AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Athlon 64 X2 5050e 2.6 GHZ or Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Brisbane 2.7GHz
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/21/2008 01:04 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2008 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sixzero
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2008

I intend to use the onboard video at the beginning and no additional graphic card (if one is needed, I won't get it for a while but I am hopeful the board is so good that the question will never come up again )

Yes, you are right, mobo, rams, harddrive, dvd to get started. I will need to be able to use usb ports quickly (camera, ipod...). Sound can wait a little if I need to do something fancy. In other words, I need to get that PC running now and then address all the bells and whistles later.

Does a mobo draws power and how much? I never really thought about it.
My old one was an abit NF7-2S (or something like that) with a video card. That PSU was OK with it.
I need to go back to the basic and I need to check if the PSU is still in working order (no PSU tester on hand). Any suggestion?

Thanks
 12/30/2008 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

It will probably be enough since the CPU is only 45W and you're not gonna add anything more on. Though, since it is that old it might not be 100% stable but you'll notice that. Try, if it doesn't work well you can get a new one.

PSU's aren't really my area so I hope someone else can tell you a bit more. Supposedly there is some kind of website where you can calculate the power need but I don't know where to find it. I don't know really which PSU's to recommend if you need a new one besides the ones I have experience with, Corsair and Hiper. They've all worked very well for me.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 12/31/2008 01:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sixzero
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2008

Just in case, below is one link for power calculation. It could be a little less complicated. A quick test gave me a number which I find was way too much (over 600 W) so I need to work on this more to refine the numbers!
I am doing some more reading and I posted on another forum concerning PSUs. I am getting there...

Other parts I have ordered have already been shipped from Newegg... should be here soon.

Thanks again for all the talks. It has been enlightening

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp
 12/31/2008 07:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

According to that my system draws 446W which rings true. It worked perfectly well with my previous 550W PSU. I got this new 750W one to be prepared for the future a bit.

But this tells me that you should be ok as long as your PSU isn't to old and tired.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 12/31/2008 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sixzero
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2008

Glad you found the link useful.

I also think I am OK with my PSU. It used to power an athlon xp 2500 (or 2400, I forgot), and a video card. The connectors for PSUs have also changed with time, ie form 20-pin or 4-pin connectors to 24-pin and 8-pin connectors, but it looks like that my mobo still can be powered using the 20 or 4-pin connectors.

I'll get to the bottom of it one way or another and will be doing some more reading on the subject.
 12/31/2008 09:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kab
Senior Member

Posts: 1349
Joined: 02/03/2007

Originally posted by: sixzero

You are right but I am not convinced it is critical when you use light applications only; If you have 4GB installed (which I will do), can't you share 512 Mb without compromising efficiency (speed, power..) if your mobo does not have sideport?


Speed/power will be compromised but speed, very little, you are right. Power compromise is what I had in mind. Using RAM as graphics buffer means the CPU/RAM will always be working and that makes the standby power usage of the system higher since efficient C-States will rarely be entered into this way.
 01/03/2009 01:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sixzero
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Joined: 12/21/2008

Originally posted by: Kab

Power compromise is what I had in mind. Using RAM as graphics buffer means the CPU/RAM will always be working and that makes the standby power usage of the system higher since efficient C-States will rarely be entered into this way.


I did not think about this. That is a good point.
From a PSU stand point of view, trying to minimize power consumption, I wonder which one make more sense? side port or no side port? I wonder.

Anyhow, I selected the ASRock mobo with the sideport and your comment is imo another point in favor of the ASRock.
 01/19/2009 05:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hsvt
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/19/2009

ASRock A780GXE/128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5050e Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 45W Dual-Core Processor Model ADH5050DOBOX
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ
Western Digital Caviar Green WD6400AACS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (bare drive)

I 'm planning to buy something alike :

but this 5050e isn't getting all out of the motherboard? I mean it is not getting the full profit of Hyper transport 3.0? nore the split energy supply?

Is AMD planning 45 W Am2+ cpu's?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information