AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 790x, 790GX, 790FX
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/25/2008 11:34 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/25/2008 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hdypenang
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/25/2008

This a bit confusion to me especially to motherboard amd

what is the different between 790X, 790GX, 790FX?
and i don't want on board graphic because i will buy HD4830.
and best recommendation ???
 11/26/2008 12:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

790x= 16x,16x (I think), this is a really good chipset but alas almost everyone abandoned it,dont know why though the only boards available with this chipsed is the MSI K9A2 CF, MSI K9A2 CF V2 and the Gigabyte GA-790x-ds4

790GX=8x,8x, not bad but not uber performing, has some really mondo mobos with this chipset

790FX= 16x,16x(two way), 8x,8x,8x,8x(quadfire), the uberest of uber chipsets best performance and all the hooblah that you get right there
 11/26/2008 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

if you are only going to run 1 video card i say go with the GX,and you can hybrid crossfire the on board graphics with the 4830.
if you plan on getting more than 1 video card then get the FX board with the 750sb.
what CPU are you using?
the rest of the system also?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/26/2008 08:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Firestrider
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 03/24/2008

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_700_chipset_series

You can't hybrid crossfire a 4830 with the IGP on the 790GX chipset.

The 790GX should be good for two discrete cards because they are PCI-E 2.0 lanes which means 8x = 16x PCI-E 1.0, plus you can always overclock this bus.

The 790FX is better suited for > 2 discrete cards.
 11/26/2008 09:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: Firestrider

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A..._chipset_series



You can't hybrid crossfire a 4830 with the IGP on the 790GX chipset.





i cant seem to find where it says that you cant hybrid crossfire the 4830 on your link, can you please point me in the right direction?

i do apolagize for my misinformation.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/26/2008 09:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

this is what i found on the ASUS GX board.

For users who wish to pursue escalated graphics experiences, by just adding one extra ATI graphics card, Hybrid CrossFireX, based on ATI's multi-GPU technology, will link the VGA card with the onboard GPU for enhanced graphical outputs and deliver an 83% improvement on the 3DMark Vantage benchmark. Additionally, to help hardcore users achieve ultimate performances, the M3A78-T also provides 3 PCIe x16 slots to increase VGA card expansion capabilities.

Firestrider,
i thought that any of the 4xxx ati cards will work.
do you have a list of which cards will work?


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/26/2008 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hdypenang
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/25/2008

Phenom 9950 B.E.
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066
Sapphire HD4830
Corsair TX Series Power Supply-TX750W Power Supply
500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
Cooler Master Elite 335

*50 Dollar make a lot of different in my country.
so this my rig.
 11/26/2008 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hdypenang
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/25/2008

Erm.. consider this article..
Comparison mobo 790FX
 11/26/2008 07:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

Originally posted by: hdypenang

Erm.. consider this article..

Comparison mobo 790FX

do you have a 125 or 140 watt 9950?
many boards wont support the 140 watt cpu.

if you have the 125watt then see comments below.....
i cant comment on the gigabyte MB never had one, but the rest are good boards and would recomend every one of them.
just to let you know, these boards are only SB600.
the SB750 is better for the 9950 phenom.
but are more money, so the SB600 will work fine.
the rest of your setup look fine.
let me know how it turns out.
let me know if i can help you out with anything else.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/26/2008 07:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hdypenang
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/25/2008

arg.. so frustration in looking for the good mobo..
it been a week i have been research but still don't come with good conclusion.

after long pounding around, i made up my mind to buy 790GX instead 790FX.
*but i am considering to buy 790FX because i want to have more than one graphic card in the future. argggg.

if possible i want to know your best recommendation of mobo 790GX for me?
thanks you.
 11/26/2008 08:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dimwit13
Code Warrior

Posts: 2667
Joined: 04/04/2008

i can recomend either ASUS or DFI GX.
to each there own,in the end it is your decision.
you will be happy with either one

DFI

ASUS

see the reviews on these boards,do some research and see what you can find.


-dimwit-

-------------------------
I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
 11/26/2008 08:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

There's also one from Asrock that's a bit cheaper but it supports 140W CPU's.

Asrock

If it's avaliable that is.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 11/26/2008 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
francisnz
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 11/14/2008

For you information:

http://www.giga-byte.com/Produ...uctName=GA-MA790X-DS4

This is a 790x mobo and the crossfire runs at 8x, 8x. See Note 4.
 11/26/2008 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Orn
Titanic Jelly Hammer

Posts: 3481
Joined: 01/04/2008

Originally posted by: Liqourice

There's also one from Asrock that's a bit cheaper but it supports 140W CPU's.



Asrock



If it's avaliable that is.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16813157141
 11/26/2008 09:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
francisnz
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 11/14/2008

One other point of interest:

Asus released their list of current mobos which will be AM3 compatible with bios updates, and M3A78-T, the GX mobo is not on it.

I want to buy this board, but am hesitant right now because of this. AMD says all am2 and am2+ boards should be ready, but I've emailed ASUS twice, and they haven't replied (2 weeks now!!!). So the waiting game is on. If you hope to use this board in the future with AM3 cpus, then I say find out for sure. Not sure about the DFI mobo, but MSI GX mobos are compatible.
 01/05/2009 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AutoCog
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/05/2009

Dimwit, check this link. I believe it verifies what you stated earlier. http://game.amd.com/us-en/cont...combo_chart_Nov08.jpg
This chart, if I read it right, seems to be saying that any ATI card is compatible with the onboard graphics in Crossfire mode. That seems a little hard to believe but until I find something to confirm or deny...

For what it is worth I think, as some one posted earlier, that when not gaming the IGP does not take over but the GPU would assuming of course that a stand alone card is installed. I hope the reverse will soon be possible with aBIOS upgrade. Obviously it is more desirable to surf etc. using the integrated graphics and less power.
 01/05/2009 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Firestrider
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 03/24/2008

It says right here: http://ati.amd.com/technology/...idgraphics/index.html

Hybrid crossfire is only for 3400-series discrete GPUs. Is just like how you can't crossfire a 3450 with a 4850.

When inserting my 4850 into the PCI-E slot the IGP on my 790GX board is disabled.
 01/08/2009 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Originally posted by: Firestrider


When inserting my 4850 into the PCI-E slot the IGP on my 790GX board is disabled.


Just curious, does it disable automatically or do you have to shut it off in BIOS or use a jumper or ??

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
 01/18/2009 09:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AutoCog
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/05/2009

Firestrider, with regards to your link. I might have missed it but it is talking about 780 chipsets not 790.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information