AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Replacement Mobo Help. Quick answers needed!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/19/2005 10:02 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/19/2005 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Hello all! Since my mobo died after a failed BIOS flash I'm currently computer-less, and I'm sitting in my local library using their PC's so I can order a new mobo. I'm just wondering if anyone's around to offer some advice. I intended to replace the K8N Neo Platinum with another one, but maybe I should consider something else? I'm sitting here looking at the DFI LanParty UT nF3 250Gb. I've had no real need to consider this board but maybe it's a good idea? I like DFI stuff. Quick help is needed as I only have limited time on here, so if anyone's around who knows about this board, post up! Cheers. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
 09/19/2005 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

After my own troubles with MSI I'm biased. I'd say go with the DFI, but again, I am biased.

-Adam
 09/19/2005 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

I'm very tempted, also it's a little cheaper than the MSI.

 09/19/2005 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JesterOnYEr6
Senior Member

Posts: 5537
Joined: 01/21/2004

Go with MSI if you want a stable platform if you are going to overclock go DFI. The DFI usually take some time and tweakage to get them stable from my personal hands on experience while the MSI is pretty much set it and forget it.

-------------------------
Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.5 ghz | Ati HD2900XT | OCZ Titanium XTC DDR800 4Gigs | MSI K9A2 Platinum | XFi Xtreme | Zalman 9700 | Enermax 620W | Dell 2405 | G7 | G15
 09/19/2005 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

Jesus man.....go DFI.....its not as if you have any real choice in the matter!

Its more or less the best Soc. 754 motherboard out there, overclocks to the moon (and back again).

Granted, you dont really get any of that fancy front or back panel stuff the more mainstream motherboards have, but if you had stuff with your old board, try plugging it in anyway. Its only USB crap, so it'll probably work.

Just get it. You wont regret it. (I havent...so far) /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />

Edit: Yeah, sure it needs tweaking for the best performance, but you love that type of stuff anyway. /ph34r.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='ph34r.gif' />
 09/19/2005 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Someone112233
Senior Member

Posts: 500
Joined: 08/19/2005

what about a bios replacement for your old mobo. http://www.biosman.com/replacement.htm' ">http://www.biosman.com/replacement.htm

Then you get to have your old mobo again. (wish I knew they did this when I broke my emachine) /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />
 09/19/2005 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Thanks for the advice man. I think I'll go for it, I can't imagine there being any reason not to, just hopr my video card fits, etc. Looks like there's room, but I have no idea how high that silver passive heatsink sits.
 09/19/2005 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE(ninjastyle @ Sep 19 2005, 06:40 AM)Thanks for the advice man. I think I'll go for it, I can't imagine there being any reason not to, just hopr my video card fits, etc. Looks like there's room, but I have no idea how high that silver passive heatsink sits.
[right][snapback]505709[/snapback][/right]


Its low...about a centimetre and a half high, its just a bit of old aluminium. Not the best cooler, but surprisingly the Northbridge doesnt really get hot. Mines running at about 300Mhz HTT, at only 1.6v and I'd say its lukewarm. 38*C says Speedfan.

The one thing, and possibly only thing I hate about the board...is the AGP Clip. Its a [content edited] to get your graphics card back out of the PC again. (Tip, Flat Head screwdriver shoved in, and then rotated 45* unclips it). Its a VGA Clip designed by Escher IMHO. /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />

Edit: Just noticed its International "Talk Like a Pirate Day" so....

Arr.....buy the DFI me hearty! Thar be MSI off the port bow...arr.....fire ol' Faithfull!
 09/19/2005 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

OK, I'll bear that in mind. I'm just reading a thread at OcUK forums about the DFI shipping with old BIOS and people having BSOD's until they've updated the BIOS. Nowm, this is the exact reason why I'm replacing my K8N -- nightmare BIOS. Reading the thread at OcUK doesn't leave me feeling too confident. BIOS updates were always easy enough on the K8N, and I updated many times, but it only takes one bad flash and you're screwed. I hope the DFI isn't a nightmare in the BIOS department, I don't wanna have to start updating BIOS straight away!
 09/19/2005 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
landlord
Senior Member

Posts: 1147
Joined: 08/14/2004

QUOTE(Silk_the_Absent1 @ Sep 19 2005, 08:04 AM)After my own troubles with MSI I'm biased. I'd say go with the DFI, but again, I am biased.

-Adam
[right][snapback]505694[/snapback][/right]



im with silk, i'm not a fan of msi myself.


-------------------------
Favorite Quotes: "NOPE. better reformat. probably the dreaded "WINDOWS" virus." - nolano
"RID[content edited]! lol. so funny how the filter blocks out the [content edited] part." - nolano
 09/19/2005 10:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Hehe. Me neither.
 09/19/2005 11:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

Please remember, I am biased. They sent me a messed up board (brand new, packed extremely poorly) when I RMA'd my messed up board. The new one had exactly the same problems the old one had. This was after them having it for just under a month.

Their support staff was less then helpful, and in fact downright rude. I'm sorry to the MSI fans, but after this, I am biased.

-Adam
 09/19/2005 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Le_Petit_Lapin
Senior Member

Posts: 4504
Joined: 06/07/2004

QUOTE(ninjastyle @ Sep 19 2005, 06:51 AM)OK, I'll bear that in mind. I'm just reading a thread at OcUK forums about the DFI shipping with old BIOS and people having BSOD's until they've updated the BIOS. Nowm, this is the exact reason why I'm replacing my K8N -- nightmare BIOS. Reading the thread at OcUK doesn't leave me feeling too confident. BIOS updates were always easy enough on the K8N, and I updated many times, but it only takes one bad flash and you're screwed. I hope the DFI isn't a nightmare in the BIOS department, I don't wanna have to start updating BIOS straight away!
[right][snapback]505717[/snapback][/right]


Well.....you'll need to falsh it once, possibly, as they ship with an older BIOS. But then thats the same with all motherboards innit? It'll boot fine with your CG Core though, the people that are having problems are the ones with new E revision Semprons and the like.

BIOS's are here. Latest Official One works fine for me' ">http://www.dfi.com.tw/Product/...TEGORY_TYPE=MB&SITE=US
Official DFI Forums.' ">http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/

If the board doesnt overclock as much as you would like it to....theres Beta BIOS's on the DFI Street Forums that are customised for specifc RAM and processor types.

Incidently I cant see why it wouldn't be rock solid at stock speeds if its also rock solid at insane overclocks.
 09/19/2005 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JesterOnYEr6
Senior Member

Posts: 5537
Joined: 01/21/2004

Go to www.dfi-street.com and read up on the new board you are getting and then decide.

-------------------------
Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.5 ghz | Ati HD2900XT | OCZ Titanium XTC DDR800 4Gigs | MSI K9A2 Platinum | XFi Xtreme | Zalman 9700 | Enermax 620W | Dell 2405 | G7 | G15
 09/19/2005 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ninjastyle
Senior Member

Posts: 15287
Joined: 03/26/2004

Thanks very much everyone, I have ordered the DFI. See you guys in a few days.

Jester, hope you had a good birthday. /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />

 09/19/2005 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JesterOnYEr6
Senior Member

Posts: 5537
Joined: 01/21/2004

Enjoy your new board and thanks I had a great one. /biggrin.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin.gif' />

-------------------------
Phenom 9600 BE @ 2.5 ghz | Ati HD2900XT | OCZ Titanium XTC DDR800 4Gigs | MSI K9A2 Platinum | XFi Xtreme | Zalman 9700 | Enermax 620W | Dell 2405 | G7 | G15
 09/19/2005 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

I'v had great success with with MSI, so I say them. Silk just had one bad experiance. It could have happened with any manufacturer. But he had MSI, so he blamed it on them. DFI is no greater a "company" as MSI... Just base the desision on what you want stability or overclockability. I hear MSI is a little bit more stable then the DFI boards but the DFI boards can overclock highly. MSI is also known for a little bit of overclocking potential. Choose whats best for you.

[content edited], didn't see that post, Have fun with your DFI

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 09/19/2005 11:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

QUOTE(FrozenSteel @ Sep 19 2005, 09:39 AM)Silk just had one bad experiance.  It could have happened with any manufacturer.  But he had MSI, so he blamed it on them.[right][snapback]505742[/snapback][/right]

Incorrect. I had my original board go bad, had to wait a week for an RMA number, had to wait a month to get the board back (all the while they steadfastly refused to give me any status updates save for "We have a detailed testing process".), then come to find out the replacement has the same problems. I contacted their tech support, and was given another run-around for a week before I finally gave up on them.

I suppose that does count for "1" bad experience...

-Adam
 09/19/2005 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
FrozenSteel
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6365
Joined: 06/11/2004

QUOTE(Silk_the_Absent1 @ Sep 19 2005, 07:45 AM)Incorrect. I had my original board go bad, had to wait a week for an RMA number, had to wait a month to get the board back (all the while they steadfastly refused to give me any status updates save for "We have a detailed testing process".), then come to find out the replacement has the same problems. I contacted their tech support, and was given another run-around for a week before I finally gave up on them.

I suppose that does count for "1" bad experience...

-Adam
[right][snapback]505747[/snapback][/right]


Silk you must understand that no matter what company it is, it happens to people all the time which is why people are motherboard biased. I mean some people might disagree with you and say DFI is crap because, what MSI did to you, DFI did to them and they bought a MSI and it all worked out.

-------------------------
Alienware m17x R4
17.3" 1920x1080 -- Intel Core i7-3820QM -- 16GB DDR3 1600MHz -- Intel 520 180GB SSD -- 750GB 7200RPM Data HDD -- Slot BD-ROM -- 2GB AMD 7970m -- Intel Centrino 6250+WiMax -- Mediacom 20 Mbps Internet Connection
 09/19/2005 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

No, I have RMA'd many items over the years and *never* had to wait a month to get anything back. *Never* had to repeatedly call to get status updates (and still never get them). *Never* had to manually cross-check the serial number to make sure that they had replaced the item (due to no status updates, I had no idea what had been done, even when they sent me the new board). *Never* been called a liar by tech support for telling them the replacement was defective (oh yes, it did happen).

I've RMA'd things to Gigabyte, Seagate, Corsair, WD, Maxtor, AMD, Intel and several others, and once again *never* had to put up with any of the stuff MSI put me through.

-Adam
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information