/2011 at 04:19 PM by StaticPhilly
 03/20/2011 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
batuchka
Case Modder

Posts: 1175
Joined: 01/19/2008

Hmm that really depends on your games/apps and also the architecture/generation of processors u are referring to. Budget plays a big role as well as well as what your current platform can run w.r.t processor upgrades if sticking with it ^^

-------------------------

My El Cheapo move to better PC Audio!
http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=13&threadid=153336&enterthread=y
 03/23/2011 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
aus-amdfan
Deprecated

Posts: 308
Joined: 01/21/2011

Originally posted by: StaticPhilly

hello all,



ok im a little un-clear on how this works,

basiclly im looking at getting a new cpu, it will be used for lite gaming and genral use

what would be better:

an X2 @ 3.3mhz

or an X4 @ 2.3mhz



what im not sure of is,

if i get a X4 @ 2.3 does this mean it totals to 9.2? if so then this in my mind would work faster then two at 3.3 totaling to 6.6?



can anyone clear this up for me.



cheers,

Phil





not to sure if wat your saying rings true with the first series phenom x4 and athlon x2 but the am3 chips would probably be close in any case there avast improvement on the athlon 3500+ and models below it .depending on what type of games and how often you play them and how much you have to spend. with the right board you can take th phenomII 555 black edtion for exzample and unlock the 2 cores that are dormeant and turn it to a quad core or if ya stuck 4 cash get the athlonII x4 640 chip either way work fine good luck with the build

-------------------------
amd fx-8120 powercolor 6970 @890mhz
g-skill ripjaw x 1866mhz 16gig
asus ch5
2x corsair force 3 ssds in raid (2 x 60g)
2 xwd 500g sata 3 hdds in raid 1.10
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information