AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: can i change an laptop processor??
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2012 08:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2012 08:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
copa
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/12/2012

i want to change my laptop phenom II x2 procesor with an phenom II x6 1100T, can it be?? or its imposible??
 06/11/2012 02:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

only of the laptop supports it, for instance i replaced the Celeron in mine with an i7 but my laptop supported it

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 06/11/2012 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
copa
Lurker

Posts: 10
Joined: 05/12/2012

as far as i know the phenom II has the same processor sockect so i dont believe that could be a problem... but processors come soldered??? or they are just as the normal desktop that comes only with the socket.......
 06/13/2012 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Liqourice
Case Modder

Posts: 1616
Joined: 08/31/2008

Hold on here.

First: Laptop CPU's are completely different from ordinary CPU's. I seriously doubt that it's the same socket. As far as I know all Laptop Phenoms are socket S1 while the desktop Phenoms are socket AM3.

Second: Even if you were able to use a PII X6 1109T in there I doubt it will work. There are two reasons for this. 1. BIOS will most likely not support it. 2. The CPU you want is way to powerhungry and produce to much heat that it would overheat immediately in a laptop.

So, if you want to upgrade you need to look around for another Socket S1 Phenom II and the fastest one there is is the Phenom II X4 940 BE.

-------------------------
Main Rig:
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower : Corsair 750HX Modular PSU : Asus Crosshair III Formula : Phenom II X4 965 125W
Corsair H-50 CPU Cooler : Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20-1T 2x2GB : WD Caviar Black 32MB 640GB : Sapphire HD5870 Vapor-X
HTPC:
Antec Fusion Remote Black : ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO : Athlon II X2 240e : Crucial BallistiX 1600 2GB x2
Corsair 400W : Sapphire Radeon HD6850 : Lite-On iHBS112 BD-Burner : WD Caviar Green 500 GB
 06/15/2012 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Another thing to keep in mind is that laptops are not built to be taken apart, like your average desktop PC. Tiny screwdrivers and other specialized tools are sometimes needed, and you're going to pay a premium for parts since there isn't the same kind of DIY market for laptop components.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 06/17/2012 02:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MU_Engineer
Dr. Mu

Posts: 1837
Joined: 08/26/2006

Originally posted by: copa

i want to change my laptop phenom II x2 procesor with an phenom II x6 1100T, can it be?? or its imposible??


That would be impossible. The laptop units use Socket S1g3 or S1g4 while the desktop ones use Socket AM3 so the Phenom II X6 1100T wouldn't even fit in the laptop socket.

You can change laptop CPUs with a suitable replacement laptop CPU without much trouble once you get the computer opened up. Many corporate laptops like my Dell have a big access panel on the bottom of the machine that you unscrew with a common #1 Phillips head screwdriver. I canget at its CPU in about 30 seconds. Consumer laptops can be a little more difficult with snap-fit parts and in the case of Crapples, "no user serviceable parts inside" and goofy three-lobed screws to prevent the user from trying. Once you get the bottom off, the entire guts of most laptops are there for easy pickings. Removing the heatsink assembly generally will use a #0 or #1 Phillips head screwdriver which are commonly available and not all that small. The CPU is a standard pin grid array unit like a desktop Phenom II except there is a normal-sized slotted screw that you have to turn to release the CPU rather than a lever to flip.

-------------------------


Edited: 06/17/2012 at 02:20 AM by MU_Engineer
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information