AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: MB & PC3200 Memory Compatibility
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2005 08:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2005 08:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jas
Driod

Posts: 179
Joined: 08/15/2004

Howdy!

I have a PC 3200 bus in my ASUS motherboard. Now, do I have to get identical memory (PC 3200), or can i go higher. And if so, how much higher? Thanks all!

-------------------------
AMD 64 3200+ | ASUS A8V DELUXE 939 | OCZ 1 GB x 2 RAM | CREATIVE AUDIGY 2 ZS | NVIDIA GFORCE FX 6200 256 MB AGP | SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER 22" LCD WIDESCREEN | ANTEC SMARTPOWER 450W PSU | WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL SP3

AMD XP 2800+ | 1GB RAM | CREATIVE AUDIGY 2 ZS | NVIDIA GEFORCE 5500+ AGP | ASUS 23" LCD WIDESCREEN | WINDOWS 7 32BIT
 05/03/2005 09:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nwo
Senior Member

Posts: 2510
Joined: 11/06/2004

The speeds don't have to be the same, just because the mobo says it supports ddr333/400 doesn't mean that you can't go any higher. I don't think there's a single mobo out there that says supports up to ddr(1)600.

So you can pretty much go as high as you want with the RAM speed
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information