AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Zalman Should i?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2005 05:56 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/19/2005 04:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

QUOTEyes the sonic tower is a sweet cooler I don't get above 40c fully loaded . that is running for 10 hours stright !! I love it

no offennce to you great pc and all but i get 34c max load on stock! woot /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />
 11/19/2005 08:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

QUOTE(Smogsy @ Nov 19 2005, 02:10 AM)no offennce to you great pc and all but i get 34c max load on stock! woot /tongue.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tongue.gif' />
[right][snapback]549563[/snapback][/right]

maybe I left out one small detail . I am running mine at 2.8Ghz 1.67-1.7 Vcore. there is no way you could get them temps with a Vcore that is above the stock setting on a stock HSF sorry to say. And for mine to get this at this Vcore is way cool .. /blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 11/19/2005 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

lol good stuff not bad te,p for my stock tho /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
 11/19/2005 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

QUOTE(Smogsy @ Nov 19 2005, 06:41 AM)lol good stuff not bad te,p for my stock tho /smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' />
[right][snapback]549595[/snapback][/right]

I agree it is great . But if you intend to OC that bad boy you will see that it is not up to par . the temp's would get way too high and may even fry your sweet CPU. I chose the Sonic Tower because it is lighter and more effective than the AC HSF that zalman has out . I have done my home work on this and if you realy want a great HSF then get any one of the thermaltake HSF's the Sonic Tower or Big Typhoon they are light weight and very good at heat reduction.

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 11/19/2005 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Smogsy
Senior Member

Posts: 5349
Joined: 11/15/2005

well my next baby will be either opertron (dual core) x2 or m2 which i might overclock
 11/19/2005 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

QUOTE(trickson @ Nov 19 2005, 09:07 AM) the Sonic Tower or Big Typhoon they are light weight and very good at heat reduction.
[right][snapback]549601[/snapback][/right]

I don't doubt they're great at heat reduction...but they're hardly light weight..

without a fan, the sonic tower weighs 692 grams scroll down to the bottom' ">http://www.thermaltake.com/coo...onicTower/cl-p0071.htm
if you're going to overclock, you'll have to have a fan, passive cooling is out of the question...

the "big typhoon" is even heavier, tipping the scales at 813g OUCH!' ">http://www.thermaltake.com/coo...igtyphoon/cl-p0114.htm

I'm not sure why I'm such a crusader against these silicon crushing monstrosities, I used to have a Zalman CNPS 6000Cu' ">http://www.zalmanusa.com/, which is just 2 grams heavier than my freezer 64 (462g vs. 460), and a fanless xp90 or xp120 is even lighter (360 and 370grams, respectively)...

effective cooling, even when overclocked, doesn't have to be done with an extremely heavy heatsink/fan.

edit: overclocked, my cpu idles at 33c and it's never gotten over 40c, whether it's during Prime95 runs or gaming...the Freezer64 is an excellent compromise between weight and performance...

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 11/19/2005 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

i had the chance to hold a big typhoon, felt like 3lbs, then
Thermaltake Extreme Volcano 12, they both were heavy, but the fact the big typhoon stuck out farther i could easly see it break a mobo.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 11/19/2005 10:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

It may not be for every one but for me the thing is heat reduction . the fact that if one installs it corctly the weight is evenly distributed , the brackets are totaly designed to evenly distribute the weight of the HSF without doing any damage to your CPU or mobo . in fact I trust there enginering totaly .! just follow the instrutions and all will work out fine . there is no HSF that has broken a mobo yet or CPU for that matter . ( If it was installed properly) !

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 11/19/2005 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

QUOTE(trickson @ Nov 19 2005, 08:28 AM)maybe I left out one small detail . I am running mine at 2.8Ghz 1.67-1.7 Vcore. there is no way you could get them temps with a Vcore that is above the stock setting on a stock HSF sorry to say. And for mine to get this at this Vcore is way cool ..  /blink.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='blink.gif' />
[right][snapback]549591[/snapback][/right]

why are you overvolting your cpu like that?...the 4000's base clock is 2.4 ghz, 2.8ghz should be easy with nothing more than a bump in the FSB...my 3200 venice runs fine @ 2500 mhz without a vcore adjustment...

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 11/19/2005 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005



You think the Zalman 9500 would fit in there?

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 11/19/2005 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

i just noticed that you case isnt that wide, hmm but i doubt the HSF is taller that the psu

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 11/19/2005 10:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

QUOTE(MrWicked1968 @ Nov 19 2005, 08:15 AM)why are you overvolting your cpu like that?...the 4000's base clock is 2.4 ghz, 2.8ghz should be easy with nothing more than a bump in the FSB...my 3200 venice runs fine @ 2500 mhz without a vcore adjustment...
[right][snapback]549625[/snapback][/right]

first of all it is the luck of the draw as they say . this is a 4000+ and has a hardlocked multiplyer and is therefore way harder to OC than say a 3200+ and I also have a DFI mobo that is very finakie to OCing this particular CPU. just remember one thing no 2 CPU's are alike it is all luck that one can OC easy and tuff luck that one needs more of a push .

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 11/19/2005 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MrWicked1968
Drunk Mouse Syndrome

Posts: 8752
Joined: 08/22/2004

my 3200 is at 255mhz FSB x 10x multiplier = 2550mhz at stock voltage...all A64s are multiplier locked going up...I do agree that it's luck of the draw, though

-------------------------
Rig 1: AM2 X2 4850e--MSI K9N Neo V3--2x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800--Sapphire HD4830--Corsair VX450--Acer H213H-Win XP
Rig 2:Athlon X2 7850 Kuma--Biostar 780L--2x1gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800--Asus Formula HD4770--Corsair VX450--LG Flatron W2252TQ-Win 7 32-bit Premium
Capitalism rocks!
 11/19/2005 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

QUOTE(MrWicked1968 @ Nov 19 2005, 08:51 AM)my 3200 is at 255mhz FSB x 10x multiplier = 2550mhz  at stock voltage...all A64s are multiplier locked going up...I do agree that it's luck of the draw, though
[right][snapback]549654[/snapback][/right]

Not so some are hard locked even going down . As is mine! /mad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='mad.gif' />

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 11/19/2005 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
r3sil3
Senior Member

Posts: 4102
Joined: 10/05/2005

Why would you wanna turn the multi down anyways?

-------------------------
NO PC As Of NOW!

I'll still be on here once in a while.
 11/19/2005 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

if you cant do 12x 220mhz you could do 10x264mhz

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 11/20/2005 06:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jaymz9350
Senior Member

Posts: 591
Joined: 03/06/2005

QUOTE(r3sil3 @ Nov 19 2005, 11:50 AM)Why would you wanna turn the multi down anyways?
[right][snapback]549702[/snapback][/right]

if your mem goes higher than ur cpu u can turn down the multi and get a better oc (mem is faster)

 11/20/2005 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

QUOTE(athlonxp2800+/333 @ Nov 19 2005, 09:52 AM)if you cant do 12x 220mhz you could do 10x264mhz
[right][snapback]549703[/snapback][/right]

no not true . I have tryed to do this and when I change the multi to 10 it still stays at 12 . ! so no on some HARDLOCKED CPU's you can NOT change the multiplyer . sorry you are wrong on this .. /wacko.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wacko.gif' />

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
 11/20/2005 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheReturnOfAZ
Senior Member

Posts: 13327
Joined: 06/10/2005

no, you are wrong on this. your 4000+ should go down to 10x.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above exactly represent those of the Intel Corporation and all of its affiliates.
Official Intel™ Propaganda Spreader
"Bringing you the benchmarks that everyone knows are fake" ~ SINCE 2006 ~<!--
 11/20/2005 05:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trickson
Senior Member

Posts: 6387
Joined: 12/10/2003

QUOTE(TheReturnOfAZ @ Nov 20 2005, 01:08 PM)no, you are wrong on this.  your 4000+ should go down to 10x.
[right][snapback]550331[/snapback][/right]

sorry unless you have my CPU how would you know? IT DOES NOT GO DOWN AT ALL!!!! when I do this IT LOCKS UP!!!!

-------------------------
EVGA 680i mobo , Q6600 @3.4GHz , Ultra Chill Tech CPU Cooler , BFG8800GT/OC , ASUS 8800GT 720/1000 video cards SLI with Tt DuOrb VGA cooler , Corsair XMS2 800MHz 4-4-4-10 2T 2GB RAM , rocketfish 700W PSU , LG Flatron L222WT monitor , Cmstacker Case , SMOKIN FAST!! .
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information