AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Thoughts on This PC?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/13/2005 12:12 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/13/2005 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CinematicComputing
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/13/2005

I recently ordered the following OEM PC:

Samsung 710N LCD Monitor
NForce4 SLI-1 Motherboard
AMD Athlon64 3500+ SKT 939
2GB PC3200 DDR RAM (2x1GB, with room for an additional 2GB)
160GB SATA 7200 RPM 8M Cache
DVD+/-RW 16x Dual Layer
PCI Express GeForce 6800GT 256MB
Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
460W PSU (something tells me I should upgrade this asap)

I plan to play a lot of games on this machine (ie. Battlefield 2, UT2004, Half-Life 2), as well as use it for every-day tasks such as browsing the internet.

Was this a fairly wise purchase (excluding cost), or will I have to upgrade things like the stock cooling solution nearly immediately (I believe it only comes with one 120mm fan)? I do not plan on overclocking at all, or purchasing a second 6800GT right away.

Thanks for any help.
 06/13/2005 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

if you're not planning to overclock, the stock cooling should be fine. you should, however, monitor your temperatures closely.

don't know what you paid for that monster, but it's very likely you could have built it yourself for less...it's a very capable machine, though.

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 06/13/2005 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
liltechdude
Case Modder

Posts: 1152
Joined: 01/03/2005

well it all depends on what kind of core that you have inside your processor. If it is a winchester you may want to upgrade cooling for that. But if it is a venice core, they run very cool. I have a 3700+ san diego which is very related to the venice and i get 34 idle temps with stock cooling.

-------------------------
Current Desktop:
Intel Core i7 860 | WD Velociraptor 300GB x 2 RAID 0
Asus P7P55D-E Premium | WD Caviar 1TB
XFX Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600 | Asus Xonar D2X
Logitech G15 Keyboard | 2x Samsung 24" LCD Flatpanel
 06/13/2005 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Megadeth
Senior Member

Posts: 7822
Joined: 08/14/2004

The Winchesters run slightly warmer than the Venice, so even if that is a Winchester, you won't need to change the cooling.

The PSU should be fine. Download Prime95 and temperature monitor programming. Run both at the same time. You'll be able to check if the temps are ok and if the PSU is good. If the computer resets, then you will need to change the PSU, if not then alls well.

Very nice rig, I must say!
 06/13/2005 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nwo
Senior Member

Posts: 2510
Joined: 11/06/2004

overall a good PC, but not meant for OCing with those 1GB PC3200 modules. It should still play all games fine for a while and all you would need to do is upgrade the GFX card sometime in the future.
 06/13/2005 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
axy1985
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 6424
Joined: 08/25/2004

since you're not OCing, i like your 2GB o RAM /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
that's a powerful rig you ordered there!

-------------------------
AMD Athlon II X2 440 @ 2.7 GHz (Sempron unlocked)
2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 8-8-8-24 AMD Black Edition
Gigabyte GA-890GPA-UD3H 890GX
MSI nVidia GTX460 1GB Hawk
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional
Antec TruePower New 650W
 06/13/2005 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CinematicComputing
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/13/2005

Thanks for the comments, guys. I'll look into that temperature-monitoring program.

Another question, though: Is it possible to determine the type of core I have via software? I don't have the PC yet, but the one I'm using atm says "x86 Family 15 Model 12 Stepping 0 AuthenticAMD ~2000Mhz" (and is an AMD Athlon64 3000+ - I got this information from looking at "System Information").
 06/13/2005 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

download CPU-z and run it, then take a screenshot and post it here

www.cpu-z.com

do u know how to post a screenshot?

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 06/14/2005 05:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Takezo_dono
Senior Member

Posts: 278
Joined: 06/10/2004

PSU is ok, On my brother's P4 2.8 ghz system with 2 hard drives, two optical drives, 1GB of dual channl DDR 400, x800pro on a 400 watt compusa PSU (crome plated one, they are much better than the one your thinking of) No probs whatsoever. Ran very stable for over a year. changed it to 430watt Antec true power an old one I was using on my AMD system, because I got a 480 Antec true blue PSU rool:
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information