AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Cinebench 10 Benchmark Thread!
Topic Summary: Updated -- 10/29/07 7:33 AM EST
Created On: 09/06/2007 03:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 5 6 7 8 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/20/2009 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Here is a run at 3807mhz

Q9650
3807Mhz @1.28v
Ram was at 1015mhz
Score: 16903





-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation

Edited: 04/20/2009 at 03:07 PM by cvsi3
 04/20/2009 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Nice cvsi3,very good score mate,not a lot in it really,i think your ram is helping a little bit,LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/20/2009 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

I think the ram does make a difference, but how much i dont know, The ram im using at the moment its the greatest, but its not cheap either, its mid grade. I may throw in the Team Extreme 1066's to see if it makes a difference. They run at 4-4-4-12 @ 1066mhz. And with loosening the timings can get upwards of 1400mhz. Yea lemmie do that, Im gonna have to run it in single channel tho, cuz one of the sticks is bad, thats why i dont run them. But its worth a shot.

What speed memory are you using moorhen?

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 04/20/2009 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Yeh my Geil Ultra's run @ 4 4 4 12 as well,but there only 800's though,garanteed by geil to overclock really well,never tried it though,rated up to 2.3v.

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/20/2009 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Geil memory does overclock very well, my Evo One 800's ive had up to 1150mhz, and my Black Dragons 1066's ive had to 1200mhz. 1066mhz chips are just overclocked 800's.

I just ran Cinebench with 1x1gb Team Extreme 1015mhz 4-4-4-12 in single channel and scored within 100 points of my previous 3.8Ghz score, so i think the ram does play a big part in it, I wish my other stick was still good, so i can see what it would run at in Dual channel. I have to RMA them one day lol. I keep telling myself im gonna do it, but never get around to it.

My Black Dragons are 2.2-2.4v
Evo Ones are 2.1-2.3
Team Extremes are 2.35-2.45v

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 04/20/2009 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Yeh,i know 1066's are just oc'd 800's,i did have 8gig of g-skill 8500's,but only 5 5 5 15 timings,my board took a dislike to them though,lol!!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/20/2009 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Well for S & giggles i threw the bad stick in to see if it would boot, and sure enough it did, I was able to boot into windows and run Cinebench at 1015mhz 4-4-4-12 timings in dual channel, and it didnt make a difference. So maybe the memory doesnt really play a role in this particular bench. That or one stick is just as good as 2 lol.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 04/20/2009 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Well if i could get my rig to finish cinebench @4.0ghz,i'd be giving you a run for your money,just running it @4.0ghz general work,and to show off,lol.!! @3.95ghz she runs just fine,in fact i think i will give her a run at that speed,see what score i get,lol!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/20/2009 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Go for it, take what you can get. And lemmie know when your done, ill clock mine up and see how it compares at the same speed. Ill even lower my memory as far down as i can to get it as close to yours as i can.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 04/20/2009 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

Thought I would try this with the i7 just for fun.

4200MHz 21x200 4 cores HT on= 8 threads 24,361 DDR3 1600MHz



3800MHz 19x200 4 cores HT off= 4 threads 19,747 DDR3 1600MHz


3800MHz 19x200 4 cores HT on= 8 threads 22,500 DDR3 1600MHz


-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 04/21/2009 05:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Great scores theoldtimer,dont like to admit it,but those I7's are superb cpu's mate,wont buy one though,AMD through and through,lol!!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/21/2009 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kazgirl
Elite

Posts: 2480
Joined: 06/25/2007

Very good scores... it must be said..

But with i7 920 costing £240.00, i7 940 costing £465.00 and the i7 965XE costing £850.00 not to mention higher mobo prices Intel just isn't an option for me, if AMD weren't around I'd have to make do with a much lower spec basic PC configuration.... I'd prefer to pay the much lower prices and have AMD top line at lower performance than pay more for the Intel equivalent, even for the greater performance...

Whilst Intel's prices are so high, there will always be a place for AMD IMO.... now if Intel spent a few years at significantly lower prices they may well price AMD out of the market all together.... thankfully Intel's greed (or maybe to be fair to them - concern for the consumer... as unlikely as that may be) won't allow that to happen..

For me Intel is for those who can afford it, AMD offers performance for the budget conscious of us...

-------------------------

3DMark06 = 20717 / 3DMark Vantage = P13618 / My Overclock Guide / My Troubleshooting Guide
 04/21/2009 08:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

Here here kaz,AMD in my blood,lol!!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/21/2009 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

Thanks moorhen2 the i7 is bad fast. I continue to use and buy both brands of processor because I want to know how they compare head to head not just what I read in a review. It looks as though AMD is fighting its way back with the Phenom II's and I hope the 955be closes the gap somewhat but I guess we'll know more about that in a few days.

Thanks Kaz it's not that strong for an i7 system. The memory holds the system back as it's cl9 and just doesn't o/clock that well.

As far as prices go I paid $280 for my Phenom II 940 but only $229 for my Intel i7 920 of course the memory was a little more than DDR2 I think it was $170 for the 6gig kit but it's $95 today. Of course I was getting DDR3 1600 instead of DDR2 1066 and 6GB rather than 4GB so all in all the price per GB does compare reasonably well. The motherboard is another story though I think I have $370 in it which is nearly $200 more than I paid for the Asus M3A79-T deluxe but it'll run the DDR3 in triple channel and ATI or Geforce GFX cards in crossfireX or Tri SLI. So the platform (X58) gives me a lot of options as far as graphics hardware is concerned. The basic hardware in the i7 was around $770 compared to the AMD 940 at $570 $200 or so less for the AMD (motherboard, CPU and memory). Of course that was back when I purchased these parts and has very little to do with today's prices.
I like both brands of CPU and as long as they compete against one another we will all benefit.

-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 04/21/2009 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
moorhen2
Case Modder

Posts: 983
Joined: 01/23/2009

I like to think, we pay our money and we make our choice,i think it would be a sad day if you only had the one choice ie AMD or INTEL,you need competition to keep prices at a reasonable level,it's like cars,we all have our prefferences,make/model,etc etc,so it's the same for most things,we all like choice,thats what makes the world go round.lol.!!!

-------------------------
AMD 965BE @4.032GHZ 24/7 VCORE 1.528v TEMPS 32C/52C
MSI 790FX GD70
3 X SAPPHIRE 4890 OC's 991/1100
4 GIG G-SKILL RIPJAWS 1600 @ 7 7 7 24 1.65v RUNNING @1680MHZ
4 SAMSUNG F1 750 GIG SATA II HDD's 2X RAID 0
THERMALTAKE ARMOR+ FULL TOWER CASE
THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER MODULAR 850W
THERMALTAKE BIGWATER 760IS WC
28" HANNS-G LCD 1920X1200 3ms
WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 32bit OS
 04/22/2009 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Thats a nice score you got there Oldtimer.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 04/22/2009 08:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theoldtimer
Deprecated

Posts: 494
Joined: 03/10/2008

Originally posted by: cvsi3

Thats a nice score you got there Oldtimer.


Thanks, your Q9650 is putting up some good numbers also.

-------------------------
AMD (one of the) be's @MHz varies- memory-varies by MB
790FX or 890FX may change at any time
1 ASUS 5970+2x5870's in CrossFireX, 3XEvga GTX 260's Tri-SLI
Maxtor 80GB (IDE) or some other drive
Windows 7 RC 32-bit/64-bit, sometimes some other OS
Swiftech Ultra water cooling (cpu only) cool water*
or Clockin Cooler chilled water (cold water) CPU only
 04/22/2009 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

Thanks, I got a new motherboard, My DFI in my Sig was only able to take the cpu to 4050mhz stable, and i scored 18000ish on that board, but this new Gigabyte isnt FSB limited, so i got it up to 4.5Ghz so far, gave me 2000 extra points by increasing 450mhz. I wish it was a Qx, then i would have an unlocked multi.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information