Increase font size
Topic Title: Need Advice Regarding CPU / Motherboard
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/17/2010 10:42 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/17/2010 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Photoguy
Lurker

I'm an ADM user and decided that I wanted to build my frst PC after adding components to my current HP. I have done a lot of PC component reading on the TigerDirect website but I'm out of my league regarding a CPU / Motherboard purchase. Your help is appreciated....

I am a photographer using a minimum of two applications - Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop CS5 - simultaniously. Upon the addition of Photoshop my system began to run slow for the first time.

Current PC is an HP Pavilion 16614f desktop.
Windows7 64-bit
AMD phenom X4 9500
M2n68-la (narra3) motherboard
6GB DDR2
Nvidia GeForce 9500 GT1GB DDR2 graphics card
3 WD Hard drives
Power supply is 300 W (reading only recently about power and this is probably low)

New build:
Purchased recently: Ultra mid-tower case, 2 120mm fans, LSP 550 W power supply.

I'm intending to move my current hard drives and Nvidia graphics card to the Ultra case. I recently did a clean Windows 7 64-bit download and then added all of my applications. Also cleaned up other drives and they are in great shape again.

Here is where I need help please:
I would like to use the 6 GB of memory that is in my HP for the new build if it is a smart thing to do. However, I do not understand the differences in memory.