AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Finally! I've joined the A64 crowd!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/11/2005 07:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/11/2005 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
$ilent$uicide
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/08/2004

Its been 3 years (1 year before the release and 2 years after the release) that ive been semi-patiently waiting..... well the waits OVER!

Just got done building my FX-57 rig last night (i spent 8 hours tearing the previous watercooling crap out, radiator, resevoir, and all drives, basically the only thing left in there was the PS). And then i cleaned out about 2 years worth of hidden and trapped dust.

Then i built up the K8N Neo4 Platinum with the newest water blocks from dangerden and installed the mobo, then proceeded to re-shuffle the tubing, on a side note the chipset cooler on the K8N is really, really close to the PCIe slot, so close in fact that after i had installed the water block on the chipset i then installed the X850 XT PE to see how that would line up. Well it fit, just barely, i mean i had to slightly force the card into place, the plastic housing on the card (near the back edge of card) was bowing in slightly because of the width difference, but hey no biggie as i managed to get it in there and working.

The only real installation problem i encountered was that on my old nforce2 board i had my audigy card placed high on the pci ladder, like right under my agp card slot, reason being is the water pump had to fit (underneath) the audigy card so the pump could sit at a 45 degree angle inside my case for the simple reason that the hose that comes out of the front of the pump wasnt going to be smashed (and pinched) up against the side of the door when i went to shut it. That being said, you guys know that the X850XT PE is a double wide fat boy of a card, so its taking up an extra pci slot. 'Eh i figure no big deal i think i have room to move it down 1 slot and still fit the pump in there underneath it'....... WRONG! Oh yes, it would have fit in the next slot if the new chipset block hadent been in the way. So i had to move it down even further (1 more slot), and in its place i slid the D-bracket in there so no space was wasted. Only thing is i had to, more or less, jam the pump in there, now at a 90 degree angle, and it just barely fit. The front tube comming out of the pump is just slightly bent to the side but not enough to restrict flow, which is a good thing.

So after a little leak test (about an hour's worth, i should of waited longer, they say do a 24 hour test but hey ive been waiting 3 years and im in a hurry here! ) I took the machine over to my table, hooked up all cables and crossed my fingers that all was well when i hit the power button (which shouldent of been a problem because when i bought my mobo from spatan technologies, and if you pay $10 more on your bill they will do a full battery of tests on it before they even ship it to you) so i exhaled and hit the button, POW, i was in business.

Everything was pretty straight forward, even though i hadent seen several of the new bios options, i installed the OS, then proceeded to install ALL of my apps. The funny thing here is on some of my smaller apps, when i hit the install button, and i mean right after hitting it, the load bar said 100%, just like that. I took a look at that and thought 'oh crap, something is wrong, i think i screwed up the os install somehow, the dam programs arent even loading correctly there just skipping the install and displaying 100% complete'. Well, obviously, im not used to this kind of speed so it took me a few mins, and a few more smaller programs being installed, to realize that everything was indeed fine, i had not screwed up anything during the installing of the os, they were just installing so dam fast i did not comprehend just how fast of a system i had here. Im still laughing about that one!

Anyway i still have a couple of apps to load. I havent even got around to trying any games yet (trust me i will ) so im looking forward to that. You guys are probably going to think im crazy but i still have only played 1/5th of doom and about 1/4 of HL2, just because i wanted to save them for this new system, i wanted to see them in there finest presentation, and that i will do very shortly.

P.S. For you techies, i managed to grab my part number right before i slathered it with ceramique its something like this:

CABCE 0516WPMW

Heres a picture of my setup....... /wub.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wub.gif' />





-------------------------
XP Pro SP2|Enermax 600w|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx|FX-57 @ 2.95G|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500LLPro|Raptor-74G SATA|Maxtor-300G SATA|BenQ 16X Dual 8X DL|Lite-On 16X DVD Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitec Z-680
 07/11/2005 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

QUOTE($ilent$uicide @ Jul 11 2005, 06:22 PM)
[right][snapback]456969[/snapback][/right]

clean room lol nice set up is the water coolant uv reactive? becase u get some cold cathods, ps i like ur 5.1 set up

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 07/11/2005 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

Nice comp but i like ur speakers what kind are they bud?

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 07/11/2005 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

look in his sig

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 07/11/2005 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

Oh ok thanks i didn't think he would put it in his sig.

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 07/11/2005 08:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
$ilent$uicide
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/08/2004

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Jul 11 2005, 03:26 PM)clean room lol nice set up is the water coolant uv reactive? becase u get some cold cathods, ps i like ur 5.1 set up
[right][snapback]456971[/snapback][/right]



Nope just plain old distilled water and a little Zerex radiator coolant. I used to use uv reactive coolant but not this time. This time i just got uv reactive (blue) tubing. /wink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wink.gif' />

-------------------------
XP Pro SP2|Enermax 600w|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx|FX-57 @ 2.95G|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500LLPro|Raptor-74G SATA|Maxtor-300G SATA|BenQ 16X Dual 8X DL|Lite-On 16X DVD Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitec Z-680
 07/11/2005 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jakepp
Senior Member

Posts: 341
Joined: 04/13/2004

yea, nice room!

-------------------------
MSI K8N Neo4/SLI Platinum / Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego / X850XT PE / 1GB OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 / 1GB Kingston DDR400 PC3200 / Raptor 74G 10,000RPM x 2
NEC LCD1970GX /


"Be Bop or Be Dead"
 07/11/2005 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

this si supposed to b about his computer but..ha yea i like that room up at the top of the steps. and yea...A64 SPEED!!! i take it with the watercooling ull b OCin? if so let us kno how it goes...

im expectin a nice jump in performance wen i move to A64 now lol..

nice setup /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 07/11/2005 09:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

Technic i dont get something you say in your sig:
Current #1:
A64 Venice 3000+/DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D/2x256 Geil PC4000/Sapphire Radeon X700Pro@450/550(all on stock cooling)51,616-AM3 7768-3DMark03"
Then you say you say "im expectin a nice jump in performance wen i move to A64 now lol.."
Just wondering.

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 07/11/2005 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

hes useing his prescott now his a64 is at a nother house

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 07/11/2005 09:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

OK but he oviously used it? so doesn't that mean he already has a Amd 64?

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 07/11/2005 09:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

yea im talking about moving from "current #2"(prescott) to "replacing current #2"(X2). i kinda just meant that it should b nice over at this house to move to A64, since i use this computer a lot more often. also, this computer will hav 1GB of RAM, while "current #1" only has 512. i belive the 3800+ is also 2xVenice 3200+ so even if i dont multitak ill notice a slight 200MHz increase. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

@o'neil: hope i answered your question.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 07/11/2005 09:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
O'Neil
Senior Member

Posts: 3073
Joined: 02/02/2005

Kind of its still not 100% clear. I mean if you own Current#1 you technicly are already a AMD 64 user.. But anyways lets leave it at that.

-------------------------
AMD 6000 X2 @3.2GHZ | 4GB OCZ Platinum | 4870 XFX RADEON 1GB | Corsair 750 Watt PSU |
 07/11/2005 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

QUOTE(O'Neil @ Jul 11 2005, 05:26 PM)Kind of its still not 100% clear. I mean if you own Current#1 you technicly are already a AMD 64 user.. But anyways lets leave it at that.
[right][snapback]457052[/snapback][/right]


/dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' /> haha ok ok i get wat ya mean...

@$ilent$uicide: so will ya be OCin?

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 07/11/2005 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
$ilent$uicide
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Joined: 07/08/2004

QUOTE(technic58 @ Jul 11 2005, 05:29 PM)/dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' /> haha ok ok i get wat ya mean...

@$ilent$uicide: so will ya be OCin?
[right][snapback]457056[/snapback][/right]


No, not right away. I mean i just spent $1000 on this thing, im in no hurry to try and fry it lol, besides 2.8G is smoking fast as it is.

Gimme a few months and then ill experiment with overclocking it. Im hoping to push it over 3 gigs. /ohmy.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ohmy.gif' />

-------------------------
XP Pro SP2|Enermax 600w|Asus A8N-SLi Dlx|FX-57 @ 2.95G|2x1024 Corsair XMS3500LLPro|Raptor-74G SATA|Maxtor-300G SATA|BenQ 16X Dual 8X DL|Lite-On 16X DVD Dual|Nvidia XFX 7900GTX|Dell UltraSharp 2405FPW 24" LCD|Creative X-Fi|Logitec Z-680
 07/11/2005 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

i wasnt sayin u HAV to OC it, i was just wondering. i kno wat ya mean tho..spending a lto of money on a system and then nto wantin to OC...i kno i want to get my X2 to a bit higher clockspeed but wen i actualyl buy it i probably wont push it 100MHz farther /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

well good luck and enjoy FX SPEED /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 07/11/2005 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
0810
Member

Posts: 103
Joined: 06/05/2005

where did you get that table?

-------------------------
Athlon 64 3200+ Stock Venice
Gigabyte 6600GT
Asus A8N-E
1 gig Ram
FSP Bluestorm AX500
 07/11/2005 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

lol every body is more interested in the room than the comp (me too) /laugh.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='laugh.gif' />

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 07/11/2005 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jakepp
Senior Member

Posts: 341
Joined: 04/13/2004

maybe it would be fun to see what other peoples room/work area looks.
we can get to know a little about members who post pictures of their pc room/office. Don't you think?
....just an idea

-------------------------
MSI K8N Neo4/SLI Platinum / Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego / X850XT PE / 1GB OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 / 1GB Kingston DDR400 PC3200 / Raptor 74G 10,000RPM x 2
NEC LCD1970GX /


"Be Bop or Be Dead"
 07/11/2005 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

QUOTE(Jakepp @ Jul 11 2005, 09:45 PM)maybe it would be fun to see what other peoples room/work area looks.
we can get to know a little about members who post pictures of their pc room/office. Don't you think?
....just an idea
[right][snapback]457096[/snapback][/right]

i whould, if i had a digtal camera /dry.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='dry.gif' />

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information