AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: new builder with concerns
Topic Summary: is my AMD fx 4170 running as intended
Created On: 07/20/2012 10:41 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/20/2012 10:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan13l
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/20/2012

I am a first time builder. I built my system with ab AMD FX 4170 quad processor. I am concerned that my system is not running as fast/smooth as I hoped it would. So am trying to cover my bases and make sure each component is working properly.

my motherboard program and windows 7 evaluation of my CPU both show it never going much above 4 Ghz. I wasn't for sure if this was saying per core and everything was fine, or if it meant total, and it is only running at about 25% of the speed it should be (4x4.2=16.8ghz)

My other concern is that my ASRock 970 extreme am3+ motherboard is 8-core compatible, and I got wondering if that would make the quad core not run as efficiently?

Also, how can I check to make sure my power supply is pushing enough to each component? (its a corsair builder 430w)

Finally, I also have 2x4gb gskills ram and an AMD Radeon HD 6850. do any of these components stand out to you as a bottleneck in my system that I could upgrade w/o to much expense?
 07/20/2012 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

It is running fine. Each core runs at the rated speed, e.g. 4.2Ghz....that does not mean that you multiply each core by 4.2.....that just means that the processor has 4 cores and singularly or all together the rated speed is 4.2Ghz. I would suggest that you read up a bit more on multi core processors to see how they really work, specifically in this case you should pay attention to AMD and not Intel.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 07/21/2012 03:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SlayerX
Elite

Posts: 1818
Joined: 06/21/2008

to answer your other questions the 970 chipset can handle up to a 8-core cpu so it will have no problem running a quad

-------------------------
PII 1100T (Extinct)
Asus M4A78T-E (should be Extinct)
4Gb of Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3 (Going strong)
2x1GB 5850's (On their last lags)
Corsair HX850W (Awsome)
NZXT Phantom case (too ***** big)
 07/21/2012 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

Your motherboard program should be showing the CPU operating at least 4.2 GHz, no less, unless you have some power/cooling management option enabled.

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information