AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: CPU Fan Pin Question
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/07/2010 11:50 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
Answer This question was answered by Ford86, on Thursday, December 9, 2010 7:22 PM

Answer:
I did read your post but I guess I was under the impression it would of ran at 6000 rpm since it claims to operated at 3050 - 6000 RPM. It will do the job for now but I will pick up a 3 wire fan this weekend. I do appreciate your help though.
 12/07/2010 11:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ford86
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2010

All,

I have tried to search for a straight answer but havent come up with anything.

To sum it up basically my fan on my heatsink failed, I have a replacement heatsink but the fan has 4 pin connector (cool master DK8-7G52B-A2-GP claims to run from 3050-6000 RPM)where my motherboard only has a 3 pin receptacle for the cpu fan.

So my question is if I plug it into the 3 pin cpu fan slot will it function like my old fan that was a 3 pin fan? Some posts I have read it will run full speed and some say it will run slow...

How does the 4th wire being unused effect the operation of the fan?
 12/08/2010 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fat Sack
B1FF

Posts: 117
Joined: 06/26/2010

the fan will run at full speed.
you can go into your bios and set it up so it wont run full speed.
there should be different profiles you can set so it runs at a slower speed, until the cpu heats up, then the fan will speed up.
 12/08/2010 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

The 4th wire is used primarily to control the fan speed through bios fan control options.
If the 4-pin CM fan model that you have has a thermal sensor, then Cool & Quiet will still work.
If it does not have a thermal sensor, then the fan will probably run at full speed all of the time.
This is why all stock AMD heatsink/fans come with a thermal sensor, so that Cool & Quiet will function properly.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/09/2010 02:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ford86
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2010

A quick update, I installed the new fan and its up and running however its idling at 3068 rpm (3013 min 3125 max) with a spike up to 3125 rpm while sitting in windows with firefox open, my temps on my athlon 64 x2 are at Core 0: 33C (min 31C max 40C) core 1: 26C (min 25C max 35C) it doesnt seem to be spinning faster if I run a game and try and put load onto it. I have a funny feeling it wont speed up any without the 4th wire connected.

I went into the bios and tried a few different fan settings and that has no effect
 12/09/2010 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Did you bother to read my post?
Your fan is undoubtedly running at FULL speed ALL of the time.
Look up the RPM specs on your new heatsink/fan, I bet the fan's max RPM rating is around 3300 RPM.
Fans actual RPM's is typically about 10% below their rated RPM.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 12/09/2010 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ford86
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2010

Answer Answer
I did read your post but I guess I was under the impression it would of ran at 6000 rpm since it claims to operated at 3050 - 6000 RPM. It will do the job for now but I will pick up a 3 wire fan this weekend. I do appreciate your help though.
 12/13/2010 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flywheel
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/13/2010

my amd processor fan spins slowly. I bought in jakarta.indonesia. so fast heat, when compared with pentium lose much. what's the solution?

-------------------------
try for maximum amd
 12/17/2010 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ford86
Lurker

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/07/2010

I am reluctant to post again, but I managed to get a new 3 pin fan that ran outstanding however I completely over looked the most basic electrical problems....turns out that the capacitors for my mobo are failing, one is leaking from the top and a coupler others are bulging.

For reference my mobo is a MSI-7125 n1996 type that has been running a athlon 64 x2 3800+ for the past 5 years.

Shame on me for having tunnel vision, but on the bright side I finally have a reason to build a new computer!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information