AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Does Phenom II X4 955 supports DDR3 1600MHz RAM?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/11/2009 10:37 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/11/2009 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
electrosam
Newbie

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/11/2009

Hello.
I just bought AMD Phenom II X4 955 CPU.
I also ordered DDR3 RAM but the seller has sent me DDR3 1600MHz RAM.
Will the processor support 1600MHz DDR3 RAM ?
Please help me out.
Thanks.
 12/11/2009 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Welcome to the forum!

Yes the 955 is an AM3 processor, which supports DDR3 memory.
However, your AM3 board would need to support 1600MHz memory.
Some AM3 boards only "officially" support up to 1333MHz, but will run 1333 overclocked up to 1600MHz.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/11/2009 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

The CPU does not support the DDR 3 1600 ram native.

Native max speed supported is 1333 Mhz.

Act of running 1600 Mhz is a overclock. Ability to run 1600 Mhz will be reliant on CPU North bridge/memory controller - your ram - Board.

I would say over 90% of people are able to run 1600 Mhz DDR 3 just fine.

Best of luck.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 12/20/2009 04:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Satchmo2002
Fanboi

Posts: 93
Joined: 12/20/2009

I have a related question but I am getting the "Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W" processor and the "MSI 790FX-GD70" mobo http://www.msicomputer.com/ind..._no=&prod_no=1740#menu you can see from the boards specs on the site it supports up to DDR3 2133 ram.. My question is can the processor actually run DDR3 2133 or is it maxed at like DDR3 1600??
 12/20/2009 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Originally posted by: Satchmo2002

I have a related question but I am getting the "Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W" processor and the "MSI 790FX-GD70" mobo http://www.msicomputer.com/ind..._no=&prod_no=1740#menu you can see from the boards specs on the site it supports up to DDR3 2133 ram.. My question is can the processor actually run DDR3 2133 or is it maxed at like DDR3 1600??


Native support is 1333MHz, and like 1600, 2133 would be achieved only via overclock.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/20/2009 08:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Satchmo2002
Fanboi

Posts: 93
Joined: 12/20/2009

You can't just purchase 2133 modules, and set it up in the bios, and if so how will the system perform? I've heard that the memory controller wouldn't be able to handle it.
 10/29/2010 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
biti
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 10/29/2010

Hi there!

I know, its an old topic now, but im a single user who has already checked about 627 forums for now, and ur previus comments seemed trustable for me. So I would like you to take a look at my specific question below.

on a
Gigabyte GA-770T-USB3 motherboard
i plan an AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE cpu
and a Radeon HD 4850 VGA

im curious about which memory modules to pick. i think 4GB kit would do, and presonally i prefer corsair as a manufacturer so thats done i think.
but i cant decide, if i would better choose an "officially supported" 1333MHz at cl9, or an 1600 one, which is not supported by the CPU, but the motherboard. My final question is, what do you think, if i "overlock" the 1600 memory form the downgraded 1333 to the original 1600Mhz, would the processor - or so the system - benefit from the plus speed, despite of being optimized for 1333 ones? Or should i simply choose the "lower" one? yea, i forgot to mention, both are with cl 9-9-9-24.

and another, what if i use amd overdrive to optimize everything?

I would appriciate any kind of advice, thanks in advance. and sry for my eng
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information