AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: what would you do?
Topic Summary: over clocking
Created On: 05/17/2007 09:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/17/2007 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr.goodbit
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 05/17/2007

hey... i have an Athlon 3800 cpu i want to overclock. im sure you guys kno all about it so i dont need to go into details. can it be made to go any faster? without damaging the processor. Im trying to play games in the 2.0ghz required or over category. my GPU and graffix card can handle them but i need some more speed. I have the 1 GB DDR RAM. i am ordering 2 more 512k DIMM's to stick in it. That should help right?
I have the entire system up to date, drivers, software, ect. any info would be great.
thanX.
nathan.
 05/17/2007 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tripper
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Joined: 03/13/2007

Originally posted by: mr.goodbit

hey... i have an Athlon 3800 cpu i want to overclock. . .



Try 267 @ default, raise vcore to 1.47-8, set ram divider to 166, see what happens.

-------------------------
I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed or numbered . . . my life is my own." - #6

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=186930
 05/17/2007 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

First, which Athlon (64) 3800 CPU do you have? There are several with the 3800+ model rating, some of which are quite different from each other. AMD's processor reference page lists no less than 14 models with the 3800+ model name, including one Sempron.

The rundown:

Single-core CPUs:
1. ADA3800DEP4AS, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 130 nm (rev CG), 89 W, socket 939.*
2. ADA3800DEP4AW, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 130 nm (rev CG), 89 W, socket 939.
3. ADA3800DAA4BP, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev E3), 89 W, socket 939.
4. ADA3800DAA4BW, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev E6), 89 W, socket 939.
5. ADA3800IAA4CN, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev F2), 62 W, socket AM2.
6. ADA3800IAA4DH, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev F3), 62 W, socket AM2.
7. ADH3800IAA4DE, 2.40 GHz, 512 KB L2, 65 nm (rev G1), 45 W, socket AM2.

*OEM-only chip.

Dual-core CPUs:
8. ADA3800DAA5BV, 2.00 GHz, 2x512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev E4), 89 W, socket 939.
9. ADA3800DAA5CD, 2.00 GHz, 2x512KB L2, 90 nm (rev E6), 89 W, socket 939.
10. ADA3800IAA5CU, 2.00 GHz, 2x512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev F2), 89 W, socket AM2.
11. ADO3800IAA5CU, 2.00 GHz, 2x512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev F2), 65 W, socket AM2.**
12. ADO3800IAA5CZ, 2.00 GHz, 2x512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev F3), 65 W, socket AM2.**
13. ADD3800IAT5CU, 2.00 GHz, 2x512 KB L2, 90 nm (rev F2), 35 W, socket AM2.***

** Energy-efficient chip (65 W vs. standard 89 W)
***Small-form-factor energy-efficient chip (35 W vs. standard 89 W)

You can tell which chip is yours by either pulling off the heatsink and reading the model number off the top or by using a program like CPU-Z. CPU-Z will not give you the product code number, but it will give you the stepping and process generation, which you can double-check against what I have here.

The single-core Athlon 64 3800+'s overclockability varies by which generation it is. The original 130 nm chips have less headroom and get hotter at the same speeds than the later 90 nm or 65 nm chips. The 90 nm E4 and E6 "Venice" chips should be able to hit 2.7-2.8 GHz without undue effort. The 65 nm "Lima" chips are very new and it's not likely you have one. But if you do, it should overclock a little better than the 90 nm ones do.

The dual-core Athlon 64 X2 3800+s again vary a tad. The standard-wattage ones generally got up to 2.5 GHz or so and the lower-voltage ones could reach up a little higher- 2.7 GHz or so on good air cooling. The 35 W chip is very rare.

However, if you have a socket AM2 chip, I'd highly suggest that you switch it out for a faster one than goof around with overclocking. A 3.00 GHz dual-core X2 6000+ is $240 right now and will not only be faster than any (sanely) overclocked 3800+ single or dual-core, but it will be stable as well.

-------------------------
 05/18/2007 12:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shazaam
Senior Member

Posts: 4201
Joined: 12/24/2005

what are the specs of your entire rig BTW? and what game cause a 3800 single or dual core should be able to handle it atm.
 05/18/2007 08:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bill100
Senior Member

Posts: 507
Joined: 04/26/2006

 05/18/2007 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr.goodbit
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 05/17/2007

OK... I have the

9. ADA3800DAA5CD, 2.00 GHz, 2x512KB L2, 90 nm (rev E6), 89 W, socket 939.

90nm
code name- Toledo

AMD Athlon +3800 X2

so onto the next step...?
 05/18/2007 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shazaam
Senior Member

Posts: 4201
Joined: 12/24/2005

more specs like board, mem., etc... and read those links, learn from them. If your board has a review online that has a section about OCing, follow it.
 05/18/2007 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr.goodbit
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 05/17/2007

I couldnt find anything on my system from the link above.

my system:
CPU

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ PCI-E bus: 2500.00 MHz
code name- Toledo PCI bus: 33.000 MHz
Brand ID- 5 Reference clock: 200.466 MHz
Package- Socket 939
Tech- 90nm -voltage- 1.100
Family- F
Model- 3
Stepping 2
Ext. Family- F
Ext. Model- 23
Rev. JH-E6
Multiplier- x5.0
Bus Speed- 200.4
Cache
L1- 2x64 KB
L2- 2x64 KB
L3- 2x512 KB
Cores- 2
Threads-2

Motherboard
Manfac. ASUSTek Comp INC.
Model: Nagami 1.02
Chipset: NVidia GeForce 6150LE A2
SouthBridge: NVidia nForce 410/430 MPC
Sensor: SMSC 7703

Memory

TypeDR Dual channel
size: 1024MB
Frequency: 200.4 MHz
CAS# latency: 3.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# delay: 3 clocks
RAS# precharge: 3 clocks
Cycle Time( Tras): 8 clocks
Bak Cycle Time(Trc): 11 clocks
Command rate : 2T
DRAM idle Timer: 16 clocks

There's some more.
It is already overclocked in some way. My graffix card had an update to get a software called nTune, herd of it?
but, there was a section that would tune your system to run better and more stable at the same time. After hours of tunning it took, it did run fatser.
but the processor speed wasnt increased. All I want to do is be able to play game in 1280-1024 screen ratio and beable to max out the porformance on game settings, I havnt come across a game i cant play ,but i have to play it with the basic settings. And since my computer can run Vista and with the new Direct X 10 and the new software to run on X10 for my graffix card all i have to do is pop in Vista install the X10 and other software to the graffix card, ill be set to play next gen computer games. SO can u help me out?
 05/18/2007 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr.goodbit
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 05/17/2007

why is that stupid smily face in there, just ignore it
 05/22/2007 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bill100
Senior Member

Posts: 507
Joined: 04/26/2006

That mobo information is kinda usless best bet is to open it up and wite down whats written on the board that in really big type.

Also what exact model of your video card??


The only thing I can tell is this

lower the ht bus
lower the ram/fsb ratio to like 1/2
lower the cpu muli
Think that it and then slowly increase the fsb and keeping the PCI bus around 33mhz and keep he PCIe bus around 100MHz or if you have AGP keep it around 66mhz


Increase the fsb by like 5-10 mhz but lower the amount you increase as you go higher.
once the board goes unstable or wont boot up the chip set volts at the smallest your board can go.

after you find the max fsb return it to 200MHz

then put the processor up to max muli and then up the fsb of the mobo to find it's max speed also it it goes unstable at testsing lower the fsb or up the volts at smallest as you can

after max fsb and processor speed return the fsb to 200mhz and process to it's underclock state and find the ram's max speed after puting on a 1/1 ratio with fsb and up the volts at smallest when unstable and also loosen up the timings.

With memory ratios are improant like lets say the max speed you find was 265 mhz while you were on a 1/1 ratio but the max you can put for the processor is 320 to use all the speed out of the memory you need to understand 320 fsb on a 1/1 ratio would make you ram go to 320mhz but max is 260 so you do 260/320 would equal .81 percent so then time that 200 would equal 162 so if you could 162/200 ratio would equal to 260 when the fsb is at 320mhz but because it can only do 166 you have to go to 133/200 ratio which would equal to 212.8mhz

it's best to test out all ram ratios and timings if you really want to squeeze out all the performance out of your system. I'm sure somone can explain this better

keeping mind uping the volts will increase the heat.


then after finding all 3 max speeds use them to find the best speed combo and test to make sure it's not unstable and won't over heat after 24 hour testing.

Also keep in mind increase the volts could realy strain your PSU so you might want to get a good one before Ocing your system

Also BTW the link I gave you is how to OC a AMD system only because it's like this 2 have 2 exact same processor one OCs to 1.8(stock) to3Ghz but the other processor might had a rare flaw in it and can only Oc to 2.4Ghz now if you try to put it to #ghz your going to have problems so it's best to treat all your parts as if noone has ever Oc them and you have to find out how much they OC yourself that way you chances of killing your parts is at close to zero if your careful. Make sure you read the whole link and apply the information to help you OC your system.

Edited: 05/22/2007 at 12:00 PM by Bill100
 05/24/2007 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mr.goodbit
Member

Posts: 140
Joined: 05/17/2007

thanks to all of you guys.
I read the links read what you guys said, then tryed it out. I got close to 400 mhz out of the cpu core's and memory. I could keep going but im trying a bunch of different games and programs to see if it crashes. I had a pretty big game running and Folding@Home running and about 7 other programs and it never missed a beat. It brought each one up instantly and didnt have any trouble with lag at all.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information