AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: home theater pcs
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/06/2005 12:09 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/06/2005 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JonJon
Code Monkey

Posts: 2205
Joined: 02/25/2004

I am just curious, would I be able to network home theater so it could send tv signals over a network??? I'm very new to that and would want to try it in the future so if anyone knows anything feel free to post.

EDIT: To put it in more detail. I want to build a cheap computer, get two tv tuners. I am moving into my friends room which is in the basement and I was hoping to build this pc, network it through his network and broadcast tv over to my computer and his computer. Also being able to change the channel and what not from my computer and his computer (each of us using one of the tuners), no idea if this could work or not, i'm just curious.

DOUBLE EDIT:

Also for all of you wondering, I plan on spending 550 bucks on this (prices will drop most likely by then)

MSI K8T Neo-V mobo.
Sempron 2600+
Two MSI (hopefully sapphire will get more to newegg) ATI 550pro tv tuner cards.
1x 512mb crucial ram.
200gb seagate barracuda
Lite-On DVD-ROM
ATI Radeon 9600se (when my friend upgrades his computer, he'll just have that lying around so i might aswell put it in there)


All in an antec case (basically because it comes with a 350watt smartpower).

If I am not running anything else I don't see why this computer couldn't do the job, just restart it once a week or so to keep it stable.

-------------------------
 09/06/2005 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JonJon
Code Monkey

Posts: 2205
Joined: 02/25/2004

though nobody cared much to respond lol, i figured it out on my own, found a program that will let me do exactly what i want it to do.

-------------------------
 09/06/2005 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lswartz
Senior Member

Posts: 626
Joined: 12/10/2004

That is a neat idea. I didn't know that you could do that either. I have put in a Hauppauge WinTV card in my wife's computer connected to an antenna. She gets the best reception in the house (I haven't figured out why yet). I also have watched Bit Torrents i.e. The 4400 & Dead Like Me on the TV downstairs by sharring the file to a laptop connected to the TV with an S-video ant the audio from the laptop too. The sound loses a bit of volume but works well.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+ socket 939 (Newcastle)
A8V Deluxe
Antec Sonata 380W PS +12V 24A
2 x 256 MB Crucial Ballistix 2-2-2-8
Zalman fan CNPS7000B-ALCu
XFX 6600GT

Phenom 9950
Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H
Gigabyte HD 4850 GV-R485ZL-512H
2 x 1 GB Crucial Ballistix
HD- Segate ST3400620AS - Windows XP Pro
HD-Samsung HD502IJ
DVD- Samsung TS-H653N
PSU- Antec 380S +12V 24A
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information