AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: What RAM to get
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/20/2005 06:42 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/20/2005 06:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jules781
Senior Member

Posts: 637
Joined: 10/10/2004

hi everyone, i want to buy some new RAM so I can overclock a bit better, and to keep the RAM for my new computer i will be getting soon. I have a 2600 xp, A7N8X-X 768ddr ram (no brand), 9600SE 128mb and a 120gb Hdd.

Here is the ram im tossing up on getting, Corsair 512MB XMS-3200C2 DDR RAM, CAS2...
or Corsair 512MB XMS-3200XL DDR RAM, Xtra-Low latency settings (2-2-2-5)...

here is the link for the site, http://www.megapc.com.au/index.php?page=subcat&ix=77' ">http://www.megapc.com.au/index.php?page=subcat&ix=77 Thanks for the help again!!! /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
 10/20/2005 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stone_age
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2523
Joined: 03/16/2004

First, you need to go to Asus, and find out what ram is qualified for your board. Second, go to corsair's site and find out if the ram mentioned above is compatable with your board. Third, go to nforcershq forums and find out if anyone has used that ram on a board like yours, and whether it will work or not, and what timings are needed. fourth, this is posted in the wrong place again.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1055T, Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3
Phenom II X4 945, Gigabyte MA785G-UD3H
Zacate E-350, MSI E350IS -E45

http://classicplatforms.com
 10/20/2005 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jules781
Senior Member

Posts: 637
Joined: 10/10/2004

sorry to annoy u, but do u no where i can find a list of compadible ram, because i cant seem to find it since socket A is no more /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />
 10/21/2005 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyberjunkie
Senior Member

Posts: 1413
Joined: 05/15/2004

The Corsair 512MB XMS-3200XL DDR RAM would be much better.
 10/21/2005 01:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
blizard
Senior Member

Posts: 1524
Joined: 12/03/2004

QUOTE(cyberjunkie @ Oct 21 2005, 07:09 AM)The Corsair 512MB XMS-3200XL DDR RAM would be much better.
[right][snapback]528025[/snapback][/right]


Get this memory as TWINX1024-3200XL' ">http://www.newegg.com/Product/...p?Item=N82E16820145522 (2 x CMX512-3200XL) as it would be better for you system. Take out the older memory and sell it. Don't mix different timing and chips if you don't want to have problems. It might work and it might not with yur older memory, but hten you will be forced to use a slower timing then 2-2-2-5..

-------------------------
Abit AT8-32X (Xpress3200)/Athlon64 X2 4200+@stock/Corsair VS 2GB/Samsung SATA II 2x 250 GB/Club3D X1950XT GDDR3 256MB+ PowerColor Theatre 550 pro (PCIe x1)
 10/21/2005 09:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jules781
Senior Member

Posts: 637
Joined: 10/10/2004

but would the 3200C2 be just as good since it is 100 dollers cheeper, because i dont wanna spend to much on RAM???
 10/21/2005 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

you get waht you pay for......in most cases....especially RAM

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 10/21/2005 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

once again, i have to recommend my own RAM: Geil ULTRA-X PC-4400' ">http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/...p?ProductCode=85002-22.
i still don't know why it's so cheap.... it's QUALITY TCCD chips, that go UP TO DDR550 "officially".... what more could you ask for $67??
and it's far from being cheap RAM. it works incredibly fast and well.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 10/22/2005 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jules781
Senior Member

Posts: 637
Joined: 10/10/2004

yer but i need pc3200, i dont think my mobo can run ur ram its pc4400
 10/22/2005 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sepheroth003
Senior Member

Posts: 3602
Joined: 08/29/2004

I bet it could, usually it just downclocks your ram. Technically I bet your mobo only runs 266 or 333. So if you buy 400 it will just downclock as well. (400=3200)

-------------------------

New Site!! Team Effex WoW, US Auchindoun Alliance IGN: Fearaga
 10/22/2005 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jules781
Senior Member

Posts: 637
Joined: 10/10/2004

my mobo can max do ddr400 (pc3200)
 10/22/2005 11:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

ok... if it doesn't go any higher than DDR400 (i don't know... pretty much any socket A mobo can go much higher...), you can still run that Geil i recommended as fast DDR400 RAM. that's supposed to be the magic of that RAM: it goes from DDR400 @ 2-2-2 to DDR550 @ 2.5-4-4... they call it "all-in-one RAM". so, it's still a great, affordable option.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 10/23/2005 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jules781
Senior Member

Posts: 637
Joined: 10/10/2004

k yhanx for the help, im gonna go out and get some maybe today or next week
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information